Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
20
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
19
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Price:£9.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 3 December 2007
I purchased this for my wife who adores everything Elvis.The quality of the dvd is superb with the clips being digitally remastered and excellent sound quality.Though not a fan myself,i thoroughly enjoyed the dvd as it's superb entertainment.I searched the internet for the lowest price and found Amazon to be the winner.At this price,it's money well spent.Enjoy!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2007
I bought this today 20th November 2007.
Its brilliant from the word go.
All the black and white clips have been remastered so they really look good.No crackles and pops like i have seen on the same clips on other compilations.This is a must buy.
Elvis Lives!!
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2009
Bought this for my husband who's a big fan, he was thrilled and has already watched it from start to finish several times. I have to admit I enjoyed it just as much as he did, such a good long list of songs, all the favourites, and watching the dance moves and outfit changes is fascinating! Some clips from live concerts, others from films. Sound and picture quality excellent.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
This DVD is a fantastic accompaniment to Elvis' 30th anniversary of his death greatest hits album compilation 'The King' (the album which made me such a huge fan), released in 2007. It's an amazing collection of live performances, movie songs and television specials - the 1968 comeback and Aloha from Hawaii. Elvis shows up on The Steve Allen show, The Ed Sullivan show and Frank Sinatra's Welcome home Elvis, which welcomed the man back after his 2 year service in the army. The DVD synopsis states "this is Elvis at his best" and I think it probably is. These are some great performances of some of his hit songs as well as some lesser famous material shown just about as great as you could ever see it. The inner booklet gives a welcome commentary on each track.

The DVD starts off with Elvis' early days on the RCA label in 1956 performing his 1st no. 1 hit Heartbreak hotel. The screaming is insane! What follows on from this song shows a man in his prime, performing in a style which made him so famous and also so infamous. When you watch Hound dog you might just understand why they decided to only film him from the waist up afterwards! Some of the black and white footage is a bit grainy but that doesn't really matter. Many of the tracks don't actually appear on the album The King, which was a treat for me because I had never heard any of the others. I want you, I need you, I love you; a crooning ballad was a song I loved from the start. Love me, which has a similar feel to it is another real treat. Treat me nice, which is taken from the movie Jailhouse rock is another track which conveys the attitude of youth and Elvis with real swagger and humour. In fact throughout much of the live songs Elvis conveys that humour which made him so likeable, and it's especially evident on some of the songs from the '68 comeback special. After the army Elvis seemed to cool down with an easier style and songs that mostly weren't so provocatively sensual. What I'm talking about is shown in Elvis Presley's highest grossing and maybe his best movie Blue Hawaii where he performs one of his greatest tracks Can't help falling in love, as well as Rock-a-hula baby. Return to sender and Bossa Nova baby are clear highlights with the latter being taken from the movie Fun in Acapulco. Elvis made his comeback with the `68 comeback special and does so in style, leather clad and tanned! If I can dream is definitely a highlight which is culled from the deluxe DVD version of the concert and shows a performance of Elvis Presley really in touch with the hopeful message this song created for him, with intense passion. After this we see his Las Vegas years with his onstage persona which made him legendary and at a time where he was winding down the energy and making a name for himself as mainly a live act. Of course it was these intense and hectic schedules in Las Vegas which helped lead to his demise. These songs may be a little tamer but still so great. Suspicious minds was 1 of his biggest hits and performed fantastically. Don't cry Daddy, The wonder of you and An American trilogy are glorious live. An American trilogy is the emotional climax of the DVD. This song was made for Elvis Presley to sing and it's very fitting that it's the final song performed. It is almost a rite of passage and a commemoration of his life and impending death, which for any discerning, genuine fan is very moving.

What this DVD shows is a history of Elvis through his live performances and movies, charting his success in the early years where he appeared so full of sexual attitude, energy and vigour, the like nobody had ever seen, with a couple of the tracks having screaming so loud you can barely hear the singing! Then in the middle stage with many of his great songs and movies, to the Las Vegas years where he was performing in the jumpsuit which made look him so iconic. The last songs are taken from his DVD `That's the way it is', and in `Aloha from Hawaii' we see a fat man in a sparkly jumpsuit so extremely different to the guy on the earlier part of this DVD. The years really had taken their toll on such a promising and unique man. There also 2 interviews from 1960, returning home from the army and 1972, in New York. I cannot recommend this highly enough; I think every Elvis fan should own it!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
Very often DVD's of popular artists such as Elvis are just a load of chit chat about how they made it big etc. But not this DVD! It's chop full of him singing his big hits. Where possible these video's have been converted to stereo. You can sit back and relax and enjoy his music. One that you can put on more than once, just a collection of tracks, plus some bonus features which add to the music.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2009
The definite Elvis Presley music dvd. After watching it,one can not stop him/herself to buy Aloha from hawaii and comeback special dvds after this. This dvd should be released many years ago. The quality is MAGNIFICENT. BUY IT !!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 November 2013
This DVD is a great compilation of some of Elvis finest TV moments singing some of his best loved hits.

Some other DVD's that feature the Ed Sullivan type shows from the 1950's sometimes lack a good picture quality. However, this release restores those early television appearances superbly.

The performance of "Hound Dog" is outstanding.

The bonus material featuring a full version of the 1972 Madison Square Garden press conference is also an interesting watch, as many will only have seen clips of this.

A perfect screen version of the No. 1 album release
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2007
This dvd realy sounds & looks great!
1. Heartbreak Hotel 2. Blue Suede Shoes 3. I Want You, I Need You, I Love You 4. Don't Be Cruel 5. Love Me Tender 6. Hound Dog 7. Love Me 8. Too Much 9. (Let Me Be Your) Teddy Bear 10. Jailhouse Rock 11. Treat Me Nice 12. Trouble Stuck On You 13. Wooden Heart 14. Can't Help Falling In Love 15. Rock-A-Hula Baby 16. Return To Sender 17. Bossa Nova 18. Baby That's All Right 19. All Shook Up 20. One Night 21. Are You Lonesome Tonight? 22. If I Can Dream 23. In The Ghetto 24. Suspicious Minds 25. Don't Cry Daddy 26. The Wonder Of You 27. A Big Hunk 'o Love 28. Burning Love 29. An American Trilogy
Finally,
a new approach in endless recycling of King's gold & jewels.
There is so many material in the movies, concerts, etc,
for this editions to become realy big collector series.
Give us more good music from the movies, without them silly plots
and more remastered TV appearences.
Give us that unreleased concert footage, but please,
just please don't step on our blue laser discs.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2015
brilliant Elvis DVD, all Elvis singing, no talking except for 2 press conferences from the King. like a greatest hits video selection. thank you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2015
love this as I can put it on and let it play away while I do my housework plus you get to see elvis a lot better than a cd
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)