Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
297
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£9.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 March 2014
Two films for the price, one the original cinema release and the Director's Cut. I watched the Director's Cut on receiving this, and to be honest I couldn't see the difference. But irrespective of this, and despite the slightly dated visual effects, in the main this film is stand out cult viewing. No sequels were necessary, but business is business. Verhoeven broke the mould here though. The satire on US society then and now is brilliant, if not a little spooky in it's foretelling of how corruption rules in the world of big corporations. One can only believe this is how things would be if a major software company were in charge of policing!

But it's the little touches such as the interruptions to the news of out of place adverts, and the return to white toothed, tanned presenters smiling as they discuss more street murders and violence. The film works on many levels, obvious hero's but troubled, corrupt power hungry old white men, and a glorious villain in Clarence Bodicker. But if you don't like gore then don't watch. Verhoeven doesn't spare the viewer from any of the grisly scenes of mutilation and death.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
One of my favourite films of all time so had to get it on blu ray and glad I did looks and sounds Gd for its age definatly worth buying if u like the film!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
This is a really well put together Blu-ray, superb quality, the case as well and you have on the disc plenty of languages and subtitles to choose from.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
Classic movie, just as I remembered.
Even with the extended scenes that I've never seen before. Everyone should have.a copy in their collection
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
I'm rating this product 3/5, only due to the lack of additional content on the disc. For the price, it's a good thing I got this cheaper on eBay!

On the disc, you get the Director's Cut of the film and the theatrical trailer - THAT'S IT (If you own the Trilogy DVD boxset that was released in 2002, I say KEEP IT)! The picture quality is great, couldn't fault really fault it.

Overall, if you can get this steelbook edition cheaper and don't mind it having next to nothing - go for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
I haven't watched this for years, and bluray edition does it justice on big TV. After all this years holds up very good as movie itself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2014
Another present for the daughter's boyfriend's birthday. He loves watching DVD's so the perfect present at a very reasonable price..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
Well it's been a long time coming, but finally the film gets the blu ray remaster it sorely needed.
While not exactly demo material this is the best the film has ever looked and true to the source material.
Improved picture quality over the previous poor mgm release and the awful unreleased Sony disc.
The DTS HD 5.1 Audio track is nice and powerful, but occasionally the great music score gets drowned out by booming gunshots and sound effects which themselves are violently visceral so it's a minor quibble.
Extra features are ported from previous releases as well as some new material which is nice for collectors.
So grab this newly remastered directors cut and enjoy this 80's masterpiece of satire and ultra violence the way it was meant to be seen!
"I like it!"
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
The first and best Robocop movie - owning it gives you an opportunity to watch it again and again - and again. Seventh Heaven!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
Amazing movie. Top quality remastered copy of movie and is STEEL BOOK that awesome. So happy is on Blu-ray. Hope is more to come
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse