Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
424
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£5.11+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

When this film was released back in 96' We'd already seen
the early 'Star War' movies, which had impressive graphics at that time.
When they came to make 'independence day' film makers
were experimenting with new technology which at that time
was pretty realistic and set a 'benchmark' for future film
makers to improve upon.( we all know they have )
At the time the 'special effects were more than impressive..
The film -
'Giant' alien craft hover above significant locations
around the globe,they are hell- bent on wiping out both life
and the infra-structure of planet earth.
Attempts to communicate with the uninvited visitors proves
futile.
'Wlll smith' as Captain Steven Hiller to the rescue with a little
help from 'Randy Quaid' as 'Russell Casse'
Seriously this is a fast moving and very enjoyable movie
experience, plenty of, sometimes tongue-in-cheek action
sequences.
Blu-ray upgrade is pretty good.
A Sci-fi adventure always worth re-visiting occasionally.

INDEPENDENCE DAY - INCLUDING 'RESTORED' THEATRICAL AND EXTENDED VERSION (released 30/5/2016)
(Two-Disc)
Well worth the investment whether like myself you already own the original Blu-ray release....
The picture quality upgrade (restored) is superb.
Ahead of the release of 'INDEPENDENCE DAY'- 'RESURGENCE' (a preview of which is included on -board this
release) this, certainly worthy of a re-watch.
FEATURES (Disc One)
ID4 Datastream Trivia Track (Theatrical Version)
Commentary by Roland Emmerich and Dean Devlin (Theatrical and Extended Cuts
Commentary by Oscar-Winning Special-Effects Supervisors Volker Engel and Doug Smith (Theatrical and Extended Cuts)
(Disc Two)
All-New 30 Minute Documentary - INDEPENDENCE DAY : A LEGACY SURGING FORWARD
Gag Reel
Creating Reality
ID4 Invasion 'Mock-Umentary
The Making of ID4
Combat Review
Monitor Earth Broadcasts
Gallery
review image review image review image review image review image review image
1414 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2016
Folks . .this is incredible . it looks like it was filmed yesterday. the film is incredible .. glorious colours and sound. I can't recommend it enough .. it out does the last bluray version by miles and for only £7 it's a steal. If you've ever wanted to see a Earth v aliens film .. get this one ..
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2016
The best bluray transfer and great movie. Watching this when young, own VHS Tape. Took 20 yrs to own on BD. Time stand still the best movie ever. Thank you Amazon.uk for making this movie available in region free with lowest price than local store.
review image review image review image
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2016
Although I already have a Blu-ray version of Independence Day it only contained the Theatrical version and almost no special features. I am very pleased to have obtained this version as it contains both the Theatrical and Extended versions plus a whole load of special features including a recent look back at the making of the movie. Plus it was a whole lot cheaper. One sad note since the movies original release two of the main stars are no longer with us. James Rebhorn who played Secretary of Defence Nimzicki died in 2014 and Robert Loggia who played General Grey died in 2015 both will be sadly missed. I highly recommend this version even if like me you already own the other.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2016
Terrific new release of an old favourite!

Two discs containing the two versions of the film (which I never understood why the extended cut was missing from the original Blu-ray release anyway), with the commentaries which are present on the original release and the data track, plus a second disc which from memory contains most of the material on the older 'Definitive Edition' DVD Fox put out a few years back, and also a new 30 minute featurette (which in fairness is mostly talking heads from those cast members returning for 'Resurgence' and isn't worth getting on it's own).

The film looks and sounds tremendous on Blu-ray (now remastered although it looked great on it's previous Blu-ray release anyway), and although I've seen and enjoyed it as a great big old slice of B movie nonsense for years, I'm just happy to have the extended version finally.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2016
Great remaster of the original ID4, looks like it was filmed yesterday, the bluray never looked better!
Crisp, great sound. What better way to watch my favourite cheesey alien invasion film from the 90's?

Oooh and just in the time for the sequel (which is the same cheese ball - yet enjoyabe all the same).

Definitely no brainer films that you are meant to suspend belief, and simply enjoy!
So go enjoy! Dont read this! ENJOY!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Independence Day is arguably one of the greatest SF disaster movies of all time. With REM’s ‘It’s the end of the world’ sampled near the beginning of the movie, you definitely know that Roland Emmerich’s view about alien encounters is more akin to War of the Worlds than E.T. Filled with stunning special effects, stirring music, unpretentious sentimentality and laced with good natured humour there is no need to bemoan the lack of character development or obvious narrative coincidences. There is no pretence at being a great cinematic masterpiece examining deep philosophical themes. This is a two hour long, ludicrously enjoyable, preposterously pompous, unbelievably incredible ‘backs against the wall’ slice of SF fantasy which still entertains after numerous viewings. Having just watched this again a few weeks after watching Christopher Nolan’s Interstellar I had to smile when I noticed that President Bill Pullman and senior NASA scientist Michael Caine both quoted or paraphrased Dylan Thomas’ “Do not go gentle into that good night”. Highly recommended for a first or repeat viewing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2008
...for damning the film because of a technical issue. To the chap who gave the film 1 star, you realise everyone will see that, for some reason Independance Day has been rated a surprisingly low score? And you've done this because Amazon didn't tell you it wasn't US-player compatible? Grow up! Post your comments in the forums, and email Amazon. I'm all for the trade descriptions act, but putting people off the film because yours doesn't work?
To balance it out, I think the film is great, it's not the smartest of films, but who cares? It's from that era when everything WIll Smith touch turned to gold, with this, Men In Black and Wild WIld West. Ok, not Wild Wild West, but nevermind. A classic 'Hollywood Blockbuster', re-jigged in Shiny-Hi-Def-Vision (c), which ticks all the right boxes on the basic, bright colours and loud noises film checklist.
33 comments| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2015
Arrived in good time and excellently packaged (as always with Amazon), love Will Smith so loved this film, it has everything, humour, great effects, love interest and action scenes, this is a great film to watch with family or friends, would highly recommend!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2016
I like this film even though I am not really a fan of Will Smith but used to have it years ago on tape.I must say I am a disappointed by the quality of the picture yes they have obviously re scanned the original negatives but it's hardly the optimal quality of 35 mm film not even close although there's a definitely an improvement in the sound quality.It's a great film which I am pleased to own again but I cannot help but feel a little underwhelmed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse