Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 27 June 2017
I very rarely give five stars to anything without subtitle tracks, but this is an exception. It consists of 2 DVD's, one being the Story of the Who and how they formed in South London to create their own Rock style. There are separate interviews with each band member, including the late Keith Moon. and the late John Entwistle. There are also interviews with rock contemporaries, friends and family. This is just the first disc "The Story of the Who".

On the 2nd disc ""Amazing Journey"- Six Quick Ones, we see into Ealing Art School. through the bullseye and Mod look, and into Pop Art. We then hear of how the Who became visual as well as musical. We also see filmmaker D.A.Pennybaker filming the Who in the studio recording "Real Good Looking Boy". We also see very rare concert footage. There are four films, but "Amazing Journey" is a film in six separate parts, which deals again with the Who in depth.

There are also 2 massive DVD Bonuses. One is the "Scrapbook". which is again the story of the Who. Cincinnati concert (tragic) in 1979 is also covered, and we hear about Pete Townsend writing "Won't Get Fooled Again".

The other bonus is long lost footage of the band performing as "The High Numbers" at the Railway Hotel. This was shot in1964 at the Railway Hotel, and was thought lost until recently found. This was filmed by Kit Lambert and Chris Stamp. This is the earliest piece of film of the Who known to exist!

The only thing that lets it down is there is no subtitle tracks. For Who fans, it is a massive piece of History, and one which they should be part of their collection. It is well worth noting that when it was shown on TV, there were subtitles available!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2017
The Who and friends telling their story confirming what a truly amazing journey they had. A must watch for any fans or a great intro to the group.
Quadrophenia is a remarkably faithful retelling of The Who's rock opera. Nothing is going right for Jimmy, wonderfully played by Phil Daniels. The film captures the rough wildness of young men, trying to establish their own identity amid, violence, uncertainty and masses of pills. Although focusing on the Mod period, it is a classic tale of teenage alienation that still strikes a chord. Up there with other great British such films as Trainspotting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2015
A GREAT DVD FROM A GREAT BAND THE WHO
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2015
Really cool film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2008
Wow!....

Bought this 6 months ago and have just watched it for the third time. I have so much respect for Townshend & Daltrey for making this film - The interviews are incredibly candid.

No subject is off-limits to them - they happily talk about the music; the experiences on the road; late band members Keith Moon & John Entwistle; and their relationship with one another - from the very beginning to the present day.

True to form, while Townshend comes across as slightly aloof in his niche as the original tortured artist; Daltrey, by contrast, is almost painfully frank at times, and comes across as very likeable.

I am only 24 years old - I got into the Who after stumbling across a re-run of Quadrophenia on telly about 10 years ago - Admittedly, I'm now a huge fan, owning all their albums. But I would argue this film is not only unmissable for anybody calling themselves a fan of the band, but also for anybody with an interest in music generally.

The Who have been a seminal band in the history of British music, and this film is an absolute gem. My Dad is in his 50s, and although he's never been a huge fan of the band, even he found this documentary interesting.

To anybody deliberating whether or not to buy - go for it. Treat yourself.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2008
This is a film of the WHO,with concert footage,family members,recording sessions,interviews etc from the very early days to the present.I found the insights provided by other stars like Sting;U2;Pearl Jam;etc into the music and musicianship of the WHO really worthwhile.To be analysed and dissected by other experts added a very different set of insights into this great band.Sting describing the famous,intricate bass-line of "My Generation";U2 talking about the the guitar virtuosity of Townsend;the drumming of Moon analysed and reconstructed;and the power chords and how they came to be played on many WHO songs,were amazing to watch and listen to.
Some one of these commentators finally summed up the WHO as a band that had a "lead guitarist";a "lead drummer",a "lead bassist" and a "lead singer" and somehow it all worked instead of being a mess.
What a great description of a great band.
Get this dvd and enjoy it and think back to a simpler time.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2007
This is an exhaustively compiled selection of the Who's finest moments, with some amazing new archive footage of the High Numbers (pre the decision to name themselves the Who) performing in April 1964 at the Railway Hotel in Wealdstone, filmed by Kit Lambert and Chris Stamp (who became their managers). And it's far from being the only bit - there are 834 clips of copyright cleared vision and music excerpts here, lovingly compiled with peerless sound and vision. It sounds great through a standard television but having heard it at the premiere on a large screen, it will sound even more marvellous in a proper cinema set up.

Townshend is one of the greatest rock composers of all time given Tommy, Who's Next and especially Quadrophenia, (and he is undeniably one of the most influential musicians of the 60s and 70s). There is due regard paid to their complex history, the influence of early and later management and their impact on performers such as Jimi Hendrix. Rightly, Daltrey, Moon and especially Entwistle are all recognised on both discs for their particular talents and their unique contribution to the band. And the deaths of Moon and then Entwistle are not glossed over, and it's clear how their personal behaviours contributed to their deaths.

This does not have the longer, full song, performances that you can find on the Kids are Alright, but in many ways it's a more accessible history of one of the finest rock bands we've ever seen and heard, and one that is still ever-watchable, and capable of coming up with relevant new music, playing venues smaller than stadia, and with a marvellous back catalogue to discover.

I saw the Who in Glasgow in 1975, and many times since. Entwistle inspired me to take up bass guitar, and I play it still. I will sit my children down and play them this DVD, in order to make sure they hear and understand just how much music can shape a teenage childhood and an adult life. Do yourself a favour and buy this DVD and indulge.

NB: it does have plenty of adult language, including drugs and sex references from the start, but nothing you won't find after 9pm on the UK channels....
11 Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2008
What a great DVD this is. A perfect companion to 'Kids' and 'Maximum RnB'. With most of the footage commercially available I would rather hear some frank and up to date interviews for a change. As I said the extras are great, offering an insight into each individual members playing. I must say that I never realised that Pete Townshend's playing was influenced by Flamenco but hey, there you go! There's also the recording session for 'Real Good-Looking Boy' which was the first for 23 years. Well worth spending your hard-earned shekels on, a definite 5 stars.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2015
some more great insights into the band from pete, roger, the managerment and more. just buy and injoy
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2009
A very enjoyable two-disc DVD covering the history of the Who from their very earliest days until 2007. The main film is essentially interview-based, so it is a little short on music, but the insights given by Roger, Pete, together with managers past and present, producers, sound engineers and others, are well worth the asking price.

I would say that for a Who history, The Kids Are Alright is still the definitive buy, given that it contains far more music, as well as band interviews, but Amazing Journey brings the story up to date, especially with regard to at least two important points: the death of John Entwistle, and the changing relationhip between Pete and Roger. It also covers subsequent band members, particularly Kenny Jones and Zack Starkey.

But on the music front, disc two also contains the only remaining footage of the High Numbers playing at the Railway Hotel the night they were "discovered" by their future managers Kit Lambert and Chris Stamp. They play two songs - and all of the footage is there, not talked over or edited - and all I can say is that I wish I'd been there! (although I'd have been three years old at the time, and probably wouldn't have got much out of the evening...) This disc also takes a look at the musicianship of each band member individually in four short 10-minute films, which gives some fascinating insights into all of them.

This DVD, TKAA and Live at the Isle of Wight pretty much give you the definitive Who collection. Highly enjoyable and recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)