Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
47
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 May 2017
Tom Baxter was new to me and I loved a few of the songs and thought the rest were ok. Title track was very good. Nice voice , a romantic album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
Loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2009
He's got a good voice at a pitch somewhere between George Michael and Daniel Bedingfield. An album that deserves greater recognition. Pity the songs are all of the man loves woman type. Still worth buying. Tom comes from Bungay, I believe.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2008
I too have had a limited edition for a couple of months - i don't think its ever been taken out of the CD player - simply a beautiful album - I loved Feather and Stone but this is by far a much better album. This band should get the recognition that they fully deserve on the basis of this album alone.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2008
Having owned this album for a couple of months its a joy to finally see it get a mass release. Already picking up huge interest and support from the radio 2 crowd that shouldn't stop anybody who shuns that label taking a listen. From the opening bars Tom captures his audience. The beautifully inspiring title track Skybound lifts your spirits and is an album highlight along with The Last Shot, Icarus Wings and the first release Better. My personal favourite Half a Man first surfaced on his 3 track E.P way back in 2004 as a live track and that's how it needs to be heard to fully appreciate it's jaw-dropping beauty.

Perhaps, like his debut, it takes some time for all tracks to find a place in your heart but when they do, they'll be there for some time to come. Not a bad track on there 10/10.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2007
after a 3 year hiatus owing to record company problems and that dificult 2nd album syndrome Tom Baxter's new opus is finally with us.The album opens with a solid, double-bass laden track "On a night like this" which confirms the Baxter voice retains all it's wonders,next up is the title track "Skybound" which features some very fine instrumentation and orchestration but never quite lights the touch paper for me,third in is "Better" a beautifully simple lovesong which should be gracing the airwaves for many months and will have them singing along at the concerts,"Tell her today" picks up the pace starting out as an up tempo love song again featuring some exquisite Spanish Guitar (a constant motif throughout) before careering into a Desperate Housewives influenced headlong finish,"Miracle" is another splendidly crafted lovesong not as immediately rewarding as "Better" but more captivating after repeated listening,to these ears "The last shot" is the low point of the album,the over repetitive chorus is responsible for the only disappointment on the entire album and a long one it is at over 6mins 30 secs,"Tragic" gets us back on track a song similar in style and sentiment to Deacon Blue's finest moment and nicely sets us up for the zenith of this album,"Half a man" is the finest song Tom has performed to this date starting out as a haunting reminiscence of a tempestuous affair which has left him almost emasculated before we realise that he desires the humiliation to continue and we share the madness before the song finishes up like a sick lullaby,a magnificent song,the folowing track "Icarus Wings" is just as good, a stunning vocal in unison with that guitar guide us to a Spanish Flamenco finale which will have you stamping your heels and clapping your hands,i am loath to introduce the Buckley comparisons however they are pretty valid on these two songs and that is no bad thing,"You light me up" brings the album to a close on what sounds like a positive personal note for Tom but i find it a weak song,i can almost hear Will Young or someone of his ilk performing it and selling millions but unfortunately not for me,all told "Skybound" is a worthy successor to the excellent "Feather and Stone" and in the two stand out tracks Tom's writing has reached previously unattained heights,i've recently been to Tom's gig in Dublin and the live arena certainly adds another dimension to these songs so i would advise you to get along to a show to really experience the brilliance of Tom Baxter
p.s. love to Vashti
11 Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Albums as passionately written and performed as 'Skybound' don't come along very often. Every musical sound here has been crafted and (more importantly) FEELS as if it has a vital role to play in transmitting Tom's thoughts and feelings to the world. Vocally, Tom expresses himself with equal light and shade in soft tones or at times by stretching his voice to its limit - and beyond once or twice..

While 'Skybound' contains a fair few melancholic songs the overall feel of the record is not depressing or downbeat. Unlike so many artists today Tom is not afraid to bear his soul in front of everyone using plain english, honesty and true, raw emotion. Therefore, if you fancy buying this CD as something to listen to in the car, when doing the ironing or 'to have on in the background' you should look elsewhere because this is music that demands your attention and forces you to engage with it on an emotional level!

Featuring a mix of acoustic guitar, latin rhythms, folk and classic strings, from the poignant opener, 'A Night Like This' through the beautiful, spiritual uplifting title track to the brutally raw, 'The Last Shot' and unnervingly real, 'Half A Man' this album is a winner. You can't dance to any of it and you will think to yourself that you should stop listening to it and get on with other tasks but you won't be able to disengage until Tom lets you go.

Now, if that isn't the mark of a great album from a truly inspired artist I don't know what is...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2008
I've given this album a 5 star rating but would suggest that Feather and Stone, Tom's first album, is even better. I first heard Tom Baxter as a support act on a Jamie Cullum tour - what a voice! The combination of his voice, memorable melodies and heartfelt lyrics are at the heart of his work. The kick start for Tom's star rising recently was the track "Better" which, ironically, is possibly the weakest track on the album. It's a little lovey dovey.Check out "On a night like This", "Icarus Wings" and "Half a Man" for more typical Baxter high points. If you get the chance catch him live in the next couple of months. He is able to display his full vocal and emotional range in an intimate live concert better than on a CD.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2007
I have never listened to an album this much ever. Most albums only suit a certain mood, but Skybound seems to fit them all. I find myself reaching for it again and again, and that is a rare thing for a music junky addicted to finding the next musical high! When i first got my hands on Skybound back in September ,i loved the way it sounded immediately, before i even got to know the songs. That's the sign of a great album to me. Now that i know every detail of every second of the album, it's become one of my precious belongings. Everyone will have to be happy with a christmas card this year, with a little note telling them that as soon as Skybound is released on Jan 5th, it will be posted throught their door!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2008
Really love this album. Bought it on the basis of a newspaper review and have been blown away... 'Better' is one of the best simple love songs I have ever heard. Would be great to hear it on the airwaves but sadly don't think it'll happen; which is a shame, so I'm doing my bit to promote this album!

Nte
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)