Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
23


on 22 July 2017
The recordings are in mono from 1972-1976 and the sound quality is open and clean and pleasing. There have been criticisms of the piano and its tuning and the recording but I have no trouble with these. I find that Schumann is the best composer for solo piano between Schubert and Prokofiev or Debussy and this set collects virtually all his works for piano. There is no booklet but we only need the music.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2013
Having read some of the reviews regarding this box set, my expectations were not especially high. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of Schumann's piano music. Schumann is a composer whose music I have not listened to much before, and I have really enjoyed his piano music. The recording quality is adequate, and I would agree with some of the other reviewers that the piano sounds like a Bosendorfer, and is not a forte-piano. The tuning is rather wacky! For a 1970's recording, I would have expected uniformly dull equal-temperament, but the tuning used can certainly be described as interesting, although it is not a well-temperament in the traditional sense. The piano certainly does not sound out of tune, and in no way detracts from some of the best romantic era piano music that I have heard. Definitely on a par with Mendelssohn, Cramer, Hummel and Chopin. I would not hesitate to recommend this budget priced box set. Excellent value for money.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2018
Terrific performances throughout. Clear and vivid recording. A real bargain.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Low price but the sound is not very good. Ok, you have all the piano works of Schumann and this is important for a music lover: I would buy it again
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2017
Marvellous music and lots of it but I found the almost constant and excessive rubato irritating. Perhaps we should club together and by Mr. Demus a metronome for Xmas...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2015
I am enjoying listening to many of the lesser known works. A much underestimated composer. This set is remarkable value for money
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 October 2008
This ultra-budget CD boxed set contains pretty much evrything that Robert Schumann wrote for piano all played by the great Jorg Demus. 13 full CDs recorded in the late 1960s and early 1970s in good analogue sound.

No notes and only the barest of infomation provided.

You might hold back due to the cheapness of this set in the expectation that it's rubbish - it really is very good and ridiculously good value for money.

Go ahead and buy one!
11 Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2013
The only gripe I have is that some of the track divisions on the CD are wrong, generally too early. When playing a CD through it doesn't matter, but when listening to MP3's you get a definite break before the last notes of a track which are joined to the next track. Particularly noticeable in "Carnaval" on disc 2.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2013
Good quality performances from Jorg Demus - the piano sound won't suit everyone and is showing its age a little , however for a complete set of the piano works this is an absolute bargain ! It also contains a number of excellent minor works among the lesser known pieces , such as the Paganini caprices and the four fugues etc.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2018
It's good quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse