Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
17
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.49


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 November 2007
'Everlasting' follows the fortunes of Abrielle Harrington, a beautiful young woman whose fiancé died by falling down the stairs at his Keep a day before the wedding. Abrielle's mother Elspeth and stepfather Vachel have unfortunately fallen upon hard times and are virtually penniless. The heir to Abrielle's late fiancé, Desmond de Marlé, has conceived a passion for her and wants her - unfortunately Abrielle finds him repulsive. Since he inherited the de Marlé Keep the serfs have been badly treated and half starved.

The only person who interests Abrielle is Raven Seabern but he's a Scot so not appropriate for her, especially as he doesn't seem particularly interested in her, just seems to watch her. In the end, in order to save the family from penury, Abrielle agrees to marry Desmond de Marlé and counsels her stepfather to arrange the biggest payment possible for her - which he does.

Abrielle seems rather bad news as a potential wife. Her first fiancé died on the eve of the wedding, her second lasts slightly longer, but all too soon Abrielle is on her own again, this time with a great deal of money and with suitors flocking round her, as well as those who would do her evil trying to get at her. Throughout all this, Raven Seabern is a constant, often rescuing her or protecting her, and yet Abrielle doubts his motives. Can a Scotsman and a Saxon woman ever get along?

The writing style of this book is very simple with light descriptions of places and events, no very deep characterisation and a plot that was never very taxing. It's always easy to spot the 'baddies' as they smell or have rotting teeth or are fat; the 'goodies' are always attractive, clean, lean and with good teeth! The story is really a collection of events including kidnappings, sieges and rescues, through which Abrielle learns to trust Raven. It's a pleasant enough read but nothing special.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2008
I'm truly sorry to hear that Mrs. Woodiwiss has passed away. I love her work. As a matter of fact, I own every single book she ever wrote and although I've read hundreds of romances from different authors, some of her books are my ultimate favourites.

However, I must admit I was a bit disappointed when I finished Everlasting. I don't know. Something was missing. That special spark that I can feel in e.g. Shanna or The Flame and the Flower. We are lacking some real tension between the main characters, some real verbal battle, emotional chaos... all of which I can find in some of her other books.

Still, I will always remember her as a great writer who enriched my days with her amazing books which can be read over and over again.

So I thank Mrs. Woodiwiss for her legacy.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2007
Her carer began over thirty years ago with her first novel The Flame and the Flower and The Wolf and the Dove Woodiwiss passed away recently, but we have one last opportunity to enjoy a new novel from her, the beautiful and memorable Everlasting The heroine of Everlasting Lady Abrielle, is lovely, bright and well-bred--the toast of the English royal court. Every nobleman wants to marry her. Yet when her stepfather loses a chance at great wealth, Abrielle no longer has money or property to bring to a marriage. Now, the only man who'll have her is a wealthy but cruel and vulgar brute rumored to have murdered his first two wives. Abrielle resigns herself to her duty--remember, back in those days, women had little to no choice in whom they wed.

Yet, if Abrielle could choose her mate, it'd be Raven Seabern, the dashing Scottish ambassador who can't seem to keep his stunning blue gaze from hers. Raven is considerate, yet masterful and nobody's fool. He awakens in Abrielle new emotions and sensations with one intimate dance and a single, stolen kiss. But one fateful night, Abrielle's fortune changes. A gruesome occurrence forces her to become a competent woman instead of an uncertain young maiden. And now Abrielle has to decide if she's ready for everything that goes along with getting exactly what one wishes for.

Everlasting is a lovely and engaging novel. It entices the reader with a charming central love story surrounded by intrigue, action and plenty of heroines in dire straits. An appealing and sweetly sensual final offering to readers who remain devastated by the loss of the author. And it is, perhaps, a gift to readers yet to discover the charm, passion and inspirational quality of her books. For discover her they shall. As long as women continue to support this magnificent genre, they will read--and pay homage to--the woman who made it possible. Also, if you missed reading Tino Georgiou's masterpiece--The Fates, go and read it.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2007
'Everlasting' follows the fortunes of Abrielle Harrington, a beautiful young woman whose fiancé died by falling down the stairs at his Keep a day before the wedding. Abrielle's mother Elspeth and stepfather Vachel have unfortunately fallen upon hard times and are virtually penniless. The heir to Abrielle's late fiancé, Desmond de Marlé, has conceived a passion for her and wants her - unfortunately Abrielle finds him repulsive. Since he inherited the de Marlé Keep the serfs have been badly treated and half starved.

The only person who interests Abrielle is Raven Seabern but he's a Scot so not appropriate for her, especially as he doesn't seem particularly interested in her, just seems to watch her. In the end, in order to save the family from penury, Abrielle agrees to marry Desmond de Marlé and counsels her stepfather to arrange the biggest payment possible for her - which he does.

Abrielle seems rather bad news as a potential wife. Her first fiancé died on the eve of the wedding, her second lasts slightly longer, but all too soon Abrielle is on her own again, this time with a great deal of money and with suitors flocking round her, as well as those who would do her evil trying to get at her. Throughout all this, Raven Seabern is a constant, often rescuing her or protecting her, and yet Abrielle doubts his motives. Can a Scotsman and a Saxon woman ever get along?

The writing style of this book is very simple with light descriptions of places and events, no very deep characterisation and a plot that was never very taxing. It's always easy to spot the 'baddies' as they smell or have rotting teeth or are fat; the 'goodies' are always attractive, clean, lean and with good teeth! The story is really a collection of events including kidnappings, sieges and rescues, through which Abrielle learns to trust Raven. It's a pleasant enough read but nothing special.

Originally published for Curled Up With A Good Book, © Helen Hancox 2007
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2009
Whatever happended to the twists and turns of plot that Kathleen Woodiwiss is famous for? This was a ordinary tale with no depth and the main characters didn't seem to gel as they do in her earlier novels (I have all of them!). It was a thorough disappointment after waiting for this latest novel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2008
The Flame and the Flower by Kathleen Woodiwiss is the first book of it's genre I read (is it really 30 years ago?) and to this day it remains my all-time favourite. So,it saddens me very much that the latest and last book from Kathleen is such a disappointment. It is more than possible that it was written whilst she was very ill and although the bones of the story are well laid-out, it is obvious that she did not have the time to flesh out the story. I think it is only about half as long as some of her previous books and it lacks the depth and historical research which is typical of Kathleen. Even so, it was a reasonable read and I will treasure this book with all of her others. Kathleen Woodiwiss was a tremendous literary talent and she will be very much missed, but Everlasting did not do justice to this talent. RIP
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2011
Bought this book for myself as I have read several others by the same author.

I haven't finished it yet as I lost interest and put it aside.

It is a very disappointing read, and if like me you have read other books by Ms Woodiwiss
such as 'The Flame and the Flower' and 'The Wolf and the Dove' both of which were superb,
then you may be let down by this book as it doesn't live up to her usual standards of writing.

Deeply disappointing read that waffles on and goes nowhere fast!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2009
If you are a true Kathleen E Woodiwiss fan, as I have been for many years, please do not read this book. The characters and plot lack depth and I couldn't wait to finish it so that it could go straight to the charity shop.Please read The Flame and the Flower, Ashes in the Wind, Shanna and The Wolf and the Dove instead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2014
I have just spent many hours reading this great story, and was sorry to read the last page, I wanted it to never end I'm sure Katharine must have been sorry to leave these fine people she invented behind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
I HAVE BEEN A BIG FAN OF KATHLEEN WOODIWISS SINCE THE 1970S, HAVE ALL HER BOOKS,ALWAYS LIKED HER STYLE OF WRITING,WHAT AN AMAZING AUTHOR.THIS IS A GOOD READ.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99
£5.19
£5.19

Need customer service? Click here