Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Martine McCutcheon Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
76
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 May 2017
I'll keep this short and sweet, but if you've followed and loved The Vicar Of Dibley over the years, then you owe it to yourself to see how the story comes to an end. The last two episodes of the show are up there with its best and contain what is easily some of the biggest laughs the show has ever seen (the 'It Should Have Been Me!" sequence will forever be one of my favourites!). It's such a joyful and romantic conclusion to the show, and it cements itself as one of the best comedies the BBC have ever put out. This DVD also comes with a behind the scenes feature that follows the cast and crew as they filmed the show over the years, and it's just as entertaining to see the off-screen laughs and sense of friendship and family among everyone, as it is watching the show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Lovely funny and romantic and Richard Armitage too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2008
The Vicar of Dibley was always, from the start, hilarious and entretaining. But what a finish!

Episode 1: The Handsome Stranger: A 'layabout' Londoner called Harry (Richard Armitage) comes to Dibley-and he and Geraldine are instantly fixated with each other. However, she sees him with another woman whom she believes to be his girlfriend. She then thinks of a music video-It Should've Been Me (one of the funniest things i have ever seen). However, it all becomes clear-and Harry proposes to Geraldine.

Episode 2: The Vicar in White: This episode is the slightly weaker of the two, but is still very funny. The villagers decide to take omplete care of Geraldine's wedding-not letting her make a single decision (so Jim says). They also decide to give her an extra present-'This is Your Life'. Jim is asked for his most memorable pics of the times with the Vicar. However, some very unexpected photos are shown-and Jm admits that he thought he was asked for the most memorable pr***s. Alice designs the dress (oh dear) but it is actually very beautiful. However, Alice and the bridesmaids are dressed as David Tennant's Doctor Who and two Daleks. When Geraldine's car omes past the house, she getters spatered with mud, and gets married in her pyjamas. An excellent end to a hilarious, unrivaled British comedy. Well worth purchasing.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2011
Two hilarious episodes on one disc, set between seasons 1 and 2. Very enjoyable. One word of warning though, the episodes have been put on the wrong way around. 'The Easter Bunny' comes before 'The Christmas Lunch Incident' so be sure to watch them in that order because it is quite important to the story.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2007
I loved this ending! it was perfect. Geralding and Harry are brilliant together, and you find yourself rooting for Geralding to get her man!!!!

Harry is gorgeous! so obviously I had to try and stop the jealous feelings just to enjoy this fabulous finale to a fabulous series. I secretly hope this isn't the end, and in a couple of years we return to see them still both happily married, but maybe with kids, or other things going on in their marriage. And in this DVD there are still excellent perfomances from all the other regular cast, including Alice, who never bores me. The end joke is brilliant, as always.

It's sad to see this show end, but with a truly derserving and brilliant end for the show and for Geraldine, it's hard to be sad for long. Especially when you get to keep this DVD forever so you can cheer yourself up anytime! And if you watch this DVD you will understand what I mean when I say "IT SHOULD'VE BEEN ME!!"
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Whilst I was sad to see the BBC's hit sitcom 'The Vicar Of Dibley' go, it has had a very good run, with three series, two Christmas specials and numerous shorts for the channel's Comic Relief programme.

In December 2006, the chocolate loving vicar Geraldine was annoyed that a handsome young outsider had arrived in the village. However, she instantly falls in love with the accountant (played by Richard Armitage) and the following month in 2007 the couple are wed.

Of course, in true style, there are many funny complications and obstacles that Geraldine has to cross before she could marry her man. 'A Wholly Holy Happy Ending' was a great way for this classic series to end, with Dawn French's character finally finding happiness. The other characters are all featured, and are just as funny as I've ever been from day one. You'll laugh, but you'll also find it quite touching as well.

A great addition to your DVD comedy collection!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2008
This is a very good DVD with a very good ending to a very good sitcom, HOWEVER, don't buy the combination of this with the complete Vicar of Dibley DVD. If you put these collections together, you will have the same contents as 'The Vicar of Dibley Ultimate Collection', but if you just buy that instead, it costs over £20 less. So, the message is: DON'T BUY THIS WITH THE COMPLETE COLLECTION, BUY THE ULTIMATE COLLECTION INSTEAD AS IT IS CHEAPER.
33 Comments| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is great DVD; I think they saved the best for last. It is not often that you see a great series get the proper ending it deserves but this series did with a big bang. This DVD contains a two episode arc finale.
In the first, `The handsome Stranger' - Gerry Grainger, the vicar meets this handsome stranger (Richard Armitage -BBC -Robin Hood) amidst her complaint that `townies' are buying up weekend cottages in Dibley. The episode deals with their meeting, their courtship with all the hilarious complications. The comedy is out of this world.

The second episode - `The Vicar in White' - sees the vicar marry her dream guy. Having presided over many weddings in her time (a case of always the vicar and never the bride); it was nice to finally see her get a happy ending as the bride to a handsome hunk. What a great ending to a great series.

If you love this series then you must get this DVD, even if you have not seen any of the previous seasons, this DVD can be viewed as a stand alone two episode arc of heavenly comedy. This finale was produced for Christmas 2006 and New Year 2007; it is different from the other Christmas special editions. It is the newest and the last of the series. ENJOY.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2009
This is just the DVD to get out when you feel a bit low and need a lift. Its perfect wish fulfilment ending is wrapped with LOL humour provided by the Vicar and her consorts.
Geraldine's take on Sense and Sensibility is a so funny that it made me weep with laughter.
And it has the gorgeous Richard Armitage to make it captivating viewing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2011
This was my favourite episode ever of the Vicar of Dibley series. It stars Dawn French and the utterly gorgeous, amazing, sexy Richard Armitage (known from BBC's Robin Hood - Guy of Gisborne, North and South - Mr Thornton and Spooks - Lucas North) They absolutely complement each other brilliantly!!

A real favourite of my DVD collection!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)