Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 June 2009
I bought the panniers in order to carry equipment and clothes on the C2C (coast to coast) cycle ride.

First of all, they are by far the cheapest panniers per litre (28) storage I have found anywhere.

They are light, very robust and shower proof - I did a bit of cycling in monsoon type conditions one afternoon and found that they were not waterproof, however they do not claim to be so.

One of the other reviews mentioned that they are not easy to remove from the bike. They attach to the bike pannier rack via six ties, rather than clips. I did not find this a particular issue, in fact it made them feel more secure on the bike and with a touch of practice you can remove them in two minutes.

Overall, for the price, weight and how well made they are, I had no alternative but to mark them down as five stars.
55 Comments| 199 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2009
On the plus side, it's cheap compared to others and quite spacious (fits my acer laptop, albeit might not fit some of the wide-screen ones). I've just taken it on my cycle trip from Reading to Bristol, and it seems to be fairly robust. However the fabric does seem to soak up moisture rather than beading it off, so probably best to wrap items inside or cover it. The attachment is via 6 straps (4 on top, 2 at the bottom). It would have been better if they had provided quick-release clips as it's pretty fiddly to remove and attach the bag when stopping off at the shops etc. I partially solved the problem by using 2 bungee cords (not supplied) to do the job of the top straps. The bottom ones at least have a quick-release buckle which makes it easy to remove but they're still fiddly to thread when attaching. The top of the bag has a strap (length not adjustable) attached by two clips and seems a bit inadequate for the weight of the bag when full, although it hasn't broken yet. It could have done with a handle or somesuch for easy carrying. Overall I think it does the job but more thought could have gone into the design.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2009
this is a great value product and suprisingly well made

In complete contrast to the earlier reviewer - I actually like the fact its 1 piece - this makes it harder to remove, not only for you but also for anyone thinking of stealing your gear when on tour

I personally use my front pannier for items i will need a lot i.e. bathroom / cooking equipment and everything else can stay put
0Comment| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
Bought these for JOGLE a few years back and pretty much did the job. Only two issue I can remember is that the side pouches when full were a bit too heavy so got caught in the rear wheel spokes a few times but this was down to the metal frame I purchased to house it on not being quite large enough as these bags are quite big. The other issue was that the back of your heel can clip the front of the side pouches if not set up correctly - but that's probably an issue with most products like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
Pros
- Good storage space. 17" Laptop (in waterproof laptop case), change of clothes, towel, shoes & waterproof jackets, selection of tools & an extra water bottle, notebook & device cables
- For the price it does the job well.
Cons
-The straps are a little bit fiddly especially the lower straps.
- Like most lower price range multi pocket panniers if not correctly placed it will catch on the wheels
- due to above positioning can catch on your heals if bottle pockets are full
- Splash\light shower proof, recommend a waterproof bag/case for the essentials (Was still cheaper than a fully waterproof pannier)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
for the money its fine, treat the zips with respect, pockets smaller than I thought, but is fine didn't want anything too expensive when leaving the bike locked up at work everyday
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2010
Extremely good value product - easy to fix to frame and very roomy. 2 drink holders on back are a bit useless - space would have been better incorporated into slightly larger bags, but otherwise they are excellent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2011
I bought these panniers with quite a doubt in my mind, as well looking and searching for the best quality vs. volume cs prize ratio. These seem now quite a good investment, as I have tested them on couple of not-so-long journeys and shopping in the city. The panniers are well organized and keep a lot of things in. The side pockets are helpful for organization and the back pockets easily hold 750ml bottles of water (maybe 1l as well).

I am not sure about the top pocket (horizontal), but it got used several times. It doesn't hurt to have it there anyway, as you can just put things (more voluminous) on top of it and tie them.

So I think it is a middle-range purchase in sense of quality, volume and prize. It hasn't teared yet except the brand logo on the side which I caught on an edge. Moreover, it feels really stable on the bike when loaded with things (I tried it on some off-road ways). It would have been probably the best product if it was waterproof, but that doesn't seem to be a very big problem as well, so I still find it a good product.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2009
Good value, easy to fit. Rather too many small pockets, would have preferred fewer but larger spaces for my use, which is carrying home shopping, but overall good product.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2009
difficult to remove quickly, ok if you want to leave on permanantly. however they have no support at the bottom so curve in and rub on your spokes if your pannier rack is triangular not square, i had to cut some plywood and stick in the bottom which has helped, but as sold they're not great for most pannier racks. Fabric and build quality is good. Not waterproof but certainly showerproof.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)