Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
8
4.8 out of 5 stars
Lust Lust Lust
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 30 September 2017
good album, recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 December 2007
The Raveonettes made me very, VERY nervous in their last album. It was poppier and smoother than their past noisy, fuzzy rock'n'roll. I was afraid they were losing their edge.

Well, fortunately they haven't. Now attached to Fierce Panda, the Danish band turns "Lust Lust Lust" into a sensual, stormy blend of pop and fierce, eerie fuzz-rock -- basically all their sounds thus far. And with a title like that, you know it'll be sexy and dark in its tones.

A flicker of ringing keyboard, bells, and a slow steady beat and slow retro riff. "Aly, walk with me in the summer/Aly walk with me/Aly walk with me in Portland," Sharin Foo and Sune Rose Wagner sing together. Their meandering song of dreams, walking, cities and summertime are interrupted by spurts of ringing, fuzzy guitar, as if the instruments are determined to have the spotlight.

They strike a softer chord with the eerie, tinny-ringing "Hallucinations," before launching into a series of similar songs -- there's lots of raw, stormy rockers tinged with sparkles and quiet moments, and sensual retro ballads that sound like they were lifted from an urban neo-noir movie.

There's even a few pop songs, like the Velvet Undergroundian "You Want The Candy" -- as with the VU songs, methinks that title needs no translation. And like the VU, it's wrapped in layers of bouncy, fuzzy guitars.

"Lust Lust Lust" has much the same sound as "Chain Gang Of Love," the Raveonettes' second album. But this time around, they have more experience and polish -- and thankfully, less poppiness than the sprightly, radio-friendly "Pretty in Black." Thank God, Columbia is off their backs and their older sound is back.

Their musical maturity can be heard in almost every song. Yeah, every one is shrouded in tinny, programmed drums and bass, with rough, blistering guitar tangled in fuzzy feedback. And they include occasional flickers of twinkly keyboard. But rather than sounding alike, little sonic flourishes and twists give them individual qualities -- some ("Expelled From Love") are haunting, some are raw, and some are poignant.

The weird factor isn't downplayed by Foo and Wagner's shared vocals. They pretty much always sing in unison, giving their vocals an odd androgynous sound. And their lyrics are pretty hard to make out, but there's a sly, randy quality to all the songs ("The dark comes bittersweet/Black loving pops/Come on, give me a dirty treat").

"Lust Lust Lust" is the album I've been waiting for the Raveonettes to make -- dark, fuzzy, dirty and managing to be both rough and polished. They finally got to make what suits them best.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2007
i've always been a fan of the raveonettes and have been looking forward to their third album very much,but i didn't expect it to be even better than their previous releases!
it still has the band's typical sound but at the same time it sounds fresh and interesting,with a couple of songs definitely being as good as their classic "love in a trashcan" and "that great love sound".
i would recommend this not only to raveonettes fans but also to people who haven't heard them before,this album will definitely capture their hearts
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
Obviously not a new band or album , but new to me , listened a couple of sample tracks on Amazon , liked them , liked the price of the album so took a punt , and what a great punt it was , I love this album , mainly for it melodies ( a rare thing nowadays ) , harmonies and the great overall sound , ok don't listen to closely to the lyrics , they are a bit dark , just let the music wash over you , it always amazes me some of the tripe that is lauded to heavens , image , image and then image , forget the music , then a great band like this gets virtually overlooked , I like to think that these
type of artistes are just too good for the masses , who seem to like mindless foul mouthed shouting or chewing gum for the ears , give yourself a treat and give this group a listen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2007
'The Raveonettes are super-cool Scandinavian noise-rockers who've created their most engrossing album to date' NME 8/10

'Worth the wait - an uncompromising masterpiece, their best yet' THE FLY 9/10

'The Raveonettes have created a dark and dirty collection of spanking electro fuzz combined with 50s surf rock sensibilities that is, frankly, mind-blowing' ROCKSOUND 9/10

`The Raveonettes have in the past never managed to equal the sum of their influences - The Jesus and Mary Chain, Velvet Underground, Sixties girl groups, to name a few - but they may finally have done so.' SCOTLAND ON SUNDAY 8/10 (Album Of The Week)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
Lots of people who saw the Raveonettes at the gig I was at were lusting after their gorgeous female lead singer!
Liked the sound, liked the minimal stage presence and the singer was very pleasant on the eye as well as having an engaging voice which fitted the sound perfectly.
Reminded me a little of Jesus And The Mary Chain, which isn't something to be sniffed at.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2007
I have always been a big Raveonettes fan since 'Whip it On', this album has not let me down, beautiful, sweet harmonies from Sune and Sharin backed by dark, sleazy rock guitar melodies, opening track 'Aly, Walk with me' a perfect example of this, all tracks on this album are excellent with the possible exception of 'With my eyes closed' my least favourite. I thought they couldnt top 'Pretty in Black' But they definately have, Also well worth checking out live, their harmonies are as perfect as you hear on the cd's and Sune's guitar playing rocks!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2007
'The Raveonettes are super-cool Scandinavian noise-rockers who've created their most engrossing album to date' NME 8/10

'Worth the wait - an uncompromising masterpiece, their best yet' THE FLY 9/10

'The Raveonettes have created a dark and dirty collection of spanking electro fuzz combined with 50s surf rock sensibilities that is, frankly, mind-blowing' ROCKSOUND 9/10

`The Raveonettes have in the past never managed to equal the sum of their influences - The Jesus and Mary Chain, Velvet Underground, Sixties girl groups, to name a few - but they may finally have done so.' SCOTLAND ON SUNDAY 8/10 (Album Of The Week)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

2016 Atomized
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)