Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
26
No World For Tomorrow
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 18 May 2015
As usual with Coheed and Cambria you get a mix of Prog and Metal with again great vocals from Claudio Sanchez. This album also feature drums provided by Mr Taylor Hawkins (of the Foo Fighters) stepping in after Chris Pennie could not perform on the album due to contractual issues. It also contains the single "The Running Free". An all round great album from the boys.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2016
Exactly what was wanted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2013
This was a gift and the and the receiver was delighted with it. I as the purchaser was equally delighted with all aspects of this purchase and would happily recommend this seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2014
Been a fan of Coheed for a couple of years now. This was the next album to add to my collection and it doesn't disappoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2007
This album is the finale to a futuristic and complex story of love,hate,murder,deceipt and everything in between. The music is best described as unique. I know of no other band who come close to the sounds created by C&C. They are technically one of, if not THE, best bands around. Fantastic guitar and strings, catchy choruses, baffling lyrics and a unique singing style make this a definate for any serious music lover.It does take a couple of listens before you get the message but once you do you will be bowled over.Standouts for me are 'The Running Free', 'No World For Tomorrow''On the Brink' and 'Mother Superior'One of the albums of the year. I cant stop listening to it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2007
Coheed And Cambria's fourth Studio album No World For Tomorrow is a real corker; a well written and wonderfully produced record that picks up right where the previous Burning Star IV record left off.

This album contains just the right mixture of shimmering David Gilmore influenced leads, metal influenced breakdowns and catchy sing along vocal hooks that'll stick in your head for days on end.

The main problem that the band have is getting people to give them a fair listen in the first place. Some fans will always have a problem categorising this band and end up dismissing them no matter what. Coheed were never as progressive as the Mars Volta, never as metal as Dream Theatre and too progressive and metal influenced to be just a regular indie/alt/emo band.

Regardless of what genre the album may be, or who the band do or don't sound like, this album when taken on its own merits is undeniably good; full of great lyrics, excellent vocal melodies and a sense of cohesion that many bands lack.

The only negative thing that I can say about this album is that occasionally the production and tonal choices can make certain sections of the more commercial songs like 'Feathers,' 'Running Free,' or 'Mother Superior,' at times seem too saccharine, too slick and a little overblown. This is a very minor flaw however, and doesn't apply to the majority of the album, or when material from the album is performed live.

Stand out songs include the brilliant single 'Gravemakers And Gunslingers,' which is possibly the most fun Coheed song to date, the catchy fast paced 'The Hound Of Blood And Rank,' and 'The End Complete,' which is quite frankly staggering.

At the end of the day, this album boasts some of the best guitar work that the band ever recorded, mixing both melodic and hectic solos with powerful riffing and a few soft ballads to create an powerful and enjoyable album. If you liked their previous album From Fear Through The Eyes Of Madness; or as it is commonly known, Good Apollo (part one of a set in which No World For Tomorrow is part two), you'll love this.

PS. Some editions contains a short Making Of Documentary; which features interviews with the band, mixed with in studio footage and discusses topics such as the writing process, the band's story concept and new drummer Chris Pennie's visa troubles. Its not the most in depth documentary, but is enjoyable none the less.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 November 2007
This is the fourth album in this stupendously ambitious (and brilliant) series, and though it's a long way from being the best, it's still Coheed and Cambria (despite the slightly altered line-up) and still a clear mile above almost everything else going. I love that each of these albums has its own unique and distinctive sound, despite the fact that each is a chapter in the same story. That said, the creative well is showing early signs that it may at last be running dry. The album does have an occasional tendency to fall into familiar patterns at times, and many of the tracks are sadly quite forgettable - you won't find another Time Consumer, or the wall-to-wall perfection of In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth 3, or even the uncomfortable angst and complex structure of the most recent album. What you will find instead are a handful of excellent, hummable tracks - highlights include Feathers, Mother Superior and of course The Running Free (which was actually written for the new Transformers movie, though sadly it didn't make the cut). The high points of this album are definitely up there with the past glories, and definitely offer something new and distinctive - it's just that everything else is a little bland and over-familiar at this point. That's not to say it's bad by any stretch - it's Coheed and Cambria after all and this band doesn't really do `bad'. It's just that each of their albums inevitably has to be measured against the impossibly high standards of the previous ones, and this one is not quite up there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2007
2007 has been a great year for music and has now been capped off by a fabulous record by Coheed and Cambria. This is, without doubt in my opinion, the album of the year. It is accessible, intelligent, loud, lively rock music and even if you don't want to follow the concept story line, I can guarantee that you will love this CD for years. One of the things that I like the most about Coheed is that you can pick up almost any of their CDs and enjoy an hour or so of great music, without worrying too much about the mythology. You just need to pull on your King Crimson T shirt (it's at the back of your wardrobe) like Travis does on the "Making Of" DVD that accompanies this package, and listen to something that used to be called progressive rock. Don't worry, the term is irrelevant really, you just need to listen.

As a Coheed "noob" all I can say in addition to the compliments showered on this album by the Amazon reviewers is this: If you have any interest at all in rock music, this album will leave you with your jaw on the floor. And the DVD (equally revealing) is just what you would expect from a band at the top of their game. Sorry that they lost Josh, equally glad that Michael is back. Love them to death. Well done guys, Claudio and co take a bow!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2007
A very good album this and their most accessable by far.
This does seem a little more song based and less like the one long concept piece of other albums. This is no doubt due to the termoil in the band at the time of writing but I think it sounds the better for it.
Some of the track choruses are catchy beyond belief tracks like 'The Running Free', 'No World For Tomorrow' and the excellent 'Feathers' (in particular) will have many hooked on first listen.
But this isn't just an album of choruses and much of the album has great substance. The lyrics in particular are very good, if more than a little confusing at times. I must admit I own all four of the albums but have barely a clue as to what's going on in the grand concept of the storyline but it doesn't distract from my enjoyment of any of them. This could be due to the fact that I have read none of the comics that companion many of these releases or my advancing years. Or both!
The only let down for me was the final part of the last track 'On The Brink' which seems somewhat of an anti climax. But a slight grumble on an otherwise great album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 November 2007
It would be easy to go into raptures about just how utterly superb and brilliant this album is, so I will keep it brief. No World For Tomorrow is, despite some strong competition, the best album of 2007. There is no chance of anyone now bettering it this year. It would be the best album of most years! This is also, arguably, Coheed's best album. What I think is particularly striking is that it doesn't grab you on first listen as say Good Apollo did. However, after a few listens you just keep being washed over by oceans of new nuances and subtleties. Claudio has totally outdone himself in one vital regard. Unlike their previous material this album is pitched exactly right. It doesn't have as many immensely long, widdly self-indulgent bits, and best of all the songs fit together perfectly to form the best run of songs I can remember (perhaps since Operation:Mindcrime!). The music is like a jigsaw perfectly slotted home. Indvidually the songs are not all great, but as a unit they make a for an utterly compelling and exciting listen. This is not a collection of separate musical pieces like virtually all albums but a story and progression in the best possible sense of the words. Awesome and brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse