Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 1 May 2012
This machine is based on forcing the juice through a very fine mesh filter. The shape of this filter, the plastic ribs that reinforce it, and the acute angle at which it is fixed to its support ring, and the fineness of the mesh, all mean that it is very difficult to keep completely clean, no matter how much you poke a kitchen sponge into the acute angle and no matter how much you rub the surface of the mesh.

It's very advisable, therefore, to take the machine apart and thoroughly clean all its parts, including the filter, under a strong water jet, as soon as you've made a smoothie as if you don't, the large quantities of fruit and veg residue are likely to solidify/dry out, making cleaning even more difficult than it already is. Luckily the water pressure in my kitchen is very strong.

And take note of the comment by someone else here that little bits of fruit/veg tend to get stuck in crevices, especially in the pouring spout, and especially the mesh. If you're not careful those leftover bits will just stay there and rot, and become an unwanted ingredient in your next smoothie. Not good.

When you take the machine apart, you'll have a whole dish drainer stacked up with very large components, leaving no room for anything else.

I imagine this machine cleans OK in a dishwasher but not everyone has a dishwasher.

All in all I must confess that this machine had me wondering who designed it and what was going through their mind; all the meetings they must have had and all the prototypes and testing they must have done before deciding to put this machine into production - because there are some very obvious things wrong with it - as I have described above.

All in all I'm not happy with this machine because of the hygiene issues and because rather than grinding and blending everything you put it, it attempts to extract juice only, leaving behind very large quantities of fruit and veg that haven't gone into the drink - wasting all the goodness.

No good. I trashed this, kicked myself for wasting so much money, and bought a BREVILLE 800W instead: a proper blender than doesn't leave behind any wasted ingredients.
33 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 November 2017
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2016
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 August 2016
a bit hard to clean, but good in general
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2016
a bit fiddly to clean a couple of narrow angles inside.... but works well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2016
It does its job well enough, but a nightmare to clean, so barely used
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2012
I`m usually using Philips HR1861 for making plenty of juice from apples in autumn , but as now temporary out of my country wanted some juicer here too, as there also is plenty of free apples everywhere. So bought this one as "refurbished" here, just because of very god price, and hope that it will be almost the same as big brother , just little bit less powerful and without aluminum body.

Good: it doe`s the job, I get my juice and I can`t feel much a difference between this and bigger brother

Bad:Cleaning , there is so many holes, corners , hard to reach places , tap need to be removed for cleaning etc etc . what makes cleaning so much harder than for HR1861, lid is so different that it even seems just re branded cheepie .

Compared to other cheep juicers with small moon shape intake , it`s much better as it has big diameter intake and it`s powerful enough to do the job.

Compared to HR1861 : cleaning nightmare , of course HR1861 also needs to be cleaned , but with this I`m spending approximately the same time only on the lid , as I was spending previously to all parts together (except separator). This also does not comes with brush for cleaning separator what is very useful, and bowl is some two times smaller.

Conclusion for those who are lazy cleaners as I am : if intended for usage just a few times in year or autumn it`s nice and good juicer, no need for extra money spent, but if you need juicer for regular usage , look for his bigger brother who have much much better engineered lid and tap.

so fro me five stars for juice, one star for ease of cleaning
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2012
Amazon delivery as per usual is top notch and can always expect the package to arrive before the expected delivery date. The price was £41.50 which included Free Super Saver delivery which is pretty reasonable.

As for the juicer itself, you simply cannot go wrong with it. I have juiced the following Fruit & Veg:
Apples (whole with the skin on)
Oranges (whole with the skin removed)

And with each one, the Philips juicer has coped with it very well and you do get a fair amount of juice extracted. It used be the case that in our household that fruit and veg would get bought but sometimes would never get eaten and therefore it would get thrown out once it had gone off. Well not anymore, in fact it is quite the opposite now, we are now buying more fruit as the kids love the fresh juice.

However there is only one slight issue that I would have and that is that there are no rubber feet grips at the bottom. So when you are using the juicier, it does have a tendency to move slightly when you are pushing fruit through chute. So thus the reason why I haven't awarded it the full five stars. However that should not detract it from the fact that this is an excellent juicer that is good value for money and does it's job. Which it is no surprise why it was awarded a Which Consumer Magazine Best Buy award.

As an added bonus you also receive a paperback book of "How to lose 7 pounds in 7 Days" by Jason Vale, which does contain some good juice recipes.

So overall I would have not hesitation whatsoever in recommending this juicer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2015
ok, bought for someone else - no complaints.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2013
I got the juicer very quickly and very happy with the delivery. So far it has been used daily and is much easier to clean than my old juicer - although I clean it by rinsing then washing as soon as finished juicing as I can imagine once the waste dries it would be much harder to clean. It does extract alot of juice but I'd reccommend juicing an apple at the end of the juice as this helps to cleanse the juicer of all the drier veg you have used and pushes it through the spout bit which you may leave behind. I really like the free book with it and once the American bit of ÿou can do it"has been ignored has good recipes but recommend the Super Juice book as this has great juices for all sorts of occasions and good for kids too. The children are already asking for homemade juice for breakfast, dinner and tea and love choosing their own fruits to go in.... yet to convince them vegetables taste good too. The top could be simpler to clean as has some knooks and cranies but do clean under the tap. The spout is great and you hardly have to chop anything but you do have to halve most apples.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)