Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
23
4.4 out of 5 stars
Mark Thomas - Serious Organised Criminal [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.96+ £1.26 shipping


VINE VOICEon 9 December 2007
Not quite as punchy as Mark's CD "The Night War Broke Out", but it would be hard to match that simply because of the nature of the material and the edgy feel / atmosphere at the time that CD was recorded. But despite not matching TNWBO, "Mark Thomas - Serious Organised Criminal" is still spot on in terms of material and still presented in a very funny way. In particular, I liked the extras on the DVD - when I watch or listen to Mark I do sometimes wonder how much dramatic license is involved, but when you watch the extras you see that what he describes is exactly what happened (at least for those clips). Fantastic stuff. As per other people's comments, I wish Mark was still on TV regularly - more people need to know about what is going on in the country/world today and Mark's presentation style is one that would get more people listening. I suspect he makes politicians very nervous even now, but were he a regular on TV again I suspect they would be terrified of what he reveals.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2011
Mark Thomas brings an almost evangelical edge to the right to protest, he shines through the fog of political intrigue and in doing so manages to point the finger of ridicule at exactly the right place. Pin point accuracy with his facts, a wicked glint to the eye and above all, a need to shame those who have created injustice. Mark Thomas is more than a comedian and he is more than a political activist. I feel that I need to make a demonstration, Mark Thomas to be knighted! This DVD is a great way to enjoy an evening in, highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2010
If you have ever seen Mark Thomas live or heard him on Radio 4, or elsewhere, then this product will need no introduction.

If you haven't then here is a taster...

As a political activist opposing all right-wing authoritarian regimes, he obviously had issues with Thatcher (too young) and Blair. Tony's attempt to bring in the the SOCA laws to stop political protest by forcing any demonstration in London to be registered was obviously meat and drink to Mark Thomas.

If you watch nothing else, follow the description of the 21 protests in one day, that caused several overworked police officers to react out of stereotype and be fairminded, evenhanded and critical of the government. Wonder as our man walks through a violent (non-registered) Anarchist riot, with two policemen in support to stop him being arrested!!

I know this doesn't sound anywhere as good as the reality. You better buy it and see for yourself. It doesn't matter what your political complexion (unless you're a member of the Blair cabinet... and perhaps even then), you will laugh, if only at the absurdity of political lawyers passing laws that don't work and having this proved to them!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 November 2014
Sometimes, the law is an ass. On more occasions it can be a complete idiot and if that happens you can trust Mark Thomas to look at it, realise where the faults lie and then expose the errors in a creative and thought provoking way. This DVD deals with his challenge to the Serious Organised Crime and Policing Act designed to remove protestors from Parliament Square; after all the politicians couldn't possible be faced with anyone protesting their mistakes.....could they?

Mark sets out to use the law to it's absolute letter and start applying for permission to protest in the SOCPA area, the results of this are hilarious; a protest to defend surrealism, a protest to increase the number of trolls under Hungerford Bridge, a campaign to promote swimming by closing Hungerford Bridge that consisted of standing on the bridge and handing out one leaflet. To support the Police in their never ending task there was even a protest to reduce Police Paperwork. The idea grew and there were requests to protest delivered iced on a cake and even one channelled from thelate Winston Churchill via a medium.

The end result was a World Record for Mark and a brilliantly observed and wholly peaceful protest against a ridiculous law that a civilised country does not need. You will be angered that the government could do this to it's people and will roll with laughter at the protest made against this law.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2007
Mark Thomas returns with his own unique brand on agit-comedy. As always he delivers the goods and makes you laugh and think. What a pity his channel 4 shows aren't available on DVD too (hint hint)
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2010
This DVD will really make you think and raises some serious issues but at the same time will make you hurt with laughter. Not recommended for anyone with right-wing leanings!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 September 2014
I'm not sure if I really like Mark Thomas. I usually enjoy his stand-up, the man can certainly tell a story and I agree with a lot of his views - but I do get annoyed by how much a bell end he can be at times in the way that he goes about things. I suppose it only serves to highlight the ridiculous measures that both sides of the political spectrum will go to just to prove a point.

This isn't his best show, but it's still very good. Plenty of decent extras on the DVD too, and altogether a good package even if he does "make a face" on the menu screens.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
I've been a fan of Mark's common sense, no nonsense politics for years, and was lucky enough to meet him recently at an 'Art of Protest' exhibition in Manchester. As well as being a very entertaining performer, he is also a very nice human being. This DVD of one of his live shows is hilarious and informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 26 December 2008
A typical show of this set and tour was well over three hours in length : the DVD is heavily edited, and barely half that. That said, the material is excellent, and blessed with a biting social commentary that comes from a fierce moral centre and a ruthless exposure of the hypocrisy and unintended consequence of ill thought out laws and selective interpretation and enforcement of the legal system to reveal the ineffective heart at the centre of the current administration.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2016
I little dated now, but don't let that put you off. It's very funny and many of the issues are still relevant. 5 star all the way
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)