Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
75
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.84+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 July 2017
Got for car trips does the job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
It's ok has some favourite songs,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2017
For dancing in my fluffy slippers !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2014
Takes me back to the seventies. Disco Nights in my teens and local funfairs when they arrive in town.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 August 2008
You could play a fully credible disco night armed with nothing more than these five cds. If a definitive chart was made of the 500 top tunes from the dance decade of 1975-1984 this set would claim an absolute minimum of 50 places.
One ill informed reviewer knocks legenary weekender tunes on CD3 as fillers and bemoans the lack of Abba, Bee Gees and Dexy's Midnight Runners. It's precisely that absence which makes this such a credible set. I already owned perhaps 80 or 90 of these tracks but the purchase was well worth it for Janice Macclain's Smack Dab in the Middle and then again for the huge grin that spread across my face when I heard Wikka Wrap again for the first time in twenty years.
If you have only a few disco tracks in your collection then my advice is BUY THIS SET !
If on the other hand you have a huge collection of Soul and Disco then none the less BUY THIS SET !
See my other reviews for more bargain CDs available on Amazon.
44 Comments| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2012
Disc 1
The Trammps - Disco Inferno
The Jacksons - Blame It On The Boogie
Sister Sledge - Lost In Music
Patrice Rushen - Forget Me Nots
Rose Royce - Is It Love You're After
Chic - Le Freak
Stacy Lattisaw - Jump To The Beat
Melba Moore - This Is It
LaBelle - Lady Marmalade
K.C. & The Sunshine Band - Give It Up
The Hues Corporation - Rock The Boat
Dan Hartman - Relight My Fire
Andrea True Connection - More, More, More
Billy Ocean - Love Really Hurts Without You
Wild Cherry - Play That Funky Music
Detroit Spinners - Working My Way Back To You
Candi Staton - Young Hearts Run Free
McFadden & Whitehead - Ain't No Stoppin' Us Now
Frantique - Strut Your Funky Stuff
Rufus & Chaka Khan - Ain't Nobody

Disc 2
Odyssey - Use It Up And Wear It Out
Chic - Everybody Dance
Earth, Wind & Fire - Let's Groove
Sister Sledge - He's The Greatest Dancer
Rose Royce - It Makes You Feel Like Dancin'
The Three Degrees - My Simple Heart
Billy Ocean - Red Light Spells Danger
Cheryl Lynn - Encore
Heatwave - Boogie Nights
Dan Hartman - Instant Replay
The Emotions - Best Of My Love
The Average White Band - Pick Up The Pieces
Evelyn 'Champagne' King - Love Come Down
Chaka Khan - Fate
Gladys Knight & The Pips - Bourgie' Bourgie'
Goody Goody - #1 Dee Jay
Janice McClain - Smack Dab In The Middle
Phreek - Weekend
Stacy Lattisaw - Dynamite!
Kleeer - Keep Your Body Workin'

Disc 3
Tom Browne - Funkin' For Jamaica
Lonnie Liston Smith - Expansions
Jean Carn - Don't Let It Go To Your Head
The Jones Girls - Nights Over Egypt
Keni Burke - Risin' To The Top
Rodney Franklin - The Groove
Undisputed Truth - You + Me = Love
Stargard - Wear It Out
Candi Staton - When You Wake Up Tomorrow
Dexter Wansel - Life On Mars
Narada Michael Walden - I Shoulda Loved Ya
The Futures - Ain't No Time Fa Nothing
Philadelphia International All-Stars - Let's Clean Up The Ghetto
G.Q. - Disco Nights
Phyllis Hyman - You Know How To Love Me
Cheryl Lynn - Got To Be Real
Heatwave - Gansters Of The Groove
The Intruders - I'll Always Love My Mama
Kleeer - Tonight's the Night (Good Time)
MFSB - TSOP (The Sound Of Philadelphia)

Disc 4
Boney M - Daddy Cool
Gary's Gang - Keep On Dancin
Tina Charles - I Love To Love
Baccara - Yes Sir, I Can Boogie
Johnnie Taylor - Disco Lady
Deodato - Whistle Bump
Graham Central Station - Now Do-U-Wanta Dance
Club Nouveau - Lean On Me
Steve Arrington - Feel So Real
Nu Shooz - I Can't Wait
Conway Brothers - Turn It Up
Timex Social Club - Rumors
The Evasions - Wikka Wrap
Space - Magic Fly
Eruption - I Can't Stand The Rain
The O'Jays - Put Our Heads Together
Luther Vandross - Give Me The Reason
Linda Lewis - It's In His Kiss
The Weather Girls - It's Raining Men
The Drifters - Kissin' In The Back Row Of The Movies

Disc 5
The Isley Brothers - It's A Disco Night (Rock Don't Stop)
Odyssey - Native New Yorker
Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes - The Love I Lost
Gladys Knight & The Pips - Baby Don't Change Your Mind
Sly & The Family Stone - Family Affair
The Trammps - Hold Back The Night
Jean Carn - Was That All It Was
Lou Rawls - See You When I Git There
Billy Paul - Bring The Family Back
Slave - Just a Touch of Love
Gwen McCrae - Keep The Fire Burning
Change - Searching
The Three Degrees - The Runner
The Pointer Sisters - Automatic
Evelyn 'Champagne' King - Shame
M.F.S.B. - Mysteries Of The World
The Jones Girls - You Can't Have My Love
Billy Griffin - Hold Me Tighter In The Rain
People's Choice - Jam Jam Jam (All Night Long)
The O'Jays - Love Train
33 Comments| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2011
Feeling a bit nostalgic, I bought this last week as the seventies was my era. I really love discs one, two and five, but discs three and four are not very good, not heard of some of them and a bit boring. Overall though, I am more than happy to have bought this as I still have three discs of really good quality and sound, for an excellent price!
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
Too many fillers. Find a collection that is more of a "Best of Disco". Most of these "hits" you wouldn't know. Don't buy it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
Some people hate "disco", some love it. There are five delightful albums packaged together here with some big hits, like Disco Inferno (Burn Baby Burn) - Trammps. (The best version of this can be found on Saturday Night Fever, another excellent album, but I'm getting ahead of myself)! If you love The Jacksons; Patrice Rushen; Melba Moore; Rose Royce and a host of similar stars, you will definitely enjoy this huge collection of hits.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2008
My album was bought in tesco's... so that probably tells you all you need to know. If you are a hard-core disco afficionado, then you will already have most of these songs, and this LP wont wet your whistle. If you remember this period of life with memories of the school disco, then this will do the trick. A solid good value album... like BOGOF, ready meals, oven chips, lambrini (ok, not lambrini... its not that bad)... and like those deals, it deserves to be sold in tesco's.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.85

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)