Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
27
3.6 out of 5 stars
The Club (PS3)
Platform: PlayStation 3|Change
Price:£12.73+ Free shipping


on 27 March 2017
awesome
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2015
Game was ok ,not long enough for me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2008
The Club: either you get it or you don't. The Club is all about speed and accuracy, rhythm and repetition. There's no story. There's no cutscenes. The game is about a corrupt organization of rich men who organize an underground competition to see how long you can survive. You learn this in the tutorial and a 2 minutes intro video for all the characters at the start of the game. You have eight contestants to play as. Their differences are basically down to speed and damage. While some of them are faster but take lots of damage, the others are stronger but slower. All the characters are stylish if a bit cliché. There's the strong Siberian dude, the tough cop trying to take down The Club, the agile Japanese, the African guy with tribe markings on his face or the radical sports freak. There's not much difference playing as one or the other, it's pretty much about your favourite character and if you want speed or stamina. They're all charismatic and cool.
The whole objective of the game is to rack up as much deaths as possible. If you spend too much time without killing someone, your combo lowers. Anytime you kill someone the score is multiplied by whatever your combo is at the time, so you need to kill as fast as you can. You have to know the levels and where the bad guys appear. They're always at the same places so you can memorize the pattern and choose the order of killing for getting the biggest combo you can.
There are 8 locations where you play tournaments. Venice, a steel mill, a mansion and even the middle of a war. The graphics are average but there's a good level of detail in the levels. The music is perfect for the fast paced action.
There's never a dull moment in The Club. There's no cover system because that would go against the objective of the game. You're always running, trying to keep your combo from going down, looking for a guy to kill. The game is not difficult but can be challenging. The AI is nothing extraordinary but there are a lot of enemies and things get very intense. There are various game modes. In Survivor you have to survive a set amount of time in a closed location, being attacked from all sides. In Run The Gauntlet you have to reach the end of the level before time runs out and in Time Trial you gain time as you kill enemies to do a number of laps around the level. If time runs out, you die. In Siege, you're in a confined area, shooting from long range at the enemies.
The online multiplayer also has a good amount of modes but all people play is kill match or team kill match. These are the usual modes everyone knows from every multiplayer game. In The Club you start with a weapon which is usually bad and have to find a more powerful weapon in the level. What happens is that the players that know the maps better always get the better weapons and dominate play which can sometimes be very frustrating. Still, it can be fun.
The Club is an old school game. There's no story progression, no plot, its just shooting. If that's your style, you will love it. If you're looking for CoD4 or Halo, look elsewhere. This is a simple, addictive game. You have numerous leaderboards and you'll soon be playing the level just one more time to climb a few more spots, beat your record, get that perfect combo. In terms of longevity, it never ends. It's not an innovating game. Its gameplay is repetitive and over time can become tedious but it's also a lot of fun.
I'm happy to be a member of The Club.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2008
What a bold game. It's quite unlike any other shooter and given the score based nature of the game I can see why some people reference Project Gotham Racing.

It's not Call of Duty 4, but very few games are. The Club is a totally unique experience - massive replayability due to the scoring mechanic and brilliant multiplayer. A true test of skill so I can see why some folks won't get it but I did and I love it.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
Pretty standard run-round-and-shoot-everyone game. Might not hold your attention long, but it's good for a quick half-hour here and there.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2008
After I had read some very mixed reviews on this game I was not sure whether or not to buy it. Please don't make the same mistake.

After I eventually decided to buy it I never looked back. It is a very unique game and one which requires a great understanding of the way in which sega works. They are very unpredictable and come up with the most bizarre ideas... and this one worked brilliantly.

If you have playstation network then you will probably find it hard to pull yourself away from the addictive online multiplayer version of the game, where you can challenge up to 7 other players from around the world. Even if you do not have network play it is still very addictive, with many modes of multiplayer games.

However, this game is a bit like marmite... you either love it or you hate it. But what I am saying is, don't disregard it until you have played it yourself. It is a great deal of fun and has an interesting structure to it. Staying objective here however, I would like to point out the downside of this game. It does get a bit repetetive when playing single player mode, as you basically replay the levels over and over again. Do not let this put you off of a wonderful game though.

I hope this review helped those of you who have a bad taste in your mouth about this game. Thank you for taking the time to read it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2008
The main single player game will be allot of fun if you like to hone your arcade skills with multiple plays through the same level. I didn't enjoy it that much but I really bought The Club for it's online multiplayer.

Unfortunately the lack of a friend list or any way to lock hosted games to specified users means that there's no way for me to play on a server with friends. Every online session is with a random collection of players. This is fun for a while but it quickly becomes boring especially as there is also no voice support online so there's no way of working out tactics with your ad-hoc team as you play.

The 360 version isn't missing these online options probably because Microsoft wouldn't sign off on it's release without them. However as they weren't required for the PS3 release they just haven't been done. It's ruined what would have been one of the PS3's better games.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2012
V e r y. G o o d .. . . . . . . . . . . T h a n k u
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2008
Firstly, don't listen to everyone who gave this a poor review, they all base it on the demo of 'the club', since then there have been significant improvements.
Although this game might not have the best plot the actual gameplay, graphics and good fun makes up 4 that.
The single mode is good due to the score system meaning, lots of re-playability. Then online is even better comparing scores and the usual matches.
I'm not comparing this game to COD4 or any other normal FPS in fact, this game finally adds some fun back into gaming.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2009
I think this game gets a bit of a bum rap. When I tried the demo I had mixed feelings. However, I decided to rescue a copy from the bottom of a bargain bin and I am glad I did.

The game is a 3rd person turkey shoot, or convict shoot as the case may be. You run around levels taking down fellow convicts that are trying to kill you. Simple stuff yet enjoyable.

The game has eight levels all bar the first you have to unlock. The settings are quite entertaining, a ship wreck, mansion, nuclear bunkers etc. Graphics are excellent and the settings do add to the experience. You have choice of a few characters with others unlockable. It is important to pick a character that suits your style i.e. fast, strong, good aim etc.

Each setting has about 6 or 7 levels and these consist of different styles of play such as finding the exit, timed circuits and a siege where you hold out against waves of convicts. You can pick up weapons and ammo along the way and shoot signs for time extentions. Chaining kills boosts your score.

I found the game entertaining, fast paced and exciting to play. In the end I thoroughly enjoyed it. Auto saving at the end of each level also helps.

However, whilst the game does have replay value it is short. You can complete this in a days play if you had the time. The levels themselves are very short and can only take a few minutes to work through.

Multiplayer is a clone of the main game except with human opponents. Nothing special but it is fun in a full house.

Overall, I would suggest giving this a try if you like FPS games as it is an interesting take on the genre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)