Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
23
3.9 out of 5 stars
The Club (Xbox 360)
Platform: Xbox 360|Change
Price:£4.99+ £1.62 shipping


on 13 February 2008
Well others have outlined the gameplay elements so I won't repeat that.

What you have to realise when buying this game is that you are not paying for a 10-12 hour campaign. You are paying for a game that can be played through on easy level in a couple of hours. However, step the difficulty level up and the challenge begins to try and perfect your runs, timing your shots well so you keep your combo going to rack up high scores.

A previous reviewer said there are no tactics but I disagree, the choice between spraying your enemies with machine gun fire just to keep your combo going, or risking going more precise for a much more score worthy single headshot, at the risk of losing your combo is a constant one. Similarly, weapon choice is a constant decision.

The fact that there is no story as such and this is primarily a trip back to the good old days of gaming where the sole purpose was to beat your high score will grate some people. I find it a hugely refreshing change.

Multiplayer is good fun and lag free (though last night there were only 12 people in the world playing The Club online)

My only gripes are that the difficulty curve is quite steep. you will blast through every level on casual mode, yet put it up one level to reckless and it gets pretty tough, pretty quickly. Either Casual is slightly too easy, or reckless is slightly too hard. There are 2 further levels which seem nigh on impossible to me so why reckless has to be as difficult as it is I'm not sure. On the flipside, when you nail it and completely blow your previous high score away, it is a very, very satisfying feeling. Also I would have liked to have seen a bit more in the way of unlockable, but that's pretty minor really.

EDIT : Now I've been playing this for a week, I'm starting to really learn some of the levels and although I still havent won a tournamant on Reckless, I'm consistantly getting 2nd place over the 6 events, so it does get possible to take on the higher skill levels, (managed 4th in an Insane tounament too!) even for a shooter neanderthal like me.

PGR4 + Tony Hawks + Tekken + guns = The Club

The most enjoyable shooter for a long time.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2009
Having played the demo for a while and was quite taken with it, I finally decided to buy the game. I was put off a bit by the mixed reviews that this game had. I even considerd the PC version, but after hearing about the NIGHTMARE problems people are having with crashing DRM and Limited installs etc... !!, I decided to get the 360 version. normally Im quite selective when I buy a game, unless its got like 5 stars I wont touch it, but I was wrong about the club. The game is a real blast !!, The sound effects and music are brilliant, Ive been playing the club for a while now, its a little hard at first trying to keep up with the massive scores you have to get to stay up in the rankings in tournement mode, this game needs alot of practice, but its somthing you have to work up to. all in all... I think its a really decent game, ive had lots of fun playing it and continue to do so..........

Mike UK
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
This is for the game for the person 5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2008
brilliant online game with superb graphics and game play. how can people slag this off. every game gets repetitive but this is good because the outcomes are random and you can have a lot of different battles. this should have 5 star rating. people with shallow minds should not be able to review this
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2008
I can totally see that this game may not be everyone's cup of tea, but if they idea of competing in online leaderboards, or trying to beat to beat your friends best scores, then this game is definitely for you.

It's incredibly addictive, and it's been years since I had that feeling on being 'in the zone'- superb.

Also, the 4 player split screen multiplayer is awesome for post-pub fun with your mates.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2009
i have to say i liked this game even though single player was pretty short lived,and though there is a multiplayer hardly anybody online plays it even though its fairly good fun to play.There are tournaments and single player events with online leaderboards these are the main part of the game,which would have beed vastly improved if they have had included an option to watch the top player replays.Presentation is good and the gameplay original it could be a classic, but just lacks something especially in the online department.Five out of five for an original well put together unpretentous shooter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2008
The impression that I got of this before I bought it was that it seemed to be like some kind of Unreal Tournament, but it's quite different from that.
It's actually a rather inventive Arcade shooter, it has to be said it is very similar to a training mission level that you get at the beginning of various shooter games where you run a course and shoot what pops out in front of you, think the training level at the start of Call of Duty 4, but the thing is, this is just so much fun!

The game has 8 running and gunning environments such as Prison Cells, (as featured in the demo), Ocean Liner, Steel Mills, Venice, Warehouse, Manor House, Bunker, and Warzone maps, and in each of these are 6 various game modes such as Sprint, Time Attack, Run the Gauntlet, Survivor, and Siege. You choose one of of the aggressive looking characters and then run through the map shooting up multiplyers, hitting special skull plates if you should see any, all this adds up your score, the aim of the game is just to get the highest score you can and get to the end.

The game is fairly original, addictive, and good as one of those games you just want a quick blast from if you haven't got much time to spend playing a game, the graphics are very good, some might think it won't warrant full price, but I can tell you, although you will unlock all the championships and maps on easy level in just a few hours, to then master a tournament on harder levels takes a lot more time, and the game actually has just as much; if not more gameplay time in it than the average action shooter.

Also a little tip, go to youtube and watch some of the guys videos there, the very best players are racking up unbelievable scores of about 8 million, just watching how they played levels I was able to go back and double my scores straight away on the maps I was playing.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2008
I've played this a lot and some of the reviews just don't match up to the game. And I think that's down to the expectations.

Imagine reviewing Mario Kart and saying it doesn't have the depth, number of cars, physics etc of Gran Turismo. No it doesn't, but hat's not a bad thing.
No, it isn't a game of huge depth, character and strategy. But I don't think it was meant to be. It's meant to be something different to the games already delivering that, and fair play for that too.
The Club is a great blast of a game. Fun. Run and shoot people. It's a brilliant challenge and a great lauch, and well worth a go.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2008
very good attempt by sega. good graphics and game play with a good choice of weapons, characters and levels addictive online
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2010
I have just read a review of The Club written by somebody who is clearly disgusted that it is not Gears of War and I am inclined to agree. After all, The Club merely requires you to run and shoot in order to drive forward a very threadbare narrative, whereas Gears of War... Hang on.
The Club really is tremendous fun for a while. It's structure is very much like that of an extreme sports game (time trials, combo points etc.) But instead of a snowboard or a BMX you've got, y'know, guns. Lots of guns. All of the locations look fantastic and it doesn't take too long to get to grips with the controls (left thumb run, right index finger shoot). But once you have, you'll be filling up your Combo Meter and Death Rolling into Head-Shot Heaven in no time and having a ball while you do it.
That said, there are a couple of frustrating omissions. The Club's most obvious influence is Japanese uber-cult film, Battle Royale, and yet that is the one game mode that has not been included. You just long for a massive Smackdown between all of the main characters - of which there far are too few - to make a brief change from constant parade of what are essentially armed victims.
Two of the featured game modes - Siege and Survivor - ARE EXACTLY THE SAME! I don't know why that bothers me enough to hold down the shift button while I type it, but come on! "Would sir care to purchase a tomaytoe to go with his tomahtoe?"
The biggest draw-back is how quickly The Club loses it's appeal. After you have completed the tournament on Casual (first difficulty) in a few hours and then realised how futile it is to even attempt it on Reckless (second difficulty), there is only so much satisfaction to be gleaned from playing it through again. What The Club needs more than anything is a character and weapon customization system. It's the sort of little detail that this sort of game needs to make it worth spending more than a few pounds on. Buy it pre-owned.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)