Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
314
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 September 2013
Had to have this for my collection, enjoyed it so much when it was on the Television, very good purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
2nd worse movie i've ever seen, keeping this short as this movie ain't even worth the time to review.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2016
Turned up really quickly, and in perfect condition. We've enjoyed watching it. Great DVD, very gritty
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2007
This is England made by Shane Meadows-an up and coming English director (known for his film settings in the English Midlands) who some claim he is the new Ken Loach-a very good point to address for his heavy themed social commentary films which consist of the problems of unemployment, drugs, poverty and violence.

1983. Shaun is growing up in an un-named coastal town with his single mother after leaving Germany whose dad died in The Falklands War. Shaun doesn't have much popularity at school, has a short fuse and easily gets in fights. After passing a gang of skinheads, they seek an interest in him and is instantly shown their world which he immediately enjoys, but when Woody's older patrotic brother, Combo comes home from prison to bring radical thoughts about the future of the country to destroy the fun they had forever.............

Intitally, i was put off by this film, considering it was a nostaglic film about skinheads having the time of their lives in a council estate. Then i read of the praise this work recieved in Empire (film magazine) and Film Review considering the best film of the year-how i was wrong to classify it as that, when it wasn't.

The themes hat spur out for me as is none other than family-absent father and song relationships, authority, anti-war, racial tensions and especially patroism in it's darkest and most violent form of bribing and ditacting that slowly creaps in through the course of the story-the object of this film all above anything else.

There are really strong performances from Thomas Turgoose as Shaun-his debut film and was handpicked for the role; Joseph Gilgun as Woody-the leader of the group; Andrew Shim as Milky from Jamaica and especially Stephen Graham as the fearless and manic Combo-it is easily his performance that steals the show and the one that works the best for me.

So what exactly does This is England got to do with us now, then? Could be it an indication of a lost nationality that is seriously being disencouraged; how the Iraq war serves as a bigger scale being mirrored and the huge migration of Europeans and Asians who don't always want to intregate into the society. This is England tells us for sure that that the real people with guts who are the ones that are honoured that sacifice their lives, whereas the bullies, thugs and racists are the ones that betray the flag of St George.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2007
This film feels like a made for television drama knocked up in 1983 by a clueless drama school student. You know the type of thing, they try to depict the era they are in but in reality are so out of touch! I can remember 1983 very well, for starters the Skinhead movement had died a death by that time, there were hardly any left. The few that remained weren't listening to Ska either, they were listening to Oi! Even Oi! music had finished. So his film isn't an accurate description of the time.

I realise that I'm being picky, but I hate it when films say 'an accurate depiction of life in such and such a year' then when you watch it it's all wrong, as far as I can remember 1983 was choc full of goths, a few punks, lots of straights and a few skinheads.

That aside, the film is disjointed, messy, no real purpose (apart from the usual racism is bad theme). Character development is too short, plot is very weak, each scene appears to have been cut short. There are so many more films that do this story better - Crash, American History X to name but two. Sadly after watching this it just sort of leaves you thinking it could have been so much better. If it were a made for television drama I would have rated it four stars, as it was made for cinema I'm afraid it just doesn't cut it and I'm awarding it a very, very generous 3!

Still, if you've nothing better to do then watch it, as it is okayish!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2016
My favourite film ever. These films are so amazingly made and incredibly emotional as well as funny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2015
Its a British classic like it's been said before, told by a great story teller that is Shane meadows
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
Bought as part of an offer which was too good to miss. Hubby was more thank pleased with the DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
THIS IS ENGLAND.Great dvd and must buy for any fan you will not be sad with this buy. Great item.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2015
Superb film. Watched over and over. Quality cast and a story that is both gripping and emotional
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)