Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
115
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 June 2014
Rick Stein rides a barge slowly through the southern French country side on the Canal du Midi, sampling local dishes and visiting local markets. He cooks local dishes and his usual down to earth patter makes it so easy to follow the recipes.

This is also a travelogue, and you cannot help but feel you've been on a holiday to southern France yourself. There is the same feeling of anticlimax when the dvds finish. I often play this on Sunday mornings and have been known to put them on again when it is wet and rainy outside.

I lived in southern France myself off and on for 20 years and can find no fault with Rick's presentation, nor the food he cooks. He gets away from the obvious tourist cliches, and stops en route for some fascinating gastronomic trips.

Gave it 5 stars because I simply cannot fault it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2014
We have watched this series many times, both the repeats on TV as well as from the DVD and it never fails to capture our interest. Better still, we have since visited many of the locations, initially by accident then intentionally, and have been able to sample exactly what Rick refers to in the films.

Many of Rick's recipes have become our regular meals, all are easy to prepare and cook.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2015
Probably the very best of Stein. I know that I might be biased because I know and live in the area covered by the DVD's. They give the viewer a splendid idea of the atmosphere of the territory. I cannot recommend it too highly - it is a constant delight.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
Just lovely. I think people know exactly what they will get when they buy this so a review is unnecessary, but it can only help to say that it is a wonderful blend of cooking and of France. And Rick Stein of course, who is so passionate about food that it's heartwarming.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2017
Enjoyed this a lot. A little bit slow at the start, but as with other DVDs of his that I've purchased, it left me hungry for more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2016
A true great from Rick Stein. Some of the food may not appeal to all but the recipes are easy to do and taking in the French countryside with Rick is an absolute joy. You don't even have to watch it for the food, just enjoy the calm ambiance of the canal du midi.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
We particularly loved this DVD because this is really our favourite part of the world and feel such
pleasure each time we watch it. Rick Stein's enthusiasm for everything is just wonderful and make
all the family want to rush to the kitchen and try out the next recipe!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
As rick would say fab. Haverally enjoyed all of his dvds
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2010
The fact that this voyage through the canals of central France is hosted by Rick Stein is bound to have an emphasis on food and associated culinary subjects is no surprise. This is not a cookery programme but a wonderful travelogue which gives a gastronomic flavour of the regions. The characters with whom Rick engages and learns from are the very essence of France and enable the viewer to be transported to that wonderful country which is still far from the 21st century in it's rural areas. The scenery is magnificient, the food mouthwatering and so simple, the markets are full of the the freshest and best produce of the country, the wine . . . well the wine! As you watch it is impossible not to be transported and saviour the whole culture of that wonderful country. A superb antidote to an English winter.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
Excellent series. Bought as a present so will review further at a later date.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)