Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
76
4.2 out of 5 stars
White Chalk
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 18 December 2007
Dorset's Polly Harvey was apparently brought up in the country with musical parents providing her with the inspiration to pursue a career in the business. Despite a gentle bucolic upbringing,Polly appears to find fascination with the dark underbelly of life.
Departing from her industrial up tempo rock,Polly's new album inhabits the quieter spaces where breathy vocals are given the chance to articulate the story each track provides.
White Chalk contains songs of murder, loneliness and death. Echoing vocals mixed in with plodding keyboard and strings conspire to paint a sad musical picture where crows croak on bare trees and bodies are exhumed from muddy ponds.

Uplifting !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2009
PJ has tapped into something very special on this album. It's haunting, ghostly, and emotional. I've never heard anything quite like it and it's a testament to the sheer talent this lovely lady possesses.

The great thing with PJ is you know that now she's got this collection of songs out there on record, she will move on and explore new territories and push the boundaries even further.

It's hard to pick out a favourite, but the title track 'White Chalk' is such a stark song with lyrics in reference to Dorset (where PJ grew up) but with a dark twist.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2007
I would have to agree with another reviewer on here who said this album is ok for late night play at low volume. I just listened to it and came away feeling very underwhelmed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 March 2009
Even for a PJ Harvey fan such as myself, this is a very difficult album to listen to. This album is a collection of often funereal songs, all of which just feature Polly and a piano. She's changed her singing voice too, and the effect is unsettling. It is safe to say that this isn't an album you'll play when you have friends around.

As good as the songs and the performances are, this is a harrowing album, definitely difficult to listen to and not exactly enjoyable. Of the songs, my personal favourite is "The Piano", but if you want a PJ Harvey album you can listen to and enjoy, stick with "Stories From The City, Stories From The Sea".

A very good album, but you've really got to be in the right mood to listen to it. Definitely not for the casual buyer!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2007
Sorry, have followed Pj's career since the beginning. Forgotten how many times i have seen her live. But this album and the last have been major dissappointments. yes, the lyrics are beautiful but it is dull, dull, dull. Late night listening at a low volume is what this is best for and you will be hard pressed to play it twice.

Its time she made some noise or maybe she is following in the footsteps of nick cave, in that after a few mellow albums , she comes back with some mighty fine howling. Let's hope so. Forget the other reviewers, it seems that she gets 5 stars if she read the yellow pages
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
Just catching up with my cd collection a much needed addition xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2009
I find it difficult to understand how anybody who knows enough about the artist to buy this album to conclude anything other than the fact it's a true masterpiece. It's so hauntingly ethereal that it captivates from start to finish. I can only conclude the two reviews to give this a low rating have listened to it on computer speakers whilst doing something other than just listening to it! This is serious music and demands serious listening. It's also a great recording so to compress it to mp3 is a travesty! I've not heard the 45rpm vinyl but I bet it's stunning. Buy it if your a PJ fan, or buy it if you simply appreciate truly individual, carefully crafted masterpieces!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2008
When I first played this album I thought it was dreadful and Ms Harvey had done something very strange with her voice. After a few songs I remembered reading somewhere that it was a 45rpm (there is no indication on the cover, inside sleeve or record itself) and low and behold it turned into a fabulous LP and is another outstanding aspect of Polly's career. Sripped down, class instruments, a must have and all the better for being on vinyl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2007
Through all of the newspaper reviews for this album, everyone has mentioned the expectation that preceeded it. Few have admitted the disappointment that sets in four songs in.

PJ Harvey for me always represented controlled rage, driving guitars, lyrical beauty. All of this has gone. The whole album involves PJ Harvey plonking out gentle (but not beautiful) songs at the piano. She sings in a strangled near falsetto voice. Four songs in is when you realise 'oh no, this is going to be the sound of every song'.

Needless to say, I have re-listened. The album itself has some high points but as a PJ Harvey album it is an immense let down.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)