Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
Sailor Beware! [1956]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£29.98+ Free shipping

on 3 April 2008
I love this movie and all comedy movies from this era, Peggy Mount is brilliant, and I could not think of another actress who could play this role. Shirley Eaton is just beautiful and Esma Cannon, well, what a bright star she is, anything she is in is worth watching, another great Aussie actress. Do yourself a favour, WATCH and ENJOY.
99 Comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 January 2010
You know what sailors are.

When I was eleven we went to Singapore with the RAF and belonged to a drama club. This I learnt was a very British thing to do when abroad. One of the plays was Sailor Beware. I had forgotten what it was about apart from being comedy but I do remember a very overpowering actress who was now I realise was doing a version of Peggy Mount.

This is described as a farce but unlike most farces doesn't have too much misunderstanding etc.

Michael Caine has an imperceptible part as a sailor and you would have to be told it was him to have noticed him

Albert is going to see his fiance to arrange his wedding.Albert is an orphan and Shirley has a larger family. She is dominated by her very loud mother played by Peggy Mount who is a good actress. She specialised in these roles.
Shirley Eaton plays Shirley and she played a similar role in Carry On sergeant and was later the famous Bond girl covered in gold in Goldfinger. I discovered that she retired from the screen in 1969. I haven't seen any interviews with her in recent years but she was in some good films having started in the first St Trinian's film.

He dad is quiet and ineffectual and his only hobby is his ferrets. Her aunt lives there was well as she is dominated by her sister in law Peggy Mount.

It isn't laugh out loud funny but it is good clean comedy with supporting roles by Thora Hird. The wedding arrangements go ahead but Albert is not one hundred per cent sure so he rebels and doesn't turn up.

There is secret that the aunt tells him that he is going to only live three doors away form his mother in law.An interesting view of the time is that the mother law puts a deposit down on the house so that they can buy it. No going to building society and getting a mortgage it seems in those days.

Gordon Jackson plays Albert's mate and puts in a good performance as a sexually naive Scotsman as he is being chatted up by a very sexy cousin of Shirley.

It is all good clean fun. The vicar offers some sage advice and everything turns out well in the end. It is a period piece but rather than pity the characters for their predicament they are all quite happy in their roles. Even put up Henry Hornet the dad realises that he is having a good life as his wife although domineering is a good wife as there is always a meal in on the table when he comes home and the house is looked after.

What more could a bloke ask for.?

Again another great nostalgic British film.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2010
If, at first sight, this DVD appears to you to be just another old British comedy with the usual double entendre and a dash of lavatory humour, then you will have allowed yourself to be deluded and by overlooking it as a serious purchase, you will rob yourself of the opportunity to be surprised, warmed, charmed, delighted and thoroughly entertained.

This DVD of Sailor Beware is an excellent print from the 1956 film version, directed by Gordon Parry, of Falkner Cary's and Philip King's very successful stage play.Sailor Beware: Play (Acting Edition)

The cast boasts a number of big name actors and actresses, most of whom would become famous at a later date, one or two of them as a result of this very film, look for Michael Cane as an uncredited sailor early in the film, note the customarily flawless and engaging performance by Gordon Jackson as the bridegroom's best man, the sterling performance by Cyril Smith as the long suffering (and much loved) Henry Hornett and the beautiful character work that one would expect of the great Thora Hird as Mrs Lack.

Having duly credited the fine work of those well known artists, it would also be true to say that there isn't a lacklustre performance in the entire film, but it is without any shadow of a doubt, that the exquisite Peggy Mount, a relative newcomer at that time, as Emma Hornett and the indescribably talented Australian character actress Esma Cannon as her sister in law Edie Hornett are in every way the star attractions of this wonderfully funny and heart warming film.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2010
Peggy Mount plays the mother in-law from hell; the whole film is dominated by her and quite rightly so. Standing in the middle of the house in her house coat and slippers, sleeves rolled up and rolling pin in hand she plays the quintessential Mother in-law. The house quakes from her bellowing voice. It is one of the most enjoyable and funny films I have seen in a while, and I shall be watching it again soon, that's how good it is, and far better than her other film Ladies Who Do.
If you want to see Peggy at her best, forget the rest and get this.

DVD quality is suburb, a lovely transfer with some film marks such as neg marks and a couple of tram lines appear now and then, but this adds to the charm. Nice and sharp and very good contrast in most scenes. A great B/W

I highly recommend this film.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2011
If you are a British Comedy fan and/or a Peggy Mount fan (I personally will buy anything with Peggy Mount in it), then you will like this film. It is fairly short, less than 80 minutes, but well worth a watch. A sailor on leaves turns up to marry his sweat-heart, Shirley Eaton, only to skip out on the wedding in terror after meeting his overbearing mother-in-law-to-be, Peggy Mount, and finding she has put down a deposit for them on a house two doors away from hers. Naturally all works out in the end, with Shirley Eaton agreeing to go to another county with him after they are married.Sailor Beware! [1956]
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 October 2015
This is fantastic. I really wanted a Peggy Mount film and this is pure wrap up on a cold day and watch a lighthearted film. Interesting to see the streets with so few cars parked up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2015
Peggy mount is a star in this film. She bullies all around her but does so in a funny way where the jokes are on her. Great comedy from beginning to end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 November 2017
Very funny love it ,,,,thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 January 2014
This is such a good insight into all those ladies who have long since passed. The domineering mother who rules the house with a rod of iron. Who said feminism is a recent thing. This reminded me of my grandmother who had such a hold over my mother and her siblings. The humour is great and once again only for those who love old films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2017
Excellent reproduction. Brought back happy memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)