Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
17
Live at the Padget Rooms, Penarth ~ Remastered
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 26 January 2018
I'm fairly sure that this was the incarnation of the band that I saw in late 1972, but they changed line-ups a bewildering number of times. This is clear from their catalogue, which I have a number of on vinyl from their first, Revelation; this is now very dated and only for completists. I stopped at Slow Motion ~ Remastered + Bonus Tracks. To me, their development had stalled at that point. A recent listen to the Welsh Connection hasn't changed that view.

As part of that collection, I do have a copy of the limited edition original, which only contains 3 tracks. Those were (& still are) excellent snapshots of the band's live performances. Of the additions on this release, the most unsatisfactory one is 'Romain', which has a ridiculously long, meandering, introduction. A note to 'Esoteric'; just because the tapes of unreleased tracks exist doesn't mean that they shouldn't be edited.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2013
This isn't just the album that puts the superfluous "d" in "Paget Rooms", it must also be one of the best live albums ever -- no, make that one of the best albums of any kind. Packed full of ideas, it combines psychedelic discord with twin-lead-guitar rock'n'roll (think Wishbone Ash, but with a harder edge) in a way you'd never imagined possible. The word "symphonic" comes to mind, especially with regard to the superb twenty-minute last track, "H. Samuel"; I can only suggest to the reviewer who thinks that particular effort is "aimless" to listen to it a few hundred more times until you get the point!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2015
THE Man album. I had one of the few vinyl copies which are worth their weight in gold and lost it when my marriage broke up. It is never going to be the same but this is Man at the peak of their powers and in my favourite line-up. The Padge was a special place and held some awesome gigs around this time but this night was possibly the finest of the lot. Lay back and enjoy it loud.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2017
Awesome
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2017
Entire concert and worth the money for the extras alone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2016
exellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2015
Excellent album. Reminder of schooldays.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2016
Superb music from the Welsh legends!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 22 September 2006
Originally issued as a limited edition lp which sold out in a week, this album was long unavailable and copies of the lp sold for up to £40. This at least tells you the album is popular among diehard fans of the band, but if you like exploratory twin guitar stuff this is a fascinating and, despite only three tracks, varied album. The opening Daughter Of The Fireplace is a basic rocker and, in all honesty, not one of guitarist Deke Leonard's best songs, but the performance they give it here is so scorching that it doesn't really matter - it's good enough to support some really fiery playing and singing, they really tear it up. This is followed by the best track, Many Are Called But Few Get Up, which the band very rarely failed to play to this day. This is one of their more "prog" oriented songs, with several changes of time signature and riff, but it's also one of the shortest and best versions and if you like this sort of thing it's very good indeed. Third and longest track H. Samuel, presumably named after the downmarket UK jewellery chain for no very good reason, is far more of an acquired taste. It's basically a jam, with elements of a piece on their third album discernible in the second half of the track. But it's also quite unlike anything else they did, with a decidedly spooky and psychedelic atmosphere that is pretty unique. Not for everyone but certainly not brainless noodling. One for connoisseurs I guess.

NB: this album has now been reissued as a double CD containing the entire concert - 6 tracks - for a similar price, and as the extra material is worth having it makes this CD pretty redundant.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2009
My elder brother was one of those quick and lucky enough to get an original copy of this album it was just the three tracks then. The fact that it sold out within the first week, shot to No.1 in the Mid Price album chart and then it was gone. This made it much in demand and it became a bootleg classic. The bend themselves even started selling cassette bootleg copies of it at gigs. Eventually BGO Records got the licence to release the original album in 1997 and so Live at the Padget Rooms Penarthwas finally available now with Esoteric Records rising from the ashes of Electric Records the classic Man albums are available in expanded form. This album is expanded to six tracks; it now opens with the 24 minute version of Spunk Rock. This illustrates Man's slow burn building up of momentum and the album as a whole presents a much truer picture of why Man was such a powerful live band at the time and they should have been the "Next Big Thing" following this album but that never really happened despite an increased popularity for a short time this was never sustained. They did, however, go on to record some brilliant albums nsuch asBe Good to Yourself at Least Once a Day ~ Remastered plus bonus tracks-deluxe editionand Back Into the Future ~ Remastered + Bonus Tracks, both now in expanded form and Esoteric have given them rather good packging too. The Live album that I had and the one that I considered as my Man album was B0016QCAJQ which is still a great album.

This is a band that deserves to be remembered and this album is well worth checking out.

I am slightly puzzled and disappointed that the introduction to Many Are Called has been left on the end of the previous track. , so to get the expected intro to thattrack I have the listen to 24 minutes of the previous track first, I think that if they wanted to separate the intro from the main track they should have made it an additional track between the two numbers. The approach here is inconsistant as Daughter of the Fireplace gets it's intro added on at the start of the track. These, however, are minor irritations, this is a wonderful album.

I bought this from the excellent Caiman USA but they did drop a bit of a clanger. This Welsh band's live album, recorded in Wales and they stuck a "Made in England" sticker on it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)