Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

My Boy Jack [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 June 2010
Excellent dvd - the acting is brilliant and the story line gripping.
This is the true and sad story of Britain's most favourite poet " Rudyard Kipling " who's son was killed serving with the Irish guards during the 1st world war. It affected him so much, that he spent over five years writing a detailed history of the Irish guards in honour of his son................ A truly remarkable man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2014
Daniel Radcliffe surprised me, he was rather good in this role. Kipling came across as I suspected for a father in that era, didn't care for him much, but great acting from all the cast. If you have visited Batemans in Sussex, this is a must see.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2013
This was really good. Very moving. Was one of those few movies where I forgot time and all things around me and soaked up the experience what it would like to have lived during WW1. Well done to the actors - especially Daniel Radcliffe - a pleasant surprise. Worth adding this film to any collection !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2013
A very moving performance. Daniel Radcliffe has moved up a league or so! I would really recommend this, and at a very good price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2014
Whilst not historically accurate, this was still very enjoyable. David Craig's portrayal of Kipling was exactly as I would have imagined him in real life and Daniel Radcliffe played the part of Jack extremely well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2014
Excellent,really brings home the reality's of Trench warfare.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2011
This is a wonderful film which I have used when teaching about the WW1 poets to pupils aged 14, in England. It clearly reveals the pressure on young men at that time to do their "duty" even when, as in Jack's case, there was a medical reason why he needn't have fought in the war. It also gives an insight into the role of Rudyard Kipling and the part he played in the recruitment drive of the day. Very moving and graphic, without being gory.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 June 2016
xmas pressie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2014
Sad and moving true story. Enjoyed watching
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2014
Moving with impressive performances by David Haig and Daniel Ratcliffe. So hard nowadays to understand the keenness to join up and serve in the army not just by Jack but by so many others
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)