Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
841
Dad's Army - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1968]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£18.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 December 2014
This is a very large and heavy box-set, there are 14 discs of pure funny entertainment, and what a cheap price to pay.
This would be a top fathers day, or Christmas present for your dad or granddad. Trust me they will love this.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 August 2017
It's almost fifty years since Dad's Army began, but when I watch it I never feel that I'm watching an old tv show. It's truly timeless, fresh and funny half a century later. It's the characterisation and the chemistry of the ensemble cast that give it so much life. Every character is real and believable, we can identify with them or recognise them and even their flaws make them loveable. The humour is underscored with poignancy, such as Captain Mainwaring's heartwrenching Brief Encounter moment, and each episode is interspersed with contemporary music. Dad's Army is one of those things where everything, down to the last detail, is just perfect.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 September 2011
This series comes from a stable of comedies that IMHO may never be bettered and Dad's Army is the jewel in the crown. To think that it used to average over 18 million viewers is a testament to the writing skills of Perry and Croft. I am not going to review the episodes as most people buying this set will have seen them many times before. If however you are new to Dad's Army then I am envious of the treat you have in store.

It is a crime that episodes from series 2 were wiped by the BBC to save money on video tape costs, episodes that are most probably gone for ever. A lucky find in a garden shed that discovered 2 lost episodes was a minor miracle and I cannot see it happening again. Of course Dad's Army wasn't the worst effected. Dr Who has lost 106 episodes.

Extras such as 'The Lost Episodes' documentary and the Radio episodes of Dad's Army, make this set even better. It is one big set, when you first open it you will wonder if you will ever get through all the episodes. I have favourites but instead of dipping in I have decided to watch them all in chronological/series order. The price of this set makes it extremely good value and I can highly recommend it to anyone who has the slightest interest in comedy.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2017
Absolutely fabulous DVD set with all nine series (Including the three surviving episodes of season 2 . The discs are so well protected and are stored like pages in a book. I love hearing the music. The series is so funny, it is something you can sit down and relax to after a busy day! Seriously recommended for the great price!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2012
I'm going to assume that if you are reading this it's probably because, like me, every now and then you catch an episode of Dad's Army on some channel and watch it with a sense of nostalgia and 'good old days' feeling. If you are in that category then trust me, you're going to love this box set.

Starting with the packaging the inside of the box set pulls out and is configured in a book-like layout, each page representing a DVD for that series. It's a really neat and innovative way of getting so many DVD's into a nice sized, easy to find a home for, case.

There isn't much to say about the episodes as you will have probably seen a good few of them already before coming here. I will say that the episodes from the 70's are funnier in my view as the series moved from strength to strength. The earlier episodes from Series 1 while not quite as funny are nonetheless interesting as you get to see how they were formed following the radio broadcast from Secretary of State for War (Anthony Eden) in May 1940. You get a glimpse in amongst the humour of the logistical challenges the Local Defence Volunteers (later the Home Guard) faced in the early days of its formation.

For me there's a sense of greatness about our countrymen who, though unable to join the armed forces overseas, played an important role back home. The comedy strikes an admirable balance of being funny without insulting, or pouring scorn on those who served in that role.

In short, this box set really is value for money and whether you're simply a lover of the style of British humour from the 1970's, or just looking to reignite some memories from your childhood during that time, I most certainly recommend it to you.

Enjoy.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 November 2012
The recordings are of a very high standard, given the circumstances of some lost material.
The series harks back to a dark and perilous period of Britain's history, where the best and the worst of individuals is brought out, and dealt with here in excellent style. This was not a success outside the strictly British cultural sphere, which is a shame as it is very revealing of the nature of British humour. True to form, some of the best is reserved for the last episode.
I could not resist checking up on the actor's careers after this series, and tragically some did not live much longer. "Mrs. Pike" dying of cancer, and "Sgnt Wilson" of complications due to alcoholism, "Captain Mainwaring" of a stroke. The way the series dealt with the sudden death of one of the cast was somewhat callous, "Private Walker" could easily have been killed off in an air raid or something, instead he suddenly vanishes as if he had never been. Psychologically this is an added strain to the remaining cast and the Beeb could have done better.
The attention to detail is outstanding. The inclusion of a Spaniard "expert" is close to the truth, a similar such character did exist. The rifles were P14 pattern, like the real Home Guard, the second-rate issue uniforms, and even the exotic Smith gun made an appearance.
A delightful series well deserving the high standard boxed set presentation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2013
I truly loved this series and was becoming very upset trying to watch it on television, as the adverts and the lopping off the start or end of the episode was increasingly frustrating. So I bought the DVD set and thoroughly enjoyed watching the funny and memorable antics of this depiction of the Home Guard. I am sorry that some episodes did not survive, but the Special features on the discs certainly helped add to the stories. One cannot help but fall in love with one or all of the characters - I adored Private Charles Godfrey, a real gentleman and Private Joe Walker (just very sorry that James Beck died during the series). The comedy is there, even though the time period of the Second World War was never glossed over, the daily dealings of the people of 'Walmington-on-Sea' and how they coped is hilariously portrayed. To anyone who loves good British comedy, this collection is a must.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2011
What can I say about this fantastic all inclusive box set? Well firstly the box it's self is well made and fairly strong, with the Dad's Army Logo over it and some screen shots dotted around. Inside the disks are clearly ladled and there a list of what is on the disks printed on the inside of the DVD case.

The program it's self is just a fantastic show, funny, witty and very well thought out. Script is spot on, the cast are fantastic and the situations the characters find themselves in are always great fun to watch. Each of the characters are entertaining and have their own catch phases and funny lines which make an appearance in a lot of the episodes, the most memorable being "Don't Panic!"

You can't find great comedy like this anymore which is a really sad thing, so snatch this classic show u while you can! I can't recommend this enough.

Whether you are new to the show or a returning fan, there is something for everyone in Dads Army!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2016
Bought for my husband for Christmas. I have watched some of the episodes with him and as always, it is very good. The first episodes are in black and white and then they change to colour. No foul language, which is almost non-existent nowadays.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 December 2016
Such an all-time classic series. Love watching these again. I have even purchased the radio series to listen to from Amazon's Audible site. I'm not old enough to have caught them on TV the first time around, so this complete set is great to watch any I have missed out on over the years.

It's just harmless, unoffensive fun and comedy that makes you smile at the silliness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)