Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
44
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£15.37+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 September 2011
A superb collection of nostalgic films. Although black and white, A Night to Remember in my opinion is the best that has ever been produced on the story of the Titanic.

For those who have an interest in railways, North West Frontier is a must because it is based around a dangerous journey across India at the height of the Empire. Filmed in the 1950's, the colour is superb!

Chance of a Lifetime is of particular interest because I trained as an Agricultural Engineer and can identify with the struggles faced by the group of workers attempting to turn a struggling plough manufacturing company into profit.

Genevieve and Reach for the Sky are also classic's.

I thoroughly recommend this set.

Mike Hawkins
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2009
Any Kenneth More fan MUST buy this, worth every penny just for "Chance of a Lifetime". Lucky this is DVD, I would have worn out a VHS tape by now!!!
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2012
This sure is a very nice collection of Kenneth More movies, BUT where is his wonderful comedy "Raising a Riot" in which More's character lives with his family in a windmill?
That was always my favorite when I was a child, however, it still is not available on DVD :(.
44 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2010
As usual with "Collection" packages, a few significant titles accompanied by a couple of fillers which in itself isn't why I've degraded my appraisal of it into the abyss of two star mediocrity.

I've watched three of the five films included in this collection so far. But as I try very, very hard to watch "A Night to Rememeber", instead of a superb restored transfer of the same standard as "Reach for the Sky" or "Genevieve" in original aspect ratios, "A Night to Remember" is presented in an utterly dreadful non-anamorphic letterbox. Viewed on a 50" plasma, to suggest this disappointing would be kind understatement, especially when a restored anamorphic transfer of this film is available. ITV should be embarrassed. If "A Night to Remember" is one of the films you are buying this 'Collection' for, best avoid and purchase the titles you actually wanted individually. In hindsight, I wish I had.
33 Comments| 76 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2015
A good selection of this often underestimated actor.
The " Chance of a Lifetime" role is not a starring role but it is a quirky,typically British, gentle comedy.
"A Night to Remember" is probably the best Titannic film ever made.The acting is excellent and it focuses on Lightoller (played by More) who was the highest ranking ship's officer to survive the tragedy.
"North-West Frontier" is a gem and the plot and action scenes are first-class (please excuse the pun).The scenery,acting and the faithful "Victoria" (locomotive) are a joy.
"Genevive" is a lovely,gentle,brilliantly scripted film.It is one of the best films of it's type ever made.Exceptional.
" Reach for the Sky"is a great film.More gives the strong willed Bader a human side which really shows how complex the real man was.He is not a straightforward cardboard cutout character but a man with steely,determined attitudes, but flawed as well.This is a brilliant performance by an actor who is sadly missed.Experts will note that the Spitfires used in the film have a bubble canopy and were what was available to the film makers at the time.You can forgive this as it would have been very difficult to find early Mark1,1A or Mark 2s that were available or airworthy in 1956.
More was a performer who immediately captured the character he was portraying and is believable in this aspect from the start:only great actors can achieve this and Kenneth More was such an actor. My opinion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2008
Chance of a Lifetime (1950): The workers in a small plough factory take over the firm, but when a large order falls through, the old management come back to help out.

Genevieve (1953): Two friends race their vintage cars on the annual London to Brighton rally. But once they place a 'friendly' wager on who will win the race the competitive juices start flowing! Genevieve is the name of one of the cars, which, like her competitor, runs into one problem after another.

A Night to Remember (1958): Based on the best selling book by Walter Lord, this is the true story of the R.M.S. Titanic which struck an iceberg on its maiden voyage from Europe to New York in 1912.

The Galloping Major (1951): An elderly pet shop owner who sets up a scheme to buy "Montana Mist," a race horse who promises to finish in the money. When the animals are switched at an auction, his lifelong dream comes crashing down - unless the old glue horse he has purchased turns out to be more than meets the eye.

North West Frontier (1959): Captain Scott (More) is sent by the British Governor in India to rescue a five year old Hindu prince and his American governess (Bacall) when a rebellion breaks out among the tribesmen. Pursued by the abductors, the trio commandeer a derelict steam train to take them 300 miles through the mountains to safety...

Reach for the Sky (1956): A story of one man's indomitable courage and endurance. As a young sports-loving Pilot Officer, Douglas Bader loses both legs in a flying accident. Not only does he overcome his devastating disability; he goes on to become a Battle of Britain ace. Eventually Bader is shot down and imprisoned in Germany.
In 1945 when three hundred aircraft fly in triumph over London led by a solitary Spitfire, the honour of leading the fly-past goes to Douglas Bader. This is the story of one of the few to whom so many owed so much.
1515 Comments| 376 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2012
For any old style film buffs out there, this is the box set for you, cheaper than buying each film in turn, and a real joy to own. Speedy and fast service that hit the mark as promised..well worth the money....well done.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2011
Kenneth More as also John Millls was a true Great of the British film industry in the Fifties and beyond. Reach for the Sky being for me the top performance. An example of true British Grit. Having seen it as a child with my father. This Compilation is a good one but I beleive the content changes without notice so be careful (if you only want the Epics)?? Amazon, please make sure you list exactly what is in the collection and update. A good value package undoubtedly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2011
A good copy brought back pleasant memories of the 60's.Received quickly and in good condition. Would recommend the sellers web site Thanks
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2011
Wonderful DVD set, the visual and sound quality was higher than I expected, great performance by Kenneth More in the 5 DVD's and certainly films for chill out, the atmosphere and storylines were the perfect way to spent a quiet afternoon. More please .................. ! Highly recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)