Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
297
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£22.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 18 June 2008
Steptoe and Son - 3 words that define what great situation comedy is all about. And here's 3 more words that define great situation comedy - Galton and Simpson. The combination of brilliant writing and acting sets this series apart, and here it all is now - complete in one neat box set. No gimmicks, no extras, just great, timeless comedy.

Steptoe and Son works because underneath the humour are real dilemmas and a sense of tragedy and frustration, played out beautifully by actors not looking for a cheap, instant laugh.

Anyone remotely interested in writing comedy could do worse than invest in this box set, and take note of how perfectly each episode is contructed. For the rest of us - we can simply watch and enjoy; knowing we are unlikely to see such comedy quality again.
77 comments| 80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 October 2007
As previously noted this is perhaps Britain's finest comedy, along with The Likely Lads and Porridge there really is nothing to touch them.

I was a little sceptical at first about releasing a boxset of the entire series so soon after the single season discs but there is something rather nice about having the entire show together in one set and I will be buying this for sure despite having the singles, I can always give them to my Nephew.

There really is no point reviewing each season as that has already been done but if you are new to Steptoe then I advise that you buy this set, for one thing it's cheaper than the combined total of the singles and secondly it has a truly lovely cover that will look very nice on the shelf.

Go on! Treat yourself to a comedy show that is not just a classic but is quite simply comedy genius in both acting and writing, and there isn't many of those around.
77 comments| 111 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2007
here it is; the best sitcom in history in my opinion. great to see the christmas specials finally released.
witness the unique on-screen chemistry of wilfred brambell and harry h. corbett as they impeccably bring the scripts of ray galton and alan simpson to life.
episodes such as "divided we stand," "the desperate hours," "robbery with violence" and "live now P.A.Y.E later" are classic examples of the programme's legendary status.
this boxset will cost a few quid to be sure, but worth every penny i assure you.
22 comments| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2008
This is simply the best sitcom ever made .I was bought this as a present and must admit it the best thing ive been bought in ages .I havent laughed so much in ages I think the early black and white ones are the best .I would recomend this to anyone even if youve never seen an episode before fantastic....
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2009
I bought this dvd box set for my husband who,s a big fan, he loved it, watches it over and over again. Well worth the money. For any steptoe and son fans out there this is a great buy.It contains every single episode, and a couple of christmas specials.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2011
I have collected the steptoe and son videos for many years and thought I had every episode,including the lost steptoes'. I was therefore pleased to find that included in the box set were a few episodes I had never seen,and well worth the price I paid on amazon.Make no mistake this is a complete box set.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2009
I waited with bated breath for my Steptoe And Son Collection to arrive. What a glorious piece of entertainment history. I watched them the first time they were broadcast and time has not dimmed the quality of the humour. Included is the pilot episode " Comedy Playhouse " as it was called at the time. 13 Dvd's, 55 episides plus 2 christmas specials, great value at any price. Series 1 - 6 are black and white but hey thats all most people had in the way of a tv when these were guys were in their hay-days. Series 7 & 8 are in glorious colour as are the 2 christmas specials. Dated they may be but if you want to relax with some time honoured, not too " PC " good old fashioned belly laughing humour this is the stuff for you.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2008
A shame they dont make comedy like this anymore , this is a gem the complete boxset of every episode of this classic comedy .ive had hours of fun watching them all ,the work gone into restoring the lost episodes seies 5 and 6 is brilliant some reviews have said the picture quailty is poor in my opinion i think its great considering the tapes of of this episodes were made on a very primitive recording machine by ray galton , great work by the british film institute for restoring them who cares their in black and white just enjoy . Harry H Corbett and willy brambell are fantasic this is the best sitcom ever and well worth the money thanks to the bbc for a great boxset.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2008
One of the best series I've seen, worth its money to the last penny.

The bad thing is that the series eventually ends and you are left lonely without the two characters you've come to love and feel as part of the family after having watched their lives over a few weeks.

Although the series is classified as comedy and the humour is typical high quality british humour, there are moments when one feels depressed and sad about the poor guys who consider a luxury what we take for granted in our times and who only have each other to take care of.

Father and son have a love and hate relationship which makes you laugh loudly and brings a tear to the eyes some times (not very frequently, it's not a dramatic series). By all means, buy it and you will enjoy every episode.

Shame again on BBC for not subtitling the series. As they usually do, only subtitles for the Hard of Hearing are offered as if viewers from other parts of the world are non existent.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
Galton and Simpson's masterpiece (with apologies to Hancock fans).
Like Alf Garnett,Steptoe and Son works as it is about a working class family, not a theme often worked by TV comedy writers in the 1960s and 1970s,obvious to anyone who sat through "Terry and June".Incredibly well written,well acted and consistently funny, well worth watching.
The two Steptoe and Son feature length films are not very good,you can give them a miss without any great loss,but the complete TV is a must-have for any comedy fan.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)