Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 28 February 2009
I bought this on the off chance and it turned out to be a very flexible miniature tripod. It is a little larger than I anticipated, but still fairly compact.

The instructions are useless and it took me a little while to discover its curiously good features.

- To lock and unlock the extending legs, twist clockwise until they click.
- To unlock the extending foam covered 'hand grip'/extender, twist each section anti-clockwise. Can be done in one move for all three sections it extends by
- Twist it clockwise to lock it
- At the top of the tripod legs is a large screw that is knurled and about 3cm in diameter. Unscrewing (anticlockwise) this allows the legs to spread further. Screwing it clockwise reduces the spread of the legs
- The camera can mount directly on the tripod legs without the head, but you lose some of the angle control by not taking it from the telescopic handle and putting that on the leg section

All in all pretty good for a pocket tripod.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2017
Bought it because it was cheap and easy to carry around in my bag without taking up too much space.

Does a job, but if you're serious about photography, I'd recommend buying a proper tripod. The legs are a little wobbly and I always worried about a little gust of wind blowing it over (with my camera attached!). In terms of height, fully extended, I still had to kneel down to operate, so avoid if you have bad knees! But it has varying levels of height, making it handy for placing on walls for example. You need to make sure the legs click in place by spinning them, otherwise they will fall down!

After a while, you become really quick building and dismanteling. Must have looked like I was a sniper though!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 January 2014
This Hama portable tripod really does what it says on the tin! The tripod itself is quite well made and has tubular telescopic legs allowing you to extend the height or correct for uneven surfaces. You can attach it directly to your compact digital camera or use the small ball and socket to allow the camera to be pivoted to a slight angle or to allow you to get the camera level if you cannot get the tripod level on uneven surfaces. The extension can be used to provide additional height as it also has a telescopic action and can be screwed onto the tripod or by using the ball and socket joint you can attach the camera to this extension and then hold it at arms length to do your own "to camera" videos or "selfie" portraits. Very durable and a worthwhile addition to your camera bag
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 May 2013
Looked great until 5 minutes of use!
The clasp that tightens the ball mount is useless, it never locks the ball mount in place so your device connected to the tripod just flops about whatever the weight of the camera used.
When I tried to tighten the ball mount with the clasp, I heard a crack and then the mount fell apart in two broken bits.
Returned and waiting for a refund.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2009
An excellent product for quick recording. I've used it a number of times as a teacher for recording music in class on the spur of the moment. It takes about 2 minutes for me to screw my digital recorder (Zoom H2) to the base or extended arm and set up ready to record. The only down side to it is that at full extension of legs and arm it is slightly unstable. It is also light-weight so I don't recommend using anything heavier than my recording device. The plus side is the variety of things it can be used for. A definite recommend for quick and easy general work.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 2012
I read some reviews and was prepared for disappointment. It's good! Small enough to carry in a pocket, and offers new photo opportunities with a 3 feet lightweight extension for your arm. Quick to extend and lock, it takes a while to understand how the legs unlock, just play with it patiently for a while. If you like mechanical devices you'll appreciate it. Obviously too limp wristed to hold an SLR, it's fine for a compact.
review image
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2012
I bought this to take with me on a snowboarding holiday. I've also got a decent-size tripod (too big and bulky to take away) and a Joby mini gorillapod (good but not versatile enough). I wanted something to hold my ContourGPS for various shots.

This little tripod is superb. It's well-constructed and is basically in three parts: a tripod with extendable legs and an adjuster ring to hold the legs at a set width, a hand-held monopod which extends and locks easily and has a foam grip section, and a ball-joint head unit. Each of the three units has a standard-threaded screw on the top, so you can combine them as you like.

I used the tripod alone, legs wide and low and taped to a car dashboard, for a time-lapse journey shot. With the ball head on top we used it for static shots filming at the side of a jump; I used the monopod, extended, with the ball head, for "self-shooting", pointed at my face while snowboarding. And with all three units screwed together, tripod legs and monopod extended fully, the whole setup reaches over a metre high so was setup on a table to film a room at around head-height. The tripod was stable and sturdy each time.

The only criticisms I can think of are _very_ minor ones. For some reason the domed ring section under the screw thread of the tripod occasionally came loose; this wasn't a problem as it pressed back into place. Also, I'd be wary of mounting heavy cameras like dSLRs on the ball head; the rest of the tripod seems sturdy enough but I'd guess you'd have to tighten the fixing screw on the ball head very tight to hold a heavy camera in place, which could give durability problems. As we only used mini POV cameras and a Canon Powershot-style camera, this wasn't a problem.

I've given this tripod five stars because it's not only well thought-out and well-made, making it very versatile, but at not much over £10 it's incredible value. I would have been happy to pay £30-40 if I'd known how good it was.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2013
Bought this to mount an Edirol R09HR digital recorder on... and for that purpose, it's excellent (and considerably better quality than the tiny plastic Edirol-branded one that I got which lasted all of literally two days).

Generally, it feels pretty solid and of decent quality... with the exception of anything on it that 'telescopes' (main monopod/extender tube and the legs) which feel a little bit scratchy and loose in operation, but they all do up tight enough so not a real issue. The ball joint also feels reasonably solid but has quite a small wing-bolt to tighten it up with... and you do get the feeling that you shouldn't give it too much work to do.

Probably worth noting that it comes with absolutely no instructions... but is easy enough to figure out.

All in all, a versatile mini tripod (for light duties I'd suggest) and excellent value. Recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 2 September 2013
Not something I would recommend for a heavy DSLR, but certainly a must for lighter digital cameras with standard tripod screw hole - no idea what the technical term is!

Tripod legs simply pull out and self lock into place, then firm push to close up again. A collar above the legs adjusts the spread width of the legs. The telescopic tube can be attached to the tripod to add some height and you have a funky looking tripod which is fairly stable.

The telescopic tube takes a little getting used to (twist and pull to extend, twist again to lock). The camera screw plate can be angled to look down the tube, so you can hold it whist having the camera looking at you. Great for pictures of couples where you don't have a 3rd person to take the picture for you (timer needed). Also good if you need to add some height to your camera to get above a crowd- again with timer

Lightweight and doesn't take up a great deal of space in a bag. I bought this when it was 10GBP which I thought was a bargain. The current price of nearly 13GBP is still a good buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2013
This is a great product because it allows a lot of varieties of small to medium height tripods while compacting down to a really small convenient size. First test was with a Cannon 550D Rebel T2i: the Telescopic Tube (sometimes referred to as an extendable Grenade Grip) can support the weight of the 550D Rebel T2i body and really light lenses but if you use a medium to heavy lens then it starts to become unstable and wobbly so that is the limit of what it will take. However, for GoPro's, compact cameras, microphones ect it works great.
Of special note is the excellent table-top tripod. I have gone through a lot of different brands and designs of these, some of them got lost, some were flimsily made and broke but this one is a keeper. Compared to many variations of this product this feels heavy duty, it's thicker, sturdier and more durable. This is the perfect Table-Top Tripod for DSLR's and heavier cameras, also it looks pretty cool and professional compared to some cheaper models. Delivery was great, the price is excellent and the product is a full five star.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)