Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
13
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 September 2017
NOTHING SPECIAL!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
I'm new to his music and was prompted to seek it out on hearing a track on 'The good wife'. It was on the cd, however not the version from the show which was disappointing. On the whole it is pretty good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2008
For those who are not familiar with traditional Tango nor heard any of the current representatives of its electro-forms, it worth knowing that Gustavo Santaolalla's production and leadership as well as Daniel Melingo's voice in a couple of tracks, makes this album something you ought to explore immediately.

Just like it happened with Astor Piazzolla--I'm comparing reactions to new versions of a traditional musical form, not suggesting that these guys are as revolutionary nor seminal as the great Piazzolla--any innovations performed on a genre as beloved like Tango will breed as many critics as new worshippers. I think this is equal parts respect for its traditonal forms as the unwillingness of some to accept the evolution of a powerful musical form.

That said, Bajofondo--along with Gotan Project--is a band to listen to if you are thinking of immersing yourself in the archetypal Argentine music' state of affairs. This particular album, to me, has built on their first and famous album, and taking it to a new level of depth. This is not an experiment, it is good music.

Besides Melingo's vocal contributions, there's a number of powerful tracks here, whether instrumental like Cristal, Zitarrosa or Borges y Paraguay, or thanks to some dead-on choices for vocals such as Elvis Costello in Fairly Right, Juan Subira--the song of the album--in Hoy , and Mala Rodriguez and Gustavo Ceratti's turns at the mike.

Santaolalla, as committed to Tango's classic composers as he is to exploring its outer edges, manages to keep things faithful to the mood of Buenos Aires without compromising the proverbial "pushing of the envelope." Whether you find winning two Oscars a respectable feat or not, it should say something about Santaolalla's capacity to create impressive soundscapes. As far as I'm concerned, he's the Rick Rubin of Latin America, more for his talent in recognizing the true sound of an artist than a comparison of career' successes.

All in all, if you are hooked on dancing Tango, go to Anibal Troilo, Horacio Salgan or Osvaldo Pugliese--all gods of the original form--because Bajofondo will disappoint you there. But if you were stung just as deeply by Buenos Aires and like to listen to the intricate evolution of a genre, this is a place to visit.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2007
I really love this album, not only because Santolalla is a great artist but also because this album like the original Bajofondo Tango Club is like a compilation of the sound and electrotango bands of Buenos Aires. The first two cuts are instrumental and they remind me a lot of Tanghetto, especially Cristal, but the first cut "Grand Guignol" could also be a blend of San Telmo Lounge and Tanghetto. In the album you can find a little of Narcotango there too, and ofcourse Gotan Project. But Bajofondo really shines with the song "Pa Bailar" a great milonga classic. If you are new to electrotango this could be a starter, cause it is influenced by the real bands of Buenos Aires or if you are a real begginer maybe buy Gotan's La revencha del tango that's a real classic.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
love tango danced to original tango music, and this CD, although a little unconventional, the mix of voice and beat does not detract from the exciting pulse of tango music. Anyone who loves tango, should own this CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2009
A wonderful album that blends together different styles of music and features guest perfomances by various artists. I would reccomend this album to all those who love "electronic tango"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2016
Argentine Tango with a modern flavour. Some excellent tracks. Just a bit inconsistent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2008
Had I not heard Gotan Project before this I suspect I would have been a good deal more impressed. Unfortunately I had and was seduced by many references to and comparisons with Gotan and then really, really disappointed. If you want tango-electronica, go for Gotan, you won't need to bother with this.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2016
Nuevo tango - great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2015
Just fab.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.86
£3.70
£6.67

Need customer service? Click here