Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
15
3.9 out of 5 stars
Culture Vultures
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 24 June 2016
I agree with most of the excellent earlier reviews of this album, and I love it. I already have the brilliant Bright Idea and bought this on the strength it. The songs are strong and catchy and Jason Pebworth's vocals are simply excellent. Such a shame the band didn't make any more albums.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2007
Absolutely brilliant. Bright Idea was really good but this is better. From the moment you get into Radio you will be strumming your air guitar and singing along to every track. Nicely fading into the pop tune of Aint No Party. Broken Watch starts slowly but moves into a fast pace, a great tune you dont want to end. The Contortionist is great, Gorgeous and Debbies Gone are okay. Where You Are slows the pace down a bit. Little Miss Lost & Found is a bit doo-wop'ish and i found myself thinking about the Beach Boys sound, strange. Northern Girl is my favourite track, slowish and melodic but great to sing along to. Cool Cops and a good singing finish with Everybody.
This will be constantly be played while driving in the car and most always be playing on the ipod and very very loud. Enjoy
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
Not as well loved as their first album. Is not quite as catchy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2007
This CD has not been out of the cars CD player since I bought it in October. Orson are not just producers of poppy chart songs. They are a real rock band who have some very interesting influences. This album is a real mix of these with real rock riffs and catchy chorus's that you just can't help but sing along with. My favourites are Gorgeous and Cool Cops. I think tho that Radio will make the best single. If you liked Bright Idea then you will love this album even more. This band is definitely best seen live. I have seen them a couple of times now an they really blow me away. They really make the place bounce when they play and are really great guys.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2008
I loved Orsons first Album, saw them live and must say i am a die hard fan, but i must admit i was a little disapointed when this one arrived in the post.
The only really good track is Radio and Aint no party. These are great tunes but the rest of the album lacks something.

I hope they keep the good stuff coming though. Hoping and wishing for an amazing 3rd Album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2007
What can I say this album rocks :)

If you liked Bright Idea you will LOVE this album from poppy Aint No Party to the motowny Broken Watch this album is a must for anyone wanting to add to their music collection.Soft rock master pieces that make you want to sing ya heart out. This Northern Girl thinks its Gorgeous .
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2008
You can't really blame Orson for trying to come up with a sequel to "No Tomorrow", which was their first big hit in the UK, a catchy party tune that was a highlight of their debut album "Bright Idea". However, what you can blame them for is trying to come up with loads of them on the same album.

"Ain't No Party", "Gorgeous", "The Contortionist" and to some extent "Radio" all sound like "No Tomorrow v 2.0". Which isn't all bad - "Ain't No Party" had me hooked from the initial guitar tweaks, and while the other three are all still good fun, you can't help feeling that half of them would have been enough, and maybe Orson could have tried to develop their sound a bit more.

Elsewhere on the album there are some hits and misses. "Little Miss Lost and Found" is a refreshing slice of old-school rock, and the catchy funk of "Cool Cops" works nicely, but "Northern Girl", "Debbie's Gone" and "Where You Are" fell a little bit flat for me.

In all, "Culture Vultures" is worth a buy if you loved "Bright Idea", but for a more casual listener, you're better off looking to download just the one or two tracks and waiting to see what Orson do with their next album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2008
I like this album, in many ways more than Bright Idea. The songs are strong and it's all well performed. But the album must drop stars for its sound quality. I note that the album is self-produced and that's probably the mistake. I guess that they've tried to mix it to sound immediate and impressive on the radio, but listen on an iPod, in the car or at home on the stereo and there's an unnatural 'pumping' to the sound with every hit of the bass drum sucking other instruments out of the mix. This is a great shame, though decent production probably wouldn't have saved them from the obscurity into which they've plunged.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2015
I may have discovered Orson by accident at first, but it was no accident that their second album came to my attention. Having been impressed by their debut single "No Tomorrow" and then being disappointed that the rest of the album didn't match up to it, I wasn't planning on getting "Culture Vultures". That was until I discovered that the first two singles from it were pretty good and figured that maybe the album would be worth a look as I knew it had at least twice as many decent tracks as the last one.

Much like their debut "Bright Idea", "Culture Vultures" flatters to deceive, with the lead singles being so much better than the rest of the album. Admittedly, this is a much better album than their debut, but that album didn't really constitute much competition for that title. What's here is nicely crafted indie-pop with a couple of personal highlights, but this isn't an album that could be considered special on its own. Strangely, Orson's lead singer Jason Pebworth wrote a couple of tracks for the latest Sugababes album which, although they wouldn't have suited the band's sound, were far superior to anything here.

Although the overall quality of the album is greater than their debut, listening here I can't help but feel that they peaked with their debut single and haven't been able to live up to it. "Culture Vultures" is 11 tracks and 41 minutes of nothing particularly special and you're better off just downloading the highlights and leaving the album as a whole well alone.

This review may also appear, in whole or in part, under my name at any or all of www.ciao.co.uk, www.thebookbag.co.uk, www.goodreads.com, www.amazon.co.uk and www.dooyoo.co.uk
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2009
If u like indie and easy going music then this is the album for you. As good as their 1st album - if you haven't got either then buy them - their a must have.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)