Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
19
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 April 2008
Anyone who's played the previous budokai tenkaichi titles will know what to expect this time round. High octane battles in space with all your favourite characters from the series. I must admit this game captures the essence of dragon ball the best of all the dragon ball games i've played. In the story mode rather than giving lots of different battles that only last about five minutes this game decides to give you only a few stages for each saga, but lengthen them out by showing all the transformations and team changes in real time, a feature that works well and gives the game an incredibly cinematic quality. Overall if you like dragon ball z you will love this game, and you'll love it for a long time as well due to the vast amount of game modes.

My main criticism of this game is the wii conversion, something which i've been waiting what seems like an age for. I was hoping for some intuitive remote controls and the rumors of an online mode kept me anticipating this games release on wii. This was a mistake however as the wii controls are very clumbsy and frustrating and i gave up after about an hour or so and just settled with using my old gamecube controller. And the online mode is absolutely appaling. The lag is immense the speed is greatly reduced and it just seems very sloppy. There are also the usual problems with the wii's online gaiming in general like the cumbersome use of 12 digit codes to add friends to your friends list and all that.

All in all if you like dragon ball i recommend getting this game but on PS2 rather than wii the PS2 versions been out for a few months now and is only 20 quid.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2011
Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi 3 is a very fun game featuring almost every single major character to appear on the group of classic TV series, Dragon Ball, Dragon Ball Z and Dragon Ball GT, with a total of a whopping 161 characters and transformations.

The game has superb controls for all control schemes, which are the WiiMote and nunchuck, Classic controller and Gamecube controller. Players wanting a fun, in depth experience with the motion controls the Wii is famous for will love the WiiMote and nunchuck controls; whilst more hardcore, long-term gamers will prefer the GameCube controls; but I am happy to say that all 3 of them work very well.

Graphics are very good for the Wii's standards, and attack animations are spectacular. However, during cut scenes characters always have similar expressions, whatever the situation. However, this is only a tiny issue.

With tournament modes, story mode, challenge modes and a free VS mode, the game offers countless of hours of fun. However, online capabilities are very poor, which is real disappointment.

This game is the best Tenkaichi game of the 3, and is a must have for any Dragon Ball fan, as well as people not familiar to the franchise. However, story mode can be challenging, so can be frustrating at times!

Overall, this game would be almost perfect; however the lacklustre online mode keeps it back from 5/5. But it gets a very deserving 4/5.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2008
DBZ Budokai Tenkaichi 3 is probably the best game out of the whole DBZ game series to date. Colourful craphics, engaging gameplay, iconic soundtrack, and a huge roster of characters each with their own style and signature moves, are just a few things of what makes this game so appealing. I was torn if I should buy it on the Wii, or the PS2. I chose the Wii because it adds a couple of extra features that you wouldn't get on the PS2, and in my opinion adds a whole new layer of depth to the game. The graphics are slightly better than the PS2, thanks to the Wii's more capable hardware, and its clear the developers have tried to put some thought into utilising the Wii's Controls. Unfortunately, sometimes the Wii controller doesn't detect your movement properly, and you fail to supercharge your move or execute it properly without frantically repeating the action until it triggers. Another let down is the online play, it lags horrendously to the point where its unplayable. Ensure your wii is as close as it can be to your wireless router to try and minimise the latency.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 June 2014
Having previously played and loved this game on the PS2 when it first came out, I recently went on a nostalgia trip and ordered this game for the Wii as I no longer use a PS2.

What used to be a sophisticated yet simple beat-em-up with a huge roster of characters, some great little nods and winks for die-hard Dragon Ball Z fans, and a huge storyline that you could get stuck into for hours, is now reduced to waving your arms about holding the Wiimote to try and replicate a Kamehameha or a Spirit Bomb. It's gimmicky and means that 50% of the time, when you try to pull off a move, it doesn't register at all. It's extremely frustrating trying to get Goku to use a Kaioken move when all he seems to want to do is Solar Flare!

It got to the point where I slumped into the sofa in disappointed defeat. Unless you are a professional cheerleader who can memorise entire dance routines in order to pull off a combo, then I do not suggest picking this game up on the Wii. The 2 stars are mainly for the potential the game has on this console with the introduction of online play and the epic storyline, but it is simply unplayable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2010
My son and his mates love it. I had a go as well and find it better that Mario Bro. There are a lot of character to choose from. Good if you like Kung fu style of fighting game with power ball and lightening!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
I bought this as a Christmas present for my son and he loves it. The combat looks like the cartoons. My son thinks it's an amazing game and can't stop playing with that one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
AWESOME GAME.perfect but buy at CEX because there it is £18 ss4 gogeta is the fastest and strongest character.also has characters you wouldn't think would be in the game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2011
My son absolutely loves this game, the only down side was it took a bit long to arrive and he was driving me nuts asking me everyday where it was....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2012
great working product enjoyable to play. Its a long lasting game with lots of levels very fun and would recommend for any manga or dbz fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2015
Game is a classic dragon ball game..! Huge rosta of characters, covering all DB Sagas.... One of those games you will always go back to...!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)