Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
236
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 5 January 2009
For most UK fans, the major problem with this box set is of course that it hasn't been released here! Incredibly annoying seeing as it's available across Europe. I bought mine from Holland, and if you were wondering if it's worth it, then read on.

I won't try telling you all how wonderful this show is, about Lynch's influence, the writing, the characters and all the quirks... instead I can tell you about the box set as released in Europe. Now, the back of the box is in Dutch (or Germany depending where you buy it), but the front is in English, the lovely postcard set included is in English, and all the menus are in English when you play a disc.

Disc 1 is given to the Pilot episode, and includes both the European version seen originally in the UK, and the domestic US release which is more continuity friendly to the rest of the series. The only problem with the "correct" US version is that you don't get to see the wonderful "25 Years Later" sequence in the Black Lodge.

Discs 2 to 9 contain all seven episodes of Season 1 and the 22 of Season 2. Disc 9 also includes low quality versions of several lost scenes. Poor quality or not, it's interesting viewing!

Disc 10 is the Special Features. And wow. Several documentary shorts covering different aspects of the show, they can be viewed as one long documentary which I thought worked incredibly well. You have got to see the Angelo Badalamenti part for yourself to see what a wonderful guy he is, and see how he and Lynch work together so well. His one-man show of how he and Lynch formulated Laura Palmer's Theme is fantastic. Julee Cruise is also in this part of the documentary... how on Earth a woman with a voice like a crow can sing like an angel is beyond me!

As well as the documentary, there is a half-hour chat between Lynch, Madchen Amick, Kyle MacLachlan and Lynch's assistant in a smoky diner/bar which, while not particularly informative, is damn fun to watch. It's very casual, very friendly, and really nice to see them together talking. I only wish one or two other familar bar patrons would have stopped by.

The sound quality is excellent, and the mixes have thankfully removed all the tinniness that pervaded the first VHS releases.

The masters used for the picture transfers are very clean, but they are not as good as I had expected from product reviews. The masters on Season 1 are exactly the same as those used for the original Season 1 DVD release, although they have been colour timed again to match the new masters created for Season 2. David Lynch supervised two or three of the colour timing sessions to set the "temperature" and the rest was done to match. While Lynch's participation is obviously 100% welcome, I have to say that the picture sometimes appears to have had its temperature shifted too much to the red, green and brown. Warmer colours, yes, and it gives the show a very woody, autumnal tone, but it seems to be a little over-applied compared to what we've seen before. Additionally, the actual masters aren't really that great a quality. I can only hope that when the show is released on Blu-ray we get the quality they can derive from the original negatives.

Quibbles about the picture aside, it's a good set, and far better than we've seen it before.
77 comments| 238 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2010
Everyone who knows Twin Peaks, knows the story and therefore, I won't be giving a plot-by-plot account of it. There are many reviews below for this. This is merely to clear up a few points to those who are wondering about the versions and disc qualities in regards to the USA release where there were many issues in their Box Set.

Twin Peaks - Definitive Gold Box Edition (UK Version) is spread over 10-discs, with 2 discs in each thin case and disc 10 being a Bonus Disc, which is fantastic.

Disc 1: The Pilots - Original and International(Alternative Ending).

The Original Pilot is exactly that. What was originally shown on Bravo many years ago with nothing removed.

The International Pilot is the same as the Original Pilot up to 87 mins and then goes into a 21min 18sec Alternative Ending. You can just select "Alternative Ending" from the menu without watching the International Version all the way through.

The USA had issues with their boxsets, specifically with discs 4 & 6 and the menu setup etc and these are my findings for those who are still wanting to find out.

Menu - Works perfectly fine on ALL discs. Whether you "Play All" or select "Episodes".

Log lady - Works perfectly and you can play "Log Lady Intro" or "without Log Lady Intro".

Back To Main Menu - No problems with these, it is all programmed correctly.

Discs 4 & 6 - No problems with the UK Version. The USA discs 4 & 6 have now been re issued but people were wondering if these issues would materialise here on the UK Boxsets. The issues were, "scene skipping" by 15mins.

Postcards - There are no Postcards in the UK Version Boxset.

DVD Quality - Both audio and visual have been remastered for both Pilots and all Episodes and they are brilliant.
However, the "Log Lady Intro's" have not been remastered and look like old VHS Tapes.

So, for those who were wondering whether to buy the UK Edition boxset because of the bad USA boxset pressings and programming issues will not have any problems with these at all.

If you love Twin Peaks and I'm sure you do, as you are reading this review. Buy yourself a copy today.

Now, back to my Cherry Pie and Coffee : )
44 comments| 156 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2009
So glad this boxset is finally being released in the UK! My friend had this on region 1 dvd and i can tell you that it is worth every penny. You get the complete season 1 and 2 and a whole set of special features including the various versions of the pilot. The european pilot is a made for tv movie so it contains a conclusion to the episode and explaining who killed laura palmer. The ending works but it is fair to say that it doesn't have the charm or effectiveness that the whole series provides. Also included are deleted scenes which have poor sound quality (if memory serves me) but they are nice to see.

The second season is what everyone has been waiting for. It has been given the same attention that was given to season one so the transfer is really good and the picture is really clear and colourful.
For those who were too young to see the show when it was on tv (which to be fair I was) the second season wraps up the murder plot surrounding laura palmer. This results in a dip in the quality of the episodes, probably due to the fact that the writers didn't know where to take the show seeing as the premise on which it was based was forced to be solved. They do eventually get back on track leading to some brilliant episodes and one heck of a cliffhanger which fans are dying to see resolved (but unfortunately we probably will never get - someone at least make a graphic novel).
Included are the log lady introductions and new documentaries/interviews featuring most of the cast. It is refreashing to see david lynch and kyle maclachlan together talking about the show and expressing their feelings on it then and now.
Unfortunately i can't remember all the special features but i can assure u that there are loads and you won't be dissappointed with them. Included in the region 1 release were a set of limited edition collectabile postcards so hopefully they will be included aswell.

All in all the show is undoubtably one of the best ever and without it we wouldn't have alot of the shows we have today i.e. lost, x files. The gold boxset has the complete series 1 and 2 with a ton of features that will please the fans and newcomers alike.
For those who haven't seen the show, take a gamble and make this purchase. You will not be dissappointed.
0Comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
OK. A bit about the transfer. Its OK - nothing special - a bit dated. Its pretty decently priced for a 9 disc box set to be honest - so fill your boots!

As for the series - I hadn't seen this for 20 years because of the general unavailability on TV or DVD (until now). I was curious as to whether the series is as good as I remembered it - the answer is Yes and No.

Series 1 (The first 7 episodes) is magnificent. Its cool, its funny, and despite some far out moments, it all makes sense. At times it resembles a wild soap opera, but most loose ends are tied up in episode 7 (the season finale). I enjoyed it much more as an adult than I did as a teenager.

Series 2 is best described as wayward. Series 1 does it no favours by leaving so few plotlines opens. Series 2 pretty much has to start over again and it does so pretty patchily. In short it can be split into 3 parts
(a) The episodes up to and including the confession of Laura's killer
(b) The iconic, 'You had to be there' magnificent ending
(c) All the episodes in between (a) and (b)
The episodes up to the reveal of Laura's killer are pretty good, in all fairness. If you watch episode 7 (finale of season 1) and episode 8 (start of series 2) back to back, however, you will notice a drop in quality. This is principally because the far out bits in Series 2 no longer make sense and lose all their cleverness. Outside of that, Twin Peaks hasn't gone bad yet. The finale is as you remember it - memorably brilliant.

The episodes in between the killer's reveal and the finale are absolutely terrible. Way, way worse than I remember. It starts with the David Duchovny episodes (not that he is personally responsible!) which are three episodes with dreadful plotlines coexisting at the same time. However, somehow, the next episode, directed by Diane Keaton is even worse. Then the series gets killed off by two things - a focus on Windom Earl, the baddie, who is just, well, boring. And then Heather Graham arrives as Cooper's inexplicable love interest and puts in a performance so wooden it really does have to be seen to be believed. By this point you've tolerated 20 episodes of bad acting from Joan Chen, Peggy Lipton and, of course, James Marshall, but Heather takes all their bad acting, multiplies it together by a factor of ten and adds one. Whilst Windom and Heather Graham are destroying all around them like a pair of rutting Godzillas, the excrutiating plotlines are still going on. By this point pretty much all the cast appear crushed, demotivated, exasperated or bored silly. Only really Madchen Amick and Dana Ashbrook come out of Series 2 in tact. Its a car crash.

So, yes, the boxset has some incredible highs and some crushing lows. You could watch the first 7 episodes, the episode of the killers reveal and the final episode and not really miss much of what happens in between. Do that and you'll remember characters like Audrey Horne when they were interesting. Actually, in retrospect - that seems like a good idea
22 comments| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2010
Twin Peaks is wonderful, although does take a temporary but severe dip in form after Laura Palmer's killer is revealed in season 2 before picking up again for the last few episodes. Picture and sound quality are both excellent with genuinely fascinating extras and very nice packaging including some collectable postcards. I've assumed in these comments that the UK version will be the same as the European ones. The published specs seem identical.

My main reason for posting is to correct the bizarre 1* review. Despite the claims of adoration, there is no third season, although there are many who long for one. The only possible explanation I can come up with is the reviewer has confused a third season for the film 'Fire Walk with Me' which is actually a prequel to season 1. It is not included in the set but can be purchased separately. Although also highly recommended I would regard it as an optional extra (definitely buy it if you have enjoyed TP). Should be watched after season 2 rather than chronologically.
22 comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2012
Twin Peaks is by no means perfect. Its vast cast of characters contains some duds. Some of its plotlines are overly convoluted and even boring. The second series loses its way spectacularly, only recovering in Lynch's (futile) efforts to stave off cancellation of the show. But this is brilliant, brilliant television. Superficially a murder mystery, the offbeat writing, even more offbeat characters and soap opera plotlines make it a truly unique viewing experience, and one of the most influential pieces of television ever made.
Anchored by a superb performance by Kyle McLachlan as FBI Special Agent Dale Cooper, the main plot follows the investigation into the murder of a high school girl in circumstances that become increasingly difficult to understand. As the first season continues the cast and plot expand exponentially to involve the entire social fabric of a small town in the Pacific Northwest where nothing (and I mean nothing) is as it seems.
Twin Peaks was envisaged by Lynch as a soap opera, and as such he never intended to reveal the killer behind the grisly murder. However, under pressure from the network and with viewing figures dropping, dramatic revisions were made to the story in the second series. As a result, the show starts to tail off as the second series goes on. As cancellation grew near, Lynch attempted to tie off the multiple parallel plots while leaving a cliffhanger so tantalising the network would be bound to reconsider. Unfortunately they didn't. So Twin Peak remains a flawed, unfinished, frustrating, beguiling masterpiece.
Watch it.
22 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Sure, everyone has his/hers favorite TV shows, and preferences shift with seasonal mood, age and experiences. However, THIS IS TELEVISION AT HER BEST! The frivolity of the 80's gave way to the seriousness of the 90's - all painted in 50's Americana nostalgia of innocence lost.

Atmospheric, mysterious, intriguing, smart,...Words are just not capable to describe this prematurely terminated series! Every time I watch it I discover another moment, another gem I treasure. Too bad the network executives decided to, first, meddle with the plot and, when this backfired, they treated this masterpiece as filler material. No wonder ratings floundered resulting in the series eventual cancellation.

True, the 25 years are not up yet. However, I think that Agent Cooper has remained trapped in the Waiting Area long enough. Let's all petition David Lynch for a long-awaited movie or TV mini-series to tidy things up.

This particular BoxSet is everything Season 2 was not: excellent picture and sound quality AND all the missing Extras! Commercials, trailers and product spin-offs...However, note that the **movie** TWIN PEAKS: FIRE WALK WITH ME is NOT included as proclaimed in the title.
My advice: if you already own Season 1, sell it, avoid Season 2, and buy this one.

Own it and make weekends out of it. Once in a blue moon a certain magic manifests amongst us. One that never fades.
And there is always music in the air.

How do I know? A gentle giant told me.
55 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2008
I agree with the previous review the description of this boxset is very misleading. 'Fire walk with me' was the prequel movie made AFTER the second series - apparently from the ideas that would have been the third series before the "stoopid" studio management decided to can the project (are they the same stupid team who canned Firefly too?).

This collection includes both the US and international pilots. If you want 'Fire walk with me' its still available as a seperate release on dvd.

The box set is brilliant and is the same as the definitive box set listed as far as I can tell. The series kicked started the type of television series being made now - lost, heroes, x files, 24 et al. It was revolutionary and deserves a high place of honour in tv history.

Buy this set and the Fire Walk With Me film and see what all the hype was about. Well crafted, well surreal entertaining tv with plots, subplots, superb characters (including the Log lady) and dare I say it - damn fine coffee. Watch out for the cherry stalk bit - very sexy. Long Live Laura Palmer....
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2011
The series itself is everything a television show should be: funny, scary, enthralling, confusing and tense. I believe that the quality of the series isn't worth reiterating so I'll cover the repackaging. The box itself looks very good and the DVD's come with a few extras but nothing particularly outstanding. So overall, I would strongly advise others to buy this superb series but the extras for me, bar an exception or two, weren't great but it's still the best Twin Peaks collection available in the UK.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2008
The description of this boxset is misleading. 'Fire walk with me' was NOT the title of the pilot episode, it was a prequel movie made AFTER the second series.
This collection DOES include the series pilot, but the movie 'Fire walk with me' is still only available as a seperate release.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)