Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
41
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 June 2016
This saved my life! I used to walk the streets strung out as hell wondering how I would ever get off the s***. This seeped into me by a kind of osmosis via ear buds. There is so much pain in here, so much confusion, it reeks of a sweaty crotch, dirt under the fingernails grubby clothes closets and desperation. I think Warren Zevon is the only artist who has ever approached Nikki Sixx for the searing honesty and self knowing at the core of the songwriting here. James Michaels vocals walk the tightrope, he doesn't come across as a producer who sings. He captures Nikki Sixx. Hats off too to DJ Ashba for some stunning guitar work. He's restrained and economic with his playing. He doesn't dramatise JM's vocals. Any guitar histrionics an this record and wouldn't work. The drums are samples (?) and somehow they leave that element of space and distance every junkie longs for. I just finished the book and wow the records captures the ambience. Not a Motley Crue recording.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 June 2011
Never having been interested in Motley Crue, when Lies Of The Beautiful People first hit me, followed (resultant) by the brilliant This Is Gonna Hurt album, fielding to back catalogue to get this album, I thought might yield something a little weaker in presentation, seeing that it was a "soundtrack" album.
I should not have worried - this is is every bit as brilliant as the TIGH album although in a totally different way, and although there are the rockier numbers, there are also the quieter and spoken passages but it has redeemed my faith in original rock and "concepts" coming out of the States!
I know that drugs and rock n' roll are withering bedfellows and that ultimately, to get involved in the former is really a question of personal choice, but here, in words and music, the turmoil of going down the spiral of heroin abuse is laid fully bare and speaks volumes that a man can actually descend so low and make it all the way back again.
If you've heard the TIGH album, then you will definitley love this. On the other hand, if you've already got this album and have not yet dived into your hard earned to get a copy, then I cannot recommend TIGH more highly - it really is a belter!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
Very, very good indeed.
Usual top notch lyrics from Sixx, with a guitarist, DJ Ashba who'd give Mick Mars a run for his money and a vocalist, James Michael who processes a set of lungs Vince Neil could only dream of owning!
Great work fellas, lets hope this becomes a full-time venture after the last of the Motley Crue gigs this year!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
Brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2008
this album is amazing. it sits perfectly along side the book and is a testament to nikki sixx's talent as a writer and musician. it shows off perfectly the maturity of a seasoned songwriter by how tight and solid a sound the band creates in each song. life is beutiful really screams to be played at maximum volume. sixx: am should continue and create more music and not just be a one album project. they have the best sound out there right now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2016
Awesome .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2007
SIXX:A.M. is a new band featuring NIKKI SIXX (bassist) DJ ASHBA (electric guitar) and JAMES MICHAELS (vocalist). Their debut album THE HEROIN DIARIES is a soundtrack to a book written by musician / producer / designer / writer / etc, NIKKI SIXX - made most (in)famous as bassist in the American rock band MOTLEY CRUE, that came into fame in the early 80's, and very quickly took the title of the worlds most notorious and decadent rock band.

The theme of the book "HEROIN DIARIES - A YEAR IN THE LIFE OF A SHATTERED ROCKSTAR" is based on diaries written by NIKKI SIXX in the early height of his career, and drug addiction, in 1986. The book is a frightening account of the terrible effect drugs, alcohol and decadence had on him, also addressing the continuous struggle he faced dealing with, from a troubled and difficult childhood and adolescence. It holds detailed accounts from him, and those around him (family, friends, co-workers, managers, lovers, etc.) on his experiences of what he was like under the power of drug addiction, and what it feels like to be involved with such a gripping and damaging disease. (It also is a book much more unsettling, shocking and filled with rock 'n' roll debauchery, than the 2001 Bestselling publication The Dirt; Confessions of the World's Most Notorious Rock Band - written by MOTLEY CRUE.)

The album follows the book through the chapters, and continues through, each song addressing a different issue or struggle he faced in that time. The album features some incredible sad, touching and moving songs, taking you on his hard journey through addiction.

There are 13 tracks;

Track 1. X-MAS IN HELL - (Previously mentioned) A spoken track, with an insane and demented musical arrangement 'theme song' setting the scene - and heaviness - for the rest of the album.

Track 2. VAN NUYS - A slow-paced song, reflecting on his frustrations with his personal feelings and struggles with a fast moving life that seemed to go nowhere.

Track 3. LIFE IS BEAUTIFUL - A top 5 on the Billboard Rock Chart - Loud, Heavy and mind-blowing song with an incredibly catchy melody.

Track 4. PRAY FOR ME - A hectic rock track with insane melodic sounding riffs.

Track 5. TOMORROW - A slower track - still heavy with a mysterious acoustic guitar sound, lyrics telling you, you can't out run tomorrow, it will always come back around.

Track 6. ACCIDENTS CAN HAPPEN - A ballad, loud and soothing, lyrics reflecting how accidents can happen and you shouldn't give up, sometime it just takes a little time.

Track 7. INTERMISSION - Self-explanatory - a musical track ending with a small voice over saying where we have gotten in the album so far, but there's more.

Track 8. DEAD MAN'S BALLET - Very much a musical opera-sounding track, changing pace allot, like a circus - insane sounding melodies and vocal arrangements.

Track 9. HEART FAILURE - An odd song, allot of the songs are clearly songs to a story, and this is one of them, the intro and the ending - and middle have interruptions you can't really understand - there's more going on than just this one track,.. But a rocking track, once again with insane riffs.

Track 10. GIRL WITH GOLDEN EYES - A ballad, ending a bit differently paced than the beginning, a love song highlighting a love hate relationship with a beautiful pair of golden eyes, but knowing there bad for you and getting away from a damaging relationship.

11. COURTESY CALL - An aggressive song with eerie calming verses, and a loud rock chorus.

Track 12. PERMISSION - A ballad with beautiful lyrics, freeing and empowering musical arrangement, to quote the chorus "ALL OF MY DEVILS ARE FREE AT LAST AND ALL MY SECRETS REVEALED. AND YOUR PERMISSION IS ALL THAT I NEED TO HEAL..."

13. LIFE AFTER DEATH - The end song, finishing like the album began, with a rock-circus sounding theme, with a voice over, reading lyrics from the end of the book.

Personally - I LOVE the album, it's the first decent rock album to come out in a long time that isn't afraid to experiment intensely with diverse sounds and genres that older rock sounds were rich with - you can't find that fearlessness in a modern day rock album. However it is a soundtrack, and I would love to hear something from this amazing new band which lyrics aren't bound to the rules of a soundtrack -or theme of the book. I would like to see some more diverse work from them. The album ROCKS!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2007
Nikki has really excelled himself !! This album is wonderfully crafted with excelent songs. Every lyric tells the story with astounding sincerity and extreme honesty. Nikki himself holds the story together by acting as the narrator. This is way above any Crue album in terms of musicallity and sheer musicianship - not the that any of the crue's albums were anything other than faboulous. Far exceeds all expectations and will grows with each play. Buy it and listen.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
I LOVE THIS!!! Amazing album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2007
if you're a die-hard crue fan and understand how excessively they have lived their lives over the years, this is right up your street.. This work enables the listener to step into nikki's shoes and see life through the eye's of an addict... Apart from the obvious, the album is nothing short of an absolute masterpiece.. top quality musicianship from nikki and his new asociates and guaranteed audio satisfaction..enjoy..
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)