Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
32
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 May 2017
love it would use this seller again thanks again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
A+
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Band of Horses are your typical Sub Pop style band in every positive sense of the phrase. They are a slightly folky, jangly, almost quirky band that offer up some great song writing and a short, snappy album for our delight. I love the two opening tracks and will skip back to the start to play them again before continuing with the rest of the album. This has an excellent booklet (something that is sadly getting lost with the prevalence of downloads) and this has some small postcards with various photos. The band have been compared to My Morning Jacket and they are certainly reminiscent of that band in places, but they also reminded me of the excellent Death Cab for Cutie in places as well and if you like either band then you may well enjoy this album too. If you enjoy other bands of the Sub Pop stable then give this CD a try and if you also enjoy good song writing and short, punchy albums then this is worthy of your consideration.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2011
Simple, well crafted and arranged songs throughout this album, and an absolutely amazing vocalist like few others (especially these days!). The band appeal to people of all ages like no other band i know of. A fantastic cover to this album also, which looks even better on the LP format i've now got. The Manic Street Preachers have openly said there fans of these guys. Hopefully the rest of the world will wake up to them soon.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2009
Great second cd from a great band, i have both their albums & have recommended them to a few friends who have praised them too.
Not a lot of people have heard of them, but i would watch out for them in the future. Brilliant!!!
You have to buy this for 'Is There A Ghost' track alone, absolutely wonderful track.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
great band, this is probably their best album, downloaded it a few years ago but vinyl is the way to go with this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
One of the most wonderful things about music is that if you miss something first
time around it'll still be there somewhere, poised to pounce, just around a corner.

Everything you never heard waiting for an accidental witness
and so many corners to turn in a lifetime.

For The Wolf, Band Of Horses' second album 'Cease To Begin',
is a very fine example.
As it happens a very, very fine example indeed.

The ten songs in this collection are spun into sparkling reality by
Mr Bridwell and his able cohorts with skillfully subdued aplomb.

Mr Bridwell's plaintive and strangely affecting voice is the
solid raison d'etre for my enthusiasm.
It is a truly beguiling instrument.

The songs are all good.
Melodically strong, uncluttered, sympathetically and efficiently performed.

'Is There A Ghost' is a strong opening track.
It's wistful opening subject evolving into a powerful two chord thrashing coda.

'No One's Gonna Love You' is another cracking tune.
The quietly jangling guitar and unobtrusive organ frame the vocal perfectly.

'Detlef Schrempf' is simply stunning. Bridwell's haunting voice
again soaring out above the relative simplicity of the song's construction.
The chorus is heartrendingly beautiful.

The hokey humour of 'The General Specific' makes for a lightweight
and amusing barn dancing interlude before the transitional bars of 'Lamb On The Lam'
launch us into the magnificent emotional mayhem of 'Islands On The Coast'.

Country flavours emerge again in 'Marry Song'. The vocal harmonies are delightful.

'Windows Blues' is another classy melodic highlight and worthy closing track.

There really isn't an ounce of fat or gristle on this great little album.
It's all good, lean prime beef and The Wolf, for one, is very happy to
have found his way to the feast.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
I bought this album after seeing them at greenman festival in Brecon Wales with the backdrop of the welsh mountains and what an awesome setting to first hear this band. The album is great and the cd and download feature through amazon cloud brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2012
I only heard short samples of songs on CD so I thought I would take a chance on buying it turns out it was a fab CD so I have now listed them to my favourite bands and I'm hoping to buy more of their music .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
Great album it is a must own album definatley there best album and 7 of the tracks were played live on the current uk tour dates which goes to prove the band think it is there strongest album to date
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£4.74

Need customer service? Click here