Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 December 2013
In fairness - it does what it says on the tin - so to speak.

It locks and then freely spins so no one can undo your GPS mount - but its size can restrict the amount of movement in the GPS ball mount arm and therefore the ideal position of your GPS.

For a large adventure style bike - this may not be a problem as lots of different mount positions are available and these bikes look kind of chunky anyway. However - the restricted handle bar and under windshield space on my K1300s made this way too awkward to use and I gave up.

I've since seen a security screw option, (star head with centre pin in recess, ) that can be used to replace the smaller standard thumb screw that comes with GPS positioning arms - which is a far better idea in my humble opinion - as you can do them up nice and tight and there is no thumb screw of any size to get in the way or be accidentally knocked.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
it came with wrong key.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2009
Bit bulky ... not a problem though as it would be evident to a thief that this makes a GPS secure once on the bike
It is a very good deterent to thieves. I personally recommend it and I'm glad I bought it. It is inexpensive and it gives very good security. It doesn't make things 100% secure as one could always undo the lower clamp which fits on the handlebars so give this some thought once you have fitted this lock, eg use thiefproof nuts where the spanner can only turn the nut in one direction or mess the thread up, so the nut can't be turned off
Recommended
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2010
Does exactly what is says on the tin.
Provides that additional piece of mind to safe guard the bracket - doesn't have to be used with a Zumo, can be used with ANY RAM mount arm.
Just remove the original twist nut and replace it with this. Installed in seconds.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2011
The security Lock works fine & does what it's designed to do - that is, to put off someone trying to remove your valuable garmin mount - it replaces the butterfly handle which is normally fitted but which could be easily unscrewed. Please note that this helps towards protecting your mount from being lifted and not your Sat Nav - you need to keep an eye on the sat nav or take it off the mount yourself for safe keeping when away from your bike. The lock itself is rather large and at first was a bit stiff when I tried to turn the key initially to operate the lock - however after a couple of attempts, there was no problem. Once its on you lock it and forget about it. The lock is able to rotate freely which may be a bit annoying - but as my'n is behind my screen then theres no real issue. If it deters the thieves then this has to be a device worth considering - I would recommend it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2011
If ever there was a simple solution this is it. Take of the wing nut on your Garmin bracket screw on the lock and hand tighten. Now lock with the key and your unit is secure, as the meercats say "Simples"
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2015
This item turned out to be a lot bigger than I thought it would be.Without going out to the garage to measure it, it looks around 2" across. I had to swap the short RAM arm on my satnav for a medium arm in order to get at the keyhole when the lock is on the bike. In short, this lock is very bulky. Be aware that this lock only prevents your mount from being stolen and not your satnav. In truth, if someone really wants to steal my mount, and they have enough time, they can just saw it off or undo the handlebar bolts. Let's be fair though, if someone really wants your carburetors they'll have them. Most things on a motorbike are nickable and even whole Harleys disappear into white vans in the night. In short, this will improve security but be aware that this lock costs more than the mount that it is protecting. (The mount for my Garmin Zumo is £20). On point - Garmin's website lists the price of this item as being £13. Why?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 29 June 2011
It certainly looks like it'll do exactly what you'd expect... although I imagine the actual keyhole 'lock' itself wouldn't faze a determined criminal as it would probably not withstand a reasonably beefy flat headed screwdriver and a short sharp blow from your everyday claw hammer. However, it was easy to fit (the lock was quite stiff on first use but loosened with a few goes) and it is visually 'chunkier' than the pictures make it look... all giving the impression (to the opportunist 'tea leaf' at least that it's not worth the effort).

Hey, It's sensible money so it's difficult to fault. And I totally recommend it if, like me, you leave your cradle on the bike pretty much all the time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2010
A good design that enables you to leave your sat nav dock safely on the bike. Fits all Ram mounts even though advertised as being for a Garmin Zumo. Excellent price too, they are much more expensive from the USA.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2010
Very easy to use, just replaces the existing lock nut. It will not stop the determined thief but it will hinder the removal hopefully until someone notices whats going on! Great seller with very fast delivery.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)