Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
106
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 February 2015
I first saw this film as a kid in the 80s on BBC2, it quickly became one of my favourites, from the haunting music used when revealing the landings at Gallipoli to the suicidal attacks upon the Turks. The pointlessness of orders and command is evident in this film. Most films are normally anti-war, and rarely propaganda or glorifying it. This is anti-war too. The film quality and sound is good and was filmed by Australian film makers, so I guess on a budget, but it was still riveting to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
This film is extremely moving and heart wrenching, yet amusing and entertaining. A must see for anyone interested in building up a picture of the First World War.
Not sure why this particular version is called collectors edition, it contains nothing other than the film! But for the price it's well worth a buy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
This is a gorgeous film that just gets better with each viewing. The characters are (generally) rounded and interesting and it looks stunning, which makes the climax all the more affecting.

I was happy with the packing and quick delivery too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
Film jumped about at start and finish.
Story O.K. If true, made me so annoyed with general who insisted on going ahead without listening to subordinates. And, cowardly in not going to see for himself. Rather like the leaders safe behind the lines at The Somme. who wouldnt go and see what ordinary folk had to do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2011
I first saw this film when it originally came out and thought it was very well done. I recently bought it for my husband as we missed it on TV and he'd said he'd like to see it again. We both sat and watched it and still think it is a very good, beautifully shot film about the disastrous battle of Gallipoli and the friendship that builds up between the two young men who enlist - one of whom is Mel Gibson in one of his first films. Our 25 year old son enjoyed it too. Well worth watching.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
I have not seen this movie for many years and decided to buy it as I remembered being quite affected at the time of seeing it.
Brilliant storyline, superb acting and location and Peter Weir's direction seems to bring out the best.

A very watchable movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2009
I remember taking the day off school when this film originally came out in the cinema. It had an enormous impact on me so I was delighted to discover it on DVD and watch it again with my son who was equally moved by the futility of war and pointless sacrifice of such young men who were only a few years older than he is.

While there are some scenes that drag a little bit, overall the movie is beautifully shot, but it is the story it tells that is paramount here. Mel Gibson has never looked more noble and Mark Lee showed such great promise with his emotional portrayal.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2004
Gallipoli is a beautiful film that should appeal to lovers of drama, war, friendship and to all women, as it stars a young Mel Gibson and an equally good looking Mark Lee!
The film delves deeply into the friendship of two men as they head to war and ,unknowingly, the massacre at Gallipoli. As you feel so close to the two young men the end is particually tragic.
The villains of this film are not the Turks, but the relentless officers who would happily sacrifice men, but stay safely behind lines themselves. By the end of the film you feel like wringing their necks!
There are some scenes which are really effective and must be given credit to Peter Weir for, such as the first assault of the Australians on the Turks, which envolves no glimse of battle, but just the faces of Mel Gibson and Mark Lee against a background of a setting sun and hurriedly made graves, with scrappy crosses, as they watch the horror unfold and the boys image of war being an adventure quickly vanishing from there faces in the bloodshed. The final scene as the men realise their fate and write their last letters, leaving tresures to their loved ones, is moving without being sentimental and goes well with the desperate pictures of Mel Gibson's runner. Although the final image of the film is terrible, it is not that which haunts you the most after watching the film, but rather the thought of the terrible waste of lives in pointless warfare.
This film is to sad to watch to often, but that is really its only major fault.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2016
Worth a look, many Brits may think its sentiments are are anti Pom, it isnt that, it just reflects the attitude of many WW1 diggers who pathologically mistrusted the British staff officers , who the ANZACS saw as buffoons!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 25 September 2005
Among the abundance of research material I have accumulated over the years, here is a brief commentary which is relevant to this film. I would be grateful to anyone who can identify the source. "The generals thought they could do the job in three days. Land on the Gallipoli peninsula, clear it of Turks and disable the seaward defences. With a bit of luck it could all be accomplished in 72 hours. They failed too, and at a much greater cost in lives than the naval assault. For 259 days, from April 1915 to January 1916, the allied forces hung on to their toeholds on Gallipoli. A total of about 500,000 men were landed there over the course of the campaign and almost 300,000 of them became casualties. For the Turks it was a great victory and marked the time they successfully stood against the greatest empire the world had ever seen. It threw up Mustapha Kemal, an obscure divisional commander, and propelled him on the road that would lead him to become the 'Father of the Nation.' For the Australians it would provide the sacrifice that tempered their newly-forged nation in blood. For the British it was just another fiasco in a war full of them." I also want to acknowledge Ernest Raymond's novel Tell England, (subtitled A Study In A Generation), published in Great Britain in 1922 and now out-of-print. Anthony Asquith directed an earlier film version (1931) of Raymond's novel, Battle of Gallipoli.
Directed by Peter Weir and co-starring Mel Gibson (Frank Dunne) and Mark Lee (Archy), this film first focuses on Frank and Archy's childhood and youth, then shifts its attention to Gallipoli where so many of their eager and courageous comrades perished during combat with Turkish forces. So many lost their lives, to a significant extent because they were poorly-prepared for and then poorly-led in combat. To Weir's credit, he allows the narrative to unfold without (or so it seems to me) imposing his own political opinions. Some have referred to this film as being "anti-war." They may be correct but I prefer to view Gallipoli as an indictment of morally corrupt and incompetent leaders who betray the trust of youth, waste their lives to achieve unrealistic objectives, and then wash their filthy hands in the blood of those whom they have sent to their death.
The acting is consistently outstanding but even more impressive to me is the cinematography. Credit Russell Boyd with capturing a series of images which have an impact I lack the eloquence to describe. They simply must be seen. One is of naked young soldiers swimming beneath the surface of a harbor under attack and as they struggle to escape death, the water becomes pink. (I wonder if Spielberg had that scene in mind when he planned the water-level photography during the first action sequence in Saving Private Ryan.) Weir co-authored the spare but literate screenplay with David Williamson. Well-done indeed. Those who share my high regard for this film are urged to check out All Quiet on the Western Front (1930), Attack! (1956), Paths of Glory (1957), and The Big Red One and Breaker Morant (both released in 1980). The next time political and military leaders are seriously thinking about placing young men and women in harm's way, they should first be required to sit down and watch all of these films one after another...and then after taking a brief break, see them again.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)