Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
24
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£13.99+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2013
This film taken from a play originally, has not been on TV very often here. So I searched around and found a DVD, as Jack Lemmon and Walther Matthau are captivating in it. Most of the action takes place in one room, a press room in a police station, so ideal for theatre. The quality of the print is OK but the actors and actresses make up for it. This is comedy at it's best if you like JL and WM. The writing is brilliant and the story is easy to follow, with lots of tension as JL is supposed to be going off with his fiance and leaving the reporting business, but convinced to write one last story on an escaped convict.
The interaction between the two lead actors is superb, but the supporting cast is also well picked and adds to the story.
Worth having, especially if you have not seen the film.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2012
I have noticed from other reviews that some customers seem to have bought duff versions of this movie. It is essential to obtain the correct version of this DVD. The region 2 version with the Danish cover* and a selection of Scandinavian language subtitles is fine. The original soundtrack is untouched. It is possible to play it without subtitles and there is no problem with the print quality. Definitely worth buying as this is a classic.

*says:
Jack Lemmon og
Walter Matthau
i en Billy Wilder Film
RYD FORSIDEN
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2007
This comedy is a delectable satire by Wilder of the newspapers' world (that he knew very well, having worked for newspapers at the beginning of his career in Germany). The copy sold here is nonetheless of a very bad quality, strongly noticeable on a large screen. The cellophane wrap bears the words "printed in Mexico". An inquiry regarding the reasons of such mention would be useful.
44 Comments| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2015
Terrific
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2012
Out of date technology, macho newsmen, underhand tricks, and not a single visual effect in sight, just great acting, witty lines and a splendid way to pass an evening. Or any other time of day, come to that.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2016
First class service from the supplier. Arrived well within the given time frame. Well packaged, including ribboned bow and a very picturesque postcard from 'Olomouc'.
The film:
This plays with English sound and titles.
Good quality transfer of a classic movie. Matthau and Lemmon once again well paired to deliver the story in their own style.
If you enjoy their films, add this to your collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
a very good movie, not perjaps wilder at his best but an accurate representation of a 1928 Broadway classic - recommended for all film buffs
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2011
The 'blurb' said "don't worry that the cover is in german. The film is in English". However, the film is in German and we can't seem to change the language. Absolute failure of a purchase.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
The version I received was a Spanish version with subtitles. I thought I'd need to send it back but with a bit of guesswork I found a menu option to revert to an English soundtrack. A fantastic film I'd not seen for many years and worth the small amount of hassle in translating the menu. The print quality of my copy was entirely acceptable.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
This has always been one of my favourite films and I would recommend it to anyone; especially if they're feeling a bit under the weather
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)