Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
63
4.7 out of 5 stars
The Buddha Of Suburbia
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 12 June 2017
Here, Bowie keeps it tight. Nine great tracks (ignore the superfluous reprise of the title track) leave little room for the quality to drop. A constant problem wth Bowie's output in the CD era was bloat and the lack of precise quality control that the 35-40 minutes of vinyl demanded.

If this had popped up in 78 it would be hailed as a classic.

As it is, it is the one Bowie album post 1983 that is as good as his classic run of albums from 70-83.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2017
Great album from Bowie, one of my favs!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Wow - a true Bowie output.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2016
Wonderful. I bought this for my husband as it was the only album of David Bowie that he didn't have. He loves it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2004
Buddah is the Bowie album that got away. promoted purely as a soundtrack album when it was first released only die-hard Bowie fans went for it. This album has some of the best songs he has ever written and to this day ranks in my top 5 all time Bowie albums. Give it a listen just once and your hooked!
11 Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2007
It's not really important (though interesting) that this album started life as a soundtrack.

What you find when you spin this disc is that it's a very, very satisfying album which is located at a large remove from David Bowie's other work but is not unrelated. Several of the tracks are largely instrumental. Bowie's lovely vocals seem more like another layer of musical information rather than having any particular literal meaning. Pianist Mike Garson makes a simply electric contribution on a track called "South Horizons." It might be the best bit of jazz ever performed by a non-jazz musician (older readers will remember Garson from Bowie`s 70s period.) The tension of his playing is astonishing and recalls something of Lalo Schifrin's controlled force. Multi-instrumentalist Erdal Kizilcay (who worked on "Never Let Me Down" amongst other albums) contributed much to this record too and his percussion deserves wider attention.

It really is hard to say quite what this album is. It's not really a soundtrack since the tracks are able stand to alone and are more than musical fragments. You don't need to have read the book or seen the television programme to appreciate it either. It's not really pop, rock or jazz but contains elements of all of these. It's lush, rich and low-key but not soporific. There's a huge amount of life in this album but it won't blow your woofers and tweeters. According to the liner notes,Bowie produced this in about a week or so; the freshness is palpable. The main criticism of the album might be the unnecessary repetition of the title track which starts and closes the album. The difference between the two versions is nugatory. The song "Strangers When We Meet" made a second appearance on the album "Outside" a few year later. This was presumably because Bowie reckoned nobody heard it the first time. The thing is that the version on "Buddha Of Suburbia" is rather better. What a shame this album came out at the same time as more easily-marketable "Best Of..." collection. Jazz and electronica fans as well as Bowie-philes will appreciate this record. I seldom give five stars but this record deserves all of them.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2009
Well, the title's a cheat as it's the only studio album to have never reached the Top 75. However, this album is awesome beyond comprehension. Drawing from influences that stretch from Bromley to Bombay, this is a collection that no-one should overlook or underestimate.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 March 2017
As much as I loved The Buddha of Suburbia, and as much as I love David Bowie, I'm afraid this album doesn't really do it for me.

The title track is good but other than a couple of other notable exceptions (Sex And The Church and Strangers When We Meet) I find this a bit insipid.

That's not to say that I hate it - I certainly don't - it's just not one of my favourite Bowie albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2007
And quite literally, I was. As a Bowie fan for 30 years I'd never been able to get hold of this album so it was with great excitement that I saw it being re-released. I knew the title track was epic from the Best of Bowie DVD. This music from start to finish is beautiful. It has everything, soaring saxes, piano and guitar, electronica - you name it. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. Thank-you once again, David Jones - you are a genius.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2007
It is so pleasing to find this re-released and afforded the dignity it deserves with a snazzy new cover in place of that botched one showing images from the BBC TV drama that inspired this collection.
'Buddha of Suburbia' is grown from a soundtrack to the superb story by Hanif Kureshi that was adapted for television in the early-90s. As a Bowie album it was overlooked for two reasons: David had already released his first solo album in six years -'Black Tie White Noise'- the same year and the decision to market it as a soundtrack meant that it lost out on the sales it richly deserved.
'The Buddha of Suburbia' is the great forgotten Bowie album. It is rather a quiet affair in many ways - a minimalist mixture of ambient soundscapes, delicate electro-pop and haunting ballads, including the delightful title track (imagine Bowie imitating Suede circa 1992 imitating him circa 1972 and you'll get the idea).
While no one would suggest this is quite up there with 'Hunky Dory', 'Ziggy Stardust', or 'Low', it is the author's personal favourite and an album that yields new layers with every listen. Beautiful.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Reality
£5.55

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)