Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
10
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 October 2009
I will not go in depth of describing the qualities of these films, as this has been done by many people before me and probably in a much more coherent and descriptive way.

However, I will say that although the films were shot quite a number of years ago, they are as necessary today as they were when they were shot.

Please watch these films, but also please take your time and just immerse yourself in what these films show. The imagery is stunning, and some of the things that you realise about the world, about other people, about yourself are just unique.

Along with the Qatsi trilogy, they stand as landmarks in the history of film-making, creating a genre of their own and being the grandfathers of a lot of films you see today (such as the recent film "HOME", available on YouTube).
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2009
Baraka - a chance purchase while looking for a DVD. This is the most artistic and breathtaking photography I have ever come across, the music chosen to accompany the magical journey through our planet's wonders, is the most evocative accompaniment and sets the aural scene perfectly. Buy it now and become a fan of this captivating journey without words.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2009
For this item i have just a comment...A truly "Masterpiece"...this is not a movie its a audio and visual experience, don't think twice. Your life will change after you watch this...Also Check the Qatsi trilogy and Anima Mundi,another great works from Ron Fricke.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
I was interested in this as it was advertised as a more ambitious version of the superb Koyaanisqatsi & Powaqqatsi films which I think are excellent and so well designed and produced. Baraka & Chronos, although visually stunning in some parts just don't cut the mustard in the way those earlier films do though. They lack the superb and wonderfully synchronised Philip Glass soundtrack and without that they become a rather weak spinoff of the original as far as I see. If you would like to see 'Scientific American' images on video then this is it, but if you are looking for great stuff, stick with the originals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2009
Baraka will send shivers down your spine. It will restore and destroy your faith in humanity in one sitting. Outstanding!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2010
Baraka is a stunning film both visually and in terms of soundtrack. It will open your eyes to new wonders and culture and is beautiful on the eye. Chronos looks like the dress rehearsal and is less polished in many ways. Given the excellent value of this box set, I would highly recommend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2014
These guys made their own 70mm film camera and took it [literally] all over the world capturing eye candy in style.

Buy the highest quality version you can afford.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2015
enjoyed worth watching
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
didn't enjoy this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2011
I loved the image of both documentaries, excellent sound framework and fabulous photography. Without a doubt most have any video library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)