Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Amazon Music Unlimited Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
7
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 December 2008
I can't say enough good things about the criminally underrated Brian Jonestown Massacre. I first got in to the band around 4 years ago when a friend made a copy of this album for me. On first hearing I was completely blown away - and astonished that a band of this calibre had almost passed me by.
From the psychedelic swirl of opener 'Supersonic' through to the tear-jerking, balls-out honesty of 'Devil May Care (Mom & Dad Don't)', via such classics as cheeky two fingered salute to The Dandy Warhols 'Not If You Were The Last Dandy On Earth' and the Donovan-esque 'Servo', this is Anton & Co. at their blistering best.
Featuring the classic Jonestown line-up (including über laid-back Joel Gion and would-be front man Matt Hollywood), this album is unusually tight and polished - purists may argue that this goes against the band's ramshackle DIY ethos, but that's what makes this album so damn accessible. 'Give It Back' opened the door for me to invest in the entire BJM back catalogue, but this is one of two albums I find myself coming back to again and again (the other being the sublime Bravery, Repitition and Noise). Of the thirteen albums to choose from, this is a perfect place to start for anyone new to the band... man are you guys in for a treat.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2004
... your time's up!
I'm no longer jealous of all the fans that could see you live on stage in the sixties and seventies. Or all the other great bands that I should mention here. For The Brian Jonestown Massacre must have listened to them all and learned what it's all about.
Their musical influences range from the sitar playing Beatles to the psychedelic Stones; from the whining Church to the carefree Monkees; from Spiritualized-at-their-most-cynical to Pink Floyd-taking-themselves-too-seriously.
So, how come the BJM aren't regarded as a veteran rock band yet in spite of their 11 excellent releases? Is it because frontman Anton Newcombe is better remembered for his on-stage antics than for his beautiful songs? Then boycott his concerts but buy his CDs.
'Give it back!' is not the worst one to start with. It has the satirical 'Not If You Were The Last Dandy on Earth' (a reference to Newcombe's friends and enemies, The Dandy Warhols), dreamy 'Super-Sonic' with the nightmarish intro and tambourine-led 'Malela' with the sad lyrics but happy melody, perhaps the most beautiful song on 'Give it back!'. Mick Jagger move over. Your time's up.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2006
What can I say? This band is truly divine. Every album of theirs that I have bought is definitely worth its money. They have become my favourites displacing Pink Floyd. I love them.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2006
I only recently got into the Brian Jonestown Massacre, which is a shame. Been missing out. I've heard most of their catalogue now and this is one of the best. Basically, you get the typical jangly, expansive psychedelic sound, found on most of their albums. This time there's spurts of flamenco and county thrown into the mixer too. Some great tunes in there. It does tail off a little towards the end but just when you think it's all over the final track comes along and turns into four different tunes, a couple of which are really doing it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
Classic BJM, on vinyl, what could be better? Dig!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2014
Fantastic album by an incredible band
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2015
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.93
£9.93

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)