Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
41
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2016
I had my doubts before I picked this album up, I was already a fan of System Of A Down and the single "Empty Walls" sounded too similar to that band's music. I was wrong, the lyrics are great this is a thinking man's music. Serj grooves through track to track with songs about 9/11, prescription drugs, and how money corrupts people. Not only did Serj sing, he also made the music which is filled with more piano and softer instruments than S.O.A.D.'s music contains. The rhythm and beats of each song are also very catchy and easy to bob your head to after hearing a few times. So even if you're not a fan of S.O.A.D. I would still recommend you sit down and listen to this album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the brilliant new album from Serj and it is outstanding. It has his usual cutting, intelligent lyrics, backed up by some amazing music. This is all the more impressive as it is written, engineered, produced and mainly played all by Serj. All the tracks are great and get better with repeated listening, although 'Empty Walls' and 'Honking Antelope' are particular favourites for me. This limited edition version is well worth the extra money. You get the initial superb album, an additional bonus CD, the case is a hardback book which has a great selection of illustrated lyrics (by the same artist as Serj's 'Cool Garden' book) and some more poetry. You also get a limited edition member card which gives you access to a Serj Tankian deluxe website. You can't get much better than that! Highly recommended, for the music alone but the package makes this extra special. If you like SOAD you'll like this, simple as that. A top effort from Serj and so good to have him back in my music listening life!

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2007
For those of you who thought he couldn't cut the mustard on his own.... well, this is simply a great big 2 fingers in your face.

A pretty darn good effort by Serj, maintaining that wonderful ability of SOAD to flip instantly from beautiful melody to a crazy thrash fest. Some superb songwriting on his own, and such a talent in playing many of the instruments himself.

So what if it sounds like the next SOAD. That's a bloody good thing.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2007
Serj Tankian has channeled his thoughts an emotions many times before through poetry (Cool Gardens) and as part of System Of A Down. In this album, we see Serj once again voice his opinions on society and more. Anyone who appreciates the time and thoughts that an artist such as Serj displays in their music will love this album. Another masterpiece from a brilliant mind.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2008
The one thing that System of a Down posses is the best rock voice of an age in Serj Tankian. Perhaps in the light of the bands last album being mainly the work of the rock pixie Daron Malkian, Serj decided to clear the decks of his own material. The first thing I'd say is that it is difficult to give this a context away from System as it bears resemblance in many places to their work. In a strange way, I feel it lacks the pieces of oddball madness so often injected into the band by Daron.

As a collection on its own, its a peak, then a trough then a peak. The album starts brightly Empty Walls is a fine choice of single and showcases Serj's vocals perfectly. Lyrically it's familiar ground too with modern propaganda, news and governments bearing the brunt of much of Serj's words. More or less up to and including Saving us, the going is good. The odd twinkle of piano does hint at a different sound but you know the script by now.

Then in the middle, the trilogy of averageness brings things down a quality notch on Sky is Over, Baby and Honking Antelope. The last song nearly saves itself with some good rhythm work at the end, but this is when the album fires back onto form. Lie Lie Lie is a really good melodic pop song, and is followed by the albums most eclectic track Praise The Lord and Pass The Amunition. Full of mad mumbo jumbo and bizarre sounds this leads us nicely onto Beethovens (insert naughty ladies part word here). Once of the heavier and better tracks on the record before the title track leads us out.

Overall, not bad, though the sequencing probably lets this record down. Perhaps 10 tracks would have sufficed to keep the quality consistent. That said, this is not a bad album by any stretch of the imagination, it's just not essential.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2007
So he says, and so it would be. Serj Tankian- revolutioonary addict and political maestro- seems now to have resigned himself to the fact that there is no more time for subtrlety. SOAD were hardly the subtlest of bands, but here Serj takes this lack of subtlety to new levels. The songs are blunt and simple, but by no means stupid, and by every word powerful.
touching string with the twinklling of pianos often opens his heart rending songs on this album. he does seem to have moved on from the blunt brutality of system of a down and lost a certain touch of eccentricity. none of his songs are irrelevant madness like say, vicinity of obscenity off hypnotize, they all have their own purpose, more often than not politics. even when the songs aren't specifically about politics, they are about the politics of love instead. Despite the seeming reptitive of message, the songs are not one and all the same... except sky is over and honking antelope but i digress.
this really is a great album, it deserves to sell, simply because serj remains resolutely political and strong. he keeps up his message while so many around just fall into the trap of love songs. if youd like to hear heavy political whorling worlds of music, then buy this album, you'll find not much better than this... although i do miss his weirder musical concoctions, which only really show themselves on lie lie lie...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
Having been a SOAD fan I was anxious to see how Serj would be without the band, honestly there are some brilliant songs on this album that rival some of the earlier band's stuff. It isn't quite as fast paced which can be a plus or minus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2008
This exceeds my expectations of this album tenfold. All of the songs have amazing lyrics and they are all put it into amazingly catchy tunes. Also if you get the chance, watch the videos for the songs. Try to find the 'empty walls' video. It's a must see!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the brilliant new album from Serj and it is outstanding. It has his usual cutting, intelligent lyrics, backed up by some amazing music. This is all the more impressive as it is written, engineered, produced and mainly played all by Serj. All the tracks are great and get better with repeated listening, although 'Empty Walls' and 'Honking Antelope' are particular favourites for me. If you like SOAD you'll like this, simple as that. A top effort from Serj and so good to have him back in my music listening life!

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2012
Awsome , fantastic , beautiful , genius , poetic , amazing and other gorgeous words ... 5 stars for u Serj this album was a masterpiece ( can't u just tell I'm totally obsessed with this fabulous man )
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.94
£10.38
£8.14

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.