Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now



TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 March 2016
I had my doubts before I picked this album up, I was already a fan of System Of A Down and the single "Empty Walls" sounded too similar to that band's music. I was wrong, the lyrics are great this is a thinking man's music. Serj grooves through track to track with songs about 9/11, prescription drugs, and how money corrupts people. Not only did Serj sing, he also made the music which is filled with more piano and softer instruments than S.O.A.D.'s music contains. The rhythm and beats of each song are also very catchy and easy to bob your head to after hearing a few times. So even if you're not a fan of S.O.A.D. I would still recommend you sit down and listen to this album.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 December 2007
This is the brilliant new album from Serj and it is outstanding. It has his usual cutting, intelligent lyrics, backed up by some amazing music. This is all the more impressive as it is written, engineered, produced and mainly played all by Serj. All the tracks are great and get better with repeated listening, although 'Empty Walls' and 'Honking Antelope' are particular favourites for me. This limited edition version is well worth the extra money. You get the initial superb album, an additional bonus CD, the case is a hardback book which has a great selection of illustrated lyrics (by the same artist as Serj's 'Cool Garden' book) and some more poetry. You also get a limited edition member card which gives you access to a Serj Tankian deluxe website. You can't get much better than that! Highly recommended, for the music alone but the package makes this extra special. If you like SOAD you'll like this, simple as that. A top effort from Serj and so good to have him back in my music listening life!

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2012
Awsome , fantastic , beautiful , genius , poetic , amazing and other gorgeous words ... 5 stars for u Serj this album was a masterpiece ( can't u just tell I'm totally obsessed with this fabulous man )
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2007
Serj Tankian has channeled his thoughts an emotions many times before through poetry (Cool Gardens) and as part of System Of A Down. In this album, we see Serj once again voice his opinions on society and more. Anyone who appreciates the time and thoughts that an artist such as Serj displays in their music will love this album. Another masterpiece from a brilliant mind.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2007
So he says, and so it would be. Serj Tankian- revolutioonary addict and political maestro- seems now to have resigned himself to the fact that there is no more time for subtrlety. SOAD were hardly the subtlest of bands, but here Serj takes this lack of subtlety to new levels. The songs are blunt and simple, but by no means stupid, and by every word powerful.
touching string with the twinklling of pianos often opens his heart rending songs on this album. he does seem to have moved on from the blunt brutality of system of a down and lost a certain touch of eccentricity. none of his songs are irrelevant madness like say, vicinity of obscenity off hypnotize, they all have their own purpose, more often than not politics. even when the songs aren't specifically about politics, they are about the politics of love instead. Despite the seeming reptitive of message, the songs are not one and all the same... except sky is over and honking antelope but i digress.
this really is a great album, it deserves to sell, simply because serj remains resolutely political and strong. he keeps up his message while so many around just fall into the trap of love songs. if youd like to hear heavy political whorling worlds of music, then buy this album, you'll find not much better than this... although i do miss his weirder musical concoctions, which only really show themselves on lie lie lie...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2007
For those of you who thought he couldn't cut the mustard on his own.... well, this is simply a great big 2 fingers in your face.

A pretty darn good effort by Serj, maintaining that wonderful ability of SOAD to flip instantly from beautiful melody to a crazy thrash fest. Some superb songwriting on his own, and such a talent in playing many of the instruments himself.

So what if it sounds like the next SOAD. That's a bloody good thing.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2008
This exceeds my expectations of this album tenfold. All of the songs have amazing lyrics and they are all put it into amazingly catchy tunes. Also if you get the chance, watch the videos for the songs. Try to find the 'empty walls' video. It's a must see!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 November 2007
Serj Tankian is a huge talent waiting to be exposed to the international superstardom, he enjoyed with `System of A Down'. He is very political one minute and emotive the next. His songs bring in a new breed of "sexy rock". You lose yourself in each song, the tempo of the album is very much up, but is littered with inspiring viewpoints throughout.

"The Unthinking Majority" is a stunning single, other excellent tracks on this album include the opening hard rocking "Empty Walls", "Feed Us" (stunning), "Baby" (ONE STUNNING ROCK LOVE SONG) and "Lie Lie Lie" (undoubtedly the next single)

All in all `Elect The Dead' is a valuable asset to any rocker, emo, or grunge lover. Some very truthful messages about the world in general and some poignant personal messages evoking too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2007
I'm afraid I totally disagree with Sean. This album is certainly hard to understand and takes on a very basic form, however If you listen a few times over you begin to notice where Serj is coming from with this. He is trying to express his strong opinions of the world, especially the conflicts in the middle east through a simple, yet powerful means...If you look through the lyrics you begin to see just how brilliant this album is and you may just have a totally new opinion on this album when you next listen. I highly recommend this, musically its 4 stars, but the overall package means It definitely deserves 5. This is a whole lot different from the music of System of Down.. Don't expect anything similar..

Jesse
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2008
i got this cd after reading a review in kerrang (uk rock mag)Elect the Dead but not liking system of a down music i thought what the hell i would give it a good go.

I was shocked to find serj absolutely growing on me so i will give soad another chance to see if i like them, so even if you don't like soad give serj a fair chance as i did and loved it

my favorite track is Unthinking Majority
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Scars On Broadway
£10.33
Mezmerize
£8.15

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)