Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Christmas with Elvis Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 19 November 2017
Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2017
Brilliant, did exactly what I expected it to and I am wearing my new look jeans again. Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2011
I was bought a very nice hoody for Christmas but it has hung in the wardrobe as it is white and that is not really my thing.

However one packet of Dylon dye later and I now have a grey hoody which is more my thing.

Does exactly what it says on the tin! And gave my washing machine a good clean.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 August 2015
I worked in an art and craft supplies shop for ten years and often had to explain to customers how to dye clothes using this and similar products. After trying it out myself for the first time recently, I found it works just as well as I thought it did.

There are several potential pitfalls. Reading the manual is the key, but it doesn't cover all eventualities or might not be too obvious on some points. Some additional information and contenders for errors that I encountered through my ten years of selling this product are as follows:

1) Using salt substitute instead of the real thing. Yes, this might seem obvious to most, but not to all. What is needed is pure cooking salt (100% NaCl - Sodium Chloride). Finely ground dissolves better in water than coarse, but under no circumstance use any low-sodium salt substitute or anything that has been augmented with things like iodine - those things are fit for human consumption, but will make your dyeing come out all wrong.

2) Even if what you dye is brand new - in fact, it is even more important if it is new - wash it properly first. New clothes in the shop are frequently inserted with agents to keep them looking nice and neat in the shop, sometimes with light water repellents, and it is essential that these things be washed out before attempting to dye. If the clothes are brand new, I'd even recommend doing it twice just to be sure.

3) Any fabrics that are waxed, waterproofed or fireproofed will not dye properly unless all of those active substances are washed out completely (see point 2). If you're unsure if there is any treatment left in the garment, at least for waterproofing, let a drop of water drip on it. If it immediately soaks in, you're good to dye. If there is any tendency for it to turn into a bead staying on the surface, more cleaning is needed.

4) Modern synthetics can seem quite similar to natural fibres these days, so always check the label to make sure that the fabric you try to dye are at least 80% cotton, linen or viscose. If it is polyester or acrylic, simply forget about it. Those fibres are smooth and dye doesn't attach to them. They are technically possible to colour, but that requires a dye that acts more like a paint covering the outside of it. It exists, but it's a nasty chemical process best left to industrial use. Modern synthetics can seem quite similar to natural fibres these days, so always check the label.

A blend of cotton and synthetic containing more than 80% cotton is usually okay too as that normally means only thin warp threads going in one direction are synthetic for added durability, and they will hardly be visible if there is a major colour change in the dyeing. The dye requires "open" fibres that it can attach to. Silk and wool dyes in different ways, and nylon, which has many things in common with wool, need a different way of making the dyes attach to the fibres, and so you cannot use this particular type of dye for it. There are special ones for silks and wools, some also dyeing nylon fibres.

5) If you want a strong colour, make sure you weigh the textiles to be dyed properly. Especially for black this is critical. Black, for instance, can give the full deep colour to 600g (dry weight) of textiles. If you overstretch that, it will not become black, but a grey. For other colours, this might not be so critical. Also note that there is a maximum weight that can be dyed in one go. If you try to do more, the textiles simply won't get enough room to move freely enough, and it may result in an uneven colouring. Details are on the pack.

6) Any colour in the fabric before dyeing does not magically disappear. It will mix optically with the new colour. If you wish to remove that colour first, use agents made specifically for removing colour before redyeing.

7) Bleach is very efficient in removing colour. So efficient, in fact, that even the tiniest trace of it can ruin a redyeing. If you have got bleach spots on your clothes, most likely they will still be there if you try redyeing - even after several washes. It's usually not worth trying.

8) 99% of all clothes are sewn with polyester thread as it is harder-wearing than cotton. This means that if you for instance have a white garment and dye it any other colour, the threads will remain white. Sometimes this may look fine, but do try to visualise the effect before dyeing to avoid disappointment.

9) The temperature is critical. In the "old days" fabric dyes usually needed 60 degrees to work, but some people, when they saw that what they wanted to dye could only be washed at 40 either gave up on it or tried dyeing it at 30 or 40. What happens if you dye something at 40 that is meant for 60 is that the colour gets a lot lighter. As most dyeing is done to freshen up blacks, that can defy the purpose of the dyeing in the first place. Wool and silk often needs 70 or 80 degrees.

Natural fibres can withstand a few hundred degrees quite well, usually, and the low washing temperature is first of all there to preserve the colours, so when dyeing, do follow the temperature in the instructions, or it won't work. Also, remember to stretch garments properly afterwards as higher temperatures do make them more prone to shrinking.

10) Do not prewash, or set the machine to eco or small load. The amount of dye and salt has been carefully balanced with the amount of water you get in a standard domestic washing machine - which is also why - in this case - 500g is enough regardless of how many packs of dye used.

11) Dye should be put in the drum itself and it should be covered completely by the salt. The textiles to be dyed should be soaked and wet before placing them on top of the salt. This is not essential, but a precaution to make sure that the textiles don't come into proper contact with the dyes before there is more water present to avoid uneven dyeing, especially if the target is a lighter colour.

12) Yes, you can hand dye with a machine dye - probably just as well as with a hand dye - but then you have to make sure that you get the right temperature (see point 9) over a certain time as well as keep the textile moving to dye it evenly - or in a big enough tub to let it float freely. It's not worth the bother. Using a washing machine is the best way to dye fabric at home as it reduces the workload significantly.

Some people are worried about dye contaminating their machine, but if you follow the instructions properly – and your washing machine is clean to start with – any remnants of dye should be gone when you run the machine through two more washing cycles after the dyeing. The first one a regular wash with the dyed clothes still in, the second with an empty machine when one can also use a bit of bleach and a high temperature – though it should not strictly be necessary – to clean out any remaining dyes from it.

If your washing machine is dirty due to other causes, such as limescale, there is a possibility the dye can stick to this, it may require more washes including bleaching to get rid of dye stains, but it's not because of the dye as such but because the machine needed a clean in the first place.

I think that covers the most important things.

In my experience, I can highly recommend this textile dye. For me it worked perfectly for freshening up the black colour of my wife's jeans. She even claims it came out blacker than when it was new.
44 Comments| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2012
I bought this to re dye a pair of grey denim jeans that had bleach spilt on them. The instructions are very clear but I add a note of caution. Good points the dye works well and applies evenly BUT you must thoroughly clean out the washing machine afterwards many more times than they suggest on the packet. We have a very modern washing machine and I suspect the problem is it uses less water than older ones. After the recommended wash through with detergent and then the empty wash through although it looked clean it still managed to add splats of dye to the next washing load and the next and the next despite cleaning out behind the rubber seal and door seal etc. The good thing is though that the white sheets it contaminated were saved by washing again with a stain remover. The grey colour isn't as much of a problem as the red ones that dylon do as they seem even more prone to hang around. Don't let this put you off though just do extra empty washes with plenty of detergent and it should be fine and use dark clothes for the first washes afterwards. It all goes to show that this is very good dye. If anything the Antique grey colour is too dark nearer charcoal but I expect it will fade over time and it did save a brand new pair of £65 jeans from an early trip to the clothing bank and the red version did the same for my wifes jeans.
0Comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
Perfect colour, very easy to use, much better than hand dye as it's less messy! I dyed a light grey jumper to the antique grey, and it turned out exactly how I wanted it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
Coverage was good on my white cotton dressing gown but 1) it's a very odd bluey greeny grey colour. Not particularly nice. 2) I used half the normal amount as I wanted a lighter grey (the packs suggests this) and it still came out very dark.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
My Husband wore his favourite light shorts cleaning out the BBQ. Yes you guessed it; spots all over his shorts, so I bought this dye and if you follow the manufacturers instructions to the letter its brilliant. New shorts - and NO after effects from the dye in my washing machine.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2012
i dyed 2 large bath towels and 2 hand towels, very easy to use and came out exactly as it said, an antique grey. i wouldnt put any more items in than i did and any less would make the items darker. This was a lot cheaper than new towels. I dyed beige towels.
11 Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
I have used dylon machine dyes many times and have always been really pleased but this one is not one of the best. The colour was far more blue grey than real grey. I followed the instructions precisely and yet the item came out a little patchy. Not very impressed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)