Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
35
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 February 2008
I've been a great fan of Seal's for years.
This in my mind is the best of the best by far.
This cd is more up beat than his past works.
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
a gift as I'm not a fan but it was well received. I received the item well before time which was great and it was well packaged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
Absolutely superb album - every song is worth listening too and there are not a lot of albums like that these days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
Fab album. Play it loud on quality speakers when the neighbours are out! Good as his first (I don't have them all)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2007
Seal has a very distinctive and powerful voice, an impressive range, the ability to put a good deal of depth and passion into some very fine songs indeed, and until System, a production team capable masterfully interpreting his material and driving his voice to match it.

However, along comes "System". And this seems to be a good example of what happens when you allow the wife & kids too much input. Whereas it may provide Heidi & the kids with something to jolly along to, it seems very woefully to neglect that fact that it was the fans who bought and paid for all of that in the first place. Still, the ol' fella has enough money, and an otherwise great life, and all respect is due to him for it.

I suppose the best analogy of it is like eagerly awaiting the latest design of Ferrari, only to find that it looks, drives and sounds like a Citroen 2CV. To add insult to injury, it weighs it at just over 47 minutes. This is an insult in this day and age.

The problem with artists like Seal is that they forget that they are in fact a "sound". The "sound" is a combination of the right kind of material, the right musicians and the right production/mixing team. Change them and you risk losing your "sound" completely. I would say the word "completely" fits very nicely into this equation. And given that Seal tends to release a new album only once every few thousand years anyway, I suggest he thinks long and hard about getting back to some decent graft, and soon. Otherwise he may find the world won't be bothered with him next time. Still, he can always churn out some more 'kinderpop' for the missis & kids. They'll love it all I am sure. But releasing it to the world would be a grave oversight. Too late to prevent this one from slipping out though I'm afraid.

Just to think - he recorded a superb album with Trevor Horn after Human Being, which never got released because he thought it wasn't good enough. It's never too late to reconsider, Seal...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2007
Early reflections leave me very disappointed in this album. Seal has not had the record sales in recent years to match his early hits, but he had integrity and allowed his amazingly distinctive voice free rein.
This is mostly irritatingly over-mastered and instantly forgettable dance fare. Only Amazing and If It's In My Mind, It's On My Face stand out. Rolling is much more his forte and the album cries out for more of this style of song.
To me in general terms, it smacks of a desperate attempt to update the sound to a yoof audience. Ultimately, though, others do this sort of stuff a lot better, whereas no one does soulful Seal better than Seal.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
Big fan of this artist and this is another excellent album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2017
A quick delivery and a very good disc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2016
Up to Seal's usual superb standard
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2016
Great album as always from Seal
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)