Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
79
4.3 out of 5 stars
Sight Training (Nintendo DS)
Price:£1.07+ £1.26 shipping


on 22 October 2014
excellent product,very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
Great product, great value for money, love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2007
Yes I agree the ultimate purpose of Brain Training was to train the brain but some of the tasks were tedious and repetitive.

With Sight Training however the fun element is re-introduced. Not only is the game overall a lot more captivating - revamp of menu styles/narration etc. but the mini games are ones you may have been brought with maybe at school, so that sense of nostalgia is there, the difficulty levels are great to lessen the repetition and there's dozens of mini games that eventually become available after completing tasks. For me the game itself was the improvement from the Brain Training series, definately worth looking into, I have more intentions at this stage of going back to it than I did with the Brain Training series.
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2008
I received a DS lite for Christmas and Sight Training was the second game I got for it. (The first being more Brain training).
I defy anyone not to enjoy using this great little collection of programs, particularly the sports games. I am unsure as to whether using Sight Training actually improves your eyesight but there is much fun to be had trying to lower your eye age in a similar way to trying to achieve a lower brain age in Brain Training.
The different exercises involve tracking moving objects using your eyes and using the stylus to tap objects on the screen. Others test your peripheral vision by flashing symbols in different parts of both screens and then asking you to recall what they were or indicate where they appeared. Your progress in daily tests is recorded and then plotted on graphs which can be compared with your friend's profiles. The more you play the more games are unlocked.
Overall, this title represents excellent value for money and is one to be enjoyed by people of every age.
11 Comment| 73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2010
good game. only thing you can do after you`ve completed it is increase speed of games. can get a bit boring
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 April 2008
It is great fun but I do wish I could turn of all the chat which is very irrelevant. I suppose they had to think of a new title but this is more brain training 3. Why do all these games have an obsession for speed, surely they could have some puzzles that did not only rely on speed.
22 Comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2008
I enjoyed Doctor Kawishma brain training and sight training was made by the same makers so i got it. I'd say the science is abit more firm than brain training and i believe it does help your eyes. The games are alot of fun (i like the sports games the best) and challenging! One of the good features of this game is that it gives you a recomneded (bad speller) training programme which helps you improve your weak points. I have to agree with the other reviews, the narator isn't that good as he repeats himself time and time again and mostly states the obvious. For thoughs of you that aren't familiar with brain training or that type of game made by tough generations you do your workout daily and when you've finished your first minigame you but a stamp on the date. As you collect more stamps more games become available or you can play the games you've already unlocked in a different style or you can unlock a special feature like i can now do the eye relaxation exercise at any time. Speaking of the eye relaxation exercises they do become a bit annoying as when you've completed todays recomened training you have to do it (i think you can quit) but whats more annoying is that when your doing custom training (you can play on any game which you've unclocked) if you've done alot of it it stops you right in the middle and asks if you want to do eye relaxation, i tap skip and it says lets call it a day and takes me right back to the main menu where i've got to go into my profile and listen to the welcome speech. But all the same its really good fun and thoughs who played Brain Training and enjoyed it will certainly like this
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2012
I have to admit that I am not sure about the claims that Sight Training make. It states that "this game helps you train your visual abilities, but will not improve the actual strength of your eyesight". My sister has had it for several years (it was one of those games that came out in the wake of Dr K's Brain Training) and she has not noticed any improvement or change in her visual ability.

There are 3 options for playing:

- DAILY TRAINING - offers an "eye check" then the option to complete the "recommended training".

- QUICK PLAY - try the other games that weren't included in the recommended training

- DOWNLOAD - using only one cartridge you can send a quick play game to a friend in the same room and see who scores the best

The games are divided into five "aspects of focus ability":

* Dynamic visual acuity (DVA) - ability to see moving objects
* Eye movement (EM) - ability to quickly move and focus your eyes
* Hand eye coordination (HEC) - quickly and accurately react
* Momentary vision (MV) - taking in large amounts of information quickly
* Peripheral vision (PB) - to see a wide area rather than what you are looking at

The games are all see-and-tap games done at speed for a short period, so I question how they can claim such as hand-eye coordination as hand-eye involves much more than tapping a symbol/target on a small screen.

I also question their claims regarding peripheral vision. This is the gathering of visual information from the wider (outer) areas of your sight not just those in front of you on the screen.

Over all the games are brief but can be fun if you want a change from your usual type of DS game, however I doubt that these short games can improve vision. The company had a a disclaimer inside the manual which it says "in some cases, vision may not be improved at all".

I am sorry to say that my sister and I appear to be in the category which has seen no visual improvement. It will, however, help you with speed of response.

One strange thing I did notice was that my test scores were much higher when I was tired than they were when I was fresh and alert - don't know why it happens though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2010
This game is so much fun! I bought this for my wife and she hasn't stopped using it. The game is so addictive!

There are various exercises which are all aimed at working out your "eyesight age" - dependant on how well you score in the game itself. The games are mixed and varied. You have to do well to unlock other features within the game - hence why this game is so addictive. I would disagree with other reviewers who say the games are repetitive.

There is an excercise where you can rest your eyes - and this bit is boring!

Not only is it suitable for children , but everyone can take part, and you do feel as if you are training your eyes - albeit I am not convinced it actually does.

Loads of fun - highly recommended!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2017
great product, works great and case in great condition, fast delivery and good value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)