Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 22 May 2016
I don't believe that this was ever intended to for the war film genre......... it skirts some of the facts about the atrocities carried out by the French North African troops, however, it does make the point about how they were exploited by their colonial conquerers. Same as black US troops, Sikhs and Gurkhas ......... canon fodder.

If you want a 'war film', blood + guts, gung ho and how the knight in white shining armour always wins through ...... this is definitely not for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2017
5 stars thank you very much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
Great anti-war movie about North-African "volunteers" during World War II.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2014
A classic french movies war
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2015
AAA+++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
Good film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2007
The hype says this is on a par with "Saving Private Ryan". Don't believe it. The military advisor (if there was one) must have had experience from the Napoleonic Wars. The "set piece" battles are just that - "set piece" - and like something from the cheesiest war films you've ever seen. Here we go, hundreds of running infantrymen advance through petro-chemical shellfire towards an objective defended by a half dozen Germans not very proficient in field work. Why do the imaginations of so many directors stop at this clichéd and tired visual concept of warfare? I could not suspend my disbelief that the principal actor, Jamel Debbouzel, clearly unable to use his right arm, had been cast as an infantryman. Ridiculous. The exploration of the complex colonial relationships was superficial and not fully developed. I didn't watch to the end. It is contrived, pretentious, stereotypical and, frankly, rather boring. Disappointing for any serious devotee of the war film genre.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2011
A strangely old fashioned war movie unfolds around this worthy subject matter. It's a reasonably good picture; well crafted with realistic action sequences and an interesting topic - even without those points in its favour its uniqueness alone makes it worth watching. In terms of historical accuracy, some may call it one sided as it makes no mention of the negative contraversies regarding these units but given that that was clearly not in its brief the film succeeds quite well at informing and more so at entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2008
I am very pleased with this Blu-Ray release of 'Days of Glory'- the picture is sharp, focused, and very obviously HD. I would say that the visual quality ranks as one of the best in my blu-ray collection. The battle at the beginning of the film, with paned out shots of large numbers of infantry attacking a hill, looked stunning. I definitely recommend buying this on Blu-Ray instead of DVD.

As for the film itself, I think this has taken its place as one of my favourite war films. It sheds light on a side of WW2 which has very rarely been explored, and it educates the viewer on the topic of race relations within the ranks of the French military with sensitivity and very naturally- it is not melodramatic, the characters feel like human beings and not actors- which makes it all the more shocking and powerful. It's one of those films where the full emotional impact sinks in in the days after watching it. It's interesting to see the conflict through the eyes of Algerian soldiers- the second world war is seen as such a good versus evil, unambiguous conflict that the situation of the colonial forces is difficult to grasp.

Truly, this film will make you think. It's powerful, sad, well-acted, stunning in high def and an essential purchase for anyone's blu-ray collection.
11 Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)