Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
35
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 November 2007
...It really is that simple. Personally I think Jimmy Carr is a genius. I like the variety of his one-liners; a lot of them I have to stop & think, swiftly followed by an episode of laughter and others are your typical irony and sarcasm. What I think makes him PARTICULARLY GOOD COMEDIAN, is the way he interacts with the audience & his ability to reduce a heckler to nothing in a split second, which comes across in the DVDs as well as live. If you have his first two DVDs, heres my particular ranking:
1st - Jimmy Carr Live
2nd - Jimmy Carr Comedian (this one)
3rd - Jimmy Carr Stand-up
...although it is worth noting it's a tough decision, they are all of a great standard of comedy! Hope you laugh as much as I did.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2010
I brought this dvd at the very same time as i brought russell brands "doing life" stand up. And when i watched both i remember thinking how the hell is jimmy carrs rated 15 with russell brands an 18 the difference is immense. jimmy carr is soo much more to the knuckle where as russell brands was not even offensive in some parts. however im not here to comnpare jimmy and russell, jimmy wins this dvd contest hands down,,although i havent seen jimmys new 2010 one i have all his others and think this one is the best although they all come close. this dvd is perfect is u like quick witted on liners aswell as banter from the audience where he leaves them speechless. its a great dvd and not for the easily offended. hes like a posh chubby brown.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2007
I'm a huge fan of Jimmy and was gutted that there wasn't a new DVD out last year... but this one is well worth the wait! If you've only seen him on telly, then you must must must see what he's like doing live stand up. I'm sure most of his jokes would be unbroadcastable that's for sure as he's quite offensive in places, but hilarious all the same!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2007
I was already a fan of Jimmy's, and here he is really in his element, away from his TV work (which is witty all the same) where he can be a close to the bone as he chooses.
Love the style of his stand up, unlike long winded observational comedians, he delivers his punch lines in quick succession, meaning if one doesn't hit the mark, the next most likely will.
Thankfully, they pretty much all do in the case of this show. Lots of welcome audience interraction, which always tells you alot about the sharpness of the comic in question, and some really innovative ideas.
The sketch show tacked on is pretty average, it's not his strong point, I would urge him to ditch that idea and concentrate on his stand up, which is as good as I have seen. Really, genuinely funny.
Well done Jim.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
this is rated 15, behave yourself , this is filth, great filth of course and should be 18, the thought of a 15 year old and his parents sitting down to watch this, give me strength, Carr is in great form here , adult, risque and blue, up there with frankie boyle for shock value no less, the crowd are ok here, they dont get it all but he doesnt falter, doesnt let up, it is a very funny show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 January 2008
Its difficult to watch Jimmy Carr without someone taking offense. I went to see him live in concert 2 years ago and although the majority of the audience loved him a small number found some of his material offensive.

This DVD is exactly like that where Jimmy makes jokes out of subjects like homosexuality, rape and child abuse. All subjects you may agree polarise peoples opinions.

Jimmy is funny, there is no doubt about it. His school boy looks, his quick wit with hecklers and his delivery are impecable assets. His humour dry.

He knows his material offends and discusses this in the DVD.

So if you dont mind the content or focus of the humour then this is for you, but beware the person you watch it with may not have the same views.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2008
Jimmy Carr is without doubt one of the country's most talented entertainers. From 'Distraction' to '8 out of 10 Cats', his dry sarcasm has certainly catapulted him to comedy stardom. This stand-up DVD does not disappoint at all and sees Jimmy deliver his quick-fire jokes at the normal rapid pace, but it's the other parts to his routine that stand out for me. In particular the sections where he helps people with ideas of what to write in birthday/get well soon/good luck cards, how to fill in job applications and also answering Agony Aunt letters in his unique way.

Favourite lines include:
Q. What will you be bringing to this job?
A. I will be bringing my sisters children on a Tuesday whilst she is at aqua aerobics.

Q. How long is your notice period?
A. I usually notice things straight away.

Jimmy's strength is his...................timing (ah ah see what I've done there!?), and also his ability to connect and build a rapport with the audeience (highlights include the cheerleader, and the bloke who claims that Jimmy's mum keeps calling him for sex - without doubt the funniest part of the whole DVD).

This is a brilliantly funny show and I would fully recommend it to all comedy fans. I'm now looking forward to seeing Jimmy live in July 2008 at the St Albans Arena!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2007
If you like Jimmy Carr you will know what to expect. The jokes come thick and fast, and he doesn't mess around getting to the punchlines either. It's not pc so it's not for the easily offended, obviously, but it's an ideal Xmas gift. The only possible downside is that the sheer volume of gags coming so thick and fast gets a little tiresome and exhausting after about half an hour or so, so it's probably better to watch 20 minutes worth at a time. Very funny though.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2008
This standup is absolutely brilliant puts Ricky Gervais' Fame to Shame the dvd also includes a half an hour sitcom which he wrote and starred in that is ok but buy the dvd for the stand up
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2007
Just bought this DVD and it's terrific. The stand-up routine is Jimmy at his best, dishing out witty one-liners and engaging in banter with the audience, and at over 90 mins it's good value. Extras are great as well - DVD-exclusive sketch show, the Soccer Six showcase at Stamford Bridge, even a skit with the Bo Selecta bloke. In short, probably the best stand-up DVD this year.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse