Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Best of 2017 Shop now Shop now



TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 February 2011
A sequel to 2005 box office winner, The Fantastic Four, "Rise Of The Silver Surfer" sees director Tim Story and the original cast principals return for more super hero schlocky fun. The story is based around the Marvel stories that featured the first appearance of said Silver Surfer in the comic book franchise. Silver Surfer (Doug Jones with Laurence Fishburne dubbing the voice) is acting as a herald for the planet devouring Galactus, their next target? Earth. Which is a bit untimely as Reed Richards/Mr Fantastic (Ioan Gruffudd) and Susan Storm / Invisible Woman (Jessica Alba) are trying to get married. Things are further problematic when after his first encounter with the Silver Surfer, Johnny Storm/Human Torch (Chris Evans) finds his powers a bit off-in fact when he touches any of the others their powers are exchanged, much to Ben Grimm / The Thing's (Michael Chiklis) amusement. Not only that but the military are starting to get heavy and annoyed with the four and who is this back on the scene? Doctor Doom! (Julian McMahon) Thought he was dead, and how come he's in league with the military now? All of this issues must be addressed or the Earth will suffer the direst of consequences.

Budgeted at $130 million, this sequel only just made its money back domestically, however, its Worldwide takings gave it an overall profit of nearly $160 million. Which when you consider that the first film (again raking the coin in) was met with very disdainful reviews (mostly warranted outside of Evans & Chiklis' efforts), it's somewhat surprising. Yet, and it's certainly no towering genre picture, "Silver Surfer" is a hugely enjoyable movie for fans of the source comics and the undemanding popcorn muncher. The fans, and I don't speak for all of them of course, should in the main be happy that the makers have been faithful to the origins of the story. There's also some nifty humour and both Alba and Gruffudd aren't as dull as they were in the first movie. Perhaps they are more comfortable now knowing that the paying public held sway over the critics? Evans is still the best thing in the franchise, and the appearance of Andre Braugher as General Hager is a welcome edition. While the effects are considerably better than the poor fodder served up in the first movie; granted it wouldn't have been hard to improve on that score.

With a lovely light hearted approach, Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer does its job. In the pantheon of super hero movies it sits some where in the middle, neither great or bad, just honest wholesome family fun. 20th Century Fox have announced that a reboot of the franchise is to come, so while Chris Evans goes off to mouth wateringly play Captain America, the next lot of actors are charged with the not so easy task of winning over a tough comic book crowd, and, the critics too. 6.5/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 March 2010
I won't get bogged down with all the talk about the Fantastic 4 movie not hitting the mark in terms of the original comic books. Stan Lee was involved in the making so any artistic liberties that he is happy with are ok with me.

The Story tells of the formation of the Fantastic Four and the Evil Dr Doom, all of whom develop genetic modifications to there DNA, as the result of a freak storm in space that they had gone out to invesigate and perform experiments in, arrives early and catches the four unaware. The resultant storm gives each of the four there super powers. Stretchy, Invislbity, Fire and "The Thing" who is super strong and tough as his body has become stone! What the 4 don't intially realise is that the Victor Doom who was on the station also, and footing the bill for all this out of space experimentation, is also affected by the storm, and as his mutli billion dollar empire starts to crumble his evil persona start to take root.

So lets look at the Blu Ray and what you get.

Picture quality is very good with lots of the usual shiny effects and dazzling images. The sound is excellent quality too though as seems to be a constant gripe with me and blu rays the extras are noted by there abscence! This is rather annoying and I know adopt my own Blu-Ray mantra which is "Standard Definition Extra's are better than none!" Please Please Please Blu-Ray makers head my plea!!!

Over all a good romp and although quite camp acting its well within the characters of the film. What else would you expect from a hero whos tag line is "Its Clobbering time" :) Enjoy:)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 17 November 2015
I just got it after watching the pretty awful remake which I thought was pretty terrible. All though this earlier version is dated a bit and perhaps not quite as polished style-wise,it's far superior than the reboot and a fun, coherent and enjoyable superhero movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 June 2017
Brilliant. These films have been the best movie adaptation. Happy to watch them again and again. Great performances, well written and some very exciting CGI.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2017
We enjoyed it as a family, but not up to some of the other high marvel standards
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2017
Added to kids collection of Fantastic films. Loved by them all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2015
Absolutely sharp and crystal clear Blu Ray picture. Need i say more?!!

I use a Panasonic DMPBDT260 and it's sharp, downstairs I use the Sony BDP370 with an old Sony ex713 46" and faultless!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2017
Given as a gift to only find out it sticks half way through... extremely embarrassing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2017
A great film, good cast, a enjoyable flick...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2017
good film just replacing dvds for bluray
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)