Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
53
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£47.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2016
Ringo, the much misunderstood and underrated of the Beatles? By this collection of 'solo' songs I'd say so.
Quality pop songs and a diverse mix of country and jazz tinged tunes - this is a very good collection.
Ringo releases albums at quite reqular intervals and in recent years toured with his all star band.Putting lies to such nonsense that he's done next to nothing since the Beatles split up. (In some quarters anyway).
This collection sees Ringo collaborating with a whole range of musicians,some well known,some not so.The Ringo album from 1973,is one of my personal favourite post Beatles album by an ex Beatle.It is represented here by photograph,your sixteen and I'm the greatest (almost a Beatles reunion).
A very good to excellent compilation album on the whole.
PS:congratulations Ringo on your induction in the rock & roll hall of fame - the last for a former Beatle as an individual artist - justice at last! Pps:That photograph (no pun intended) above my review,is certainly not me! Say no more.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Bought this on the strength of 'You're Sixteen ...' and am glad I did as I very much liked all the tracks. I would class this as light rock/pop. I am pleased with my purchase and would buy again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2017
Some super great songs here from the man who always at the back. Ringo is a true talent too. Great stuff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2012
This is a terrific collection which should appeal to both serious and casual fans of Ringo Starr.

Although it is more of a a 'Greatest Hits' / 'Singles Collection' rather than the broader 'Very Best Of' which the title might suggest, this does mean that you will find all of Ringo's most well-known songs included amongst it's genorous 20-track selection.
Although, with 14 of those tracks dating from the first 6 years of Ringo's solo career, it could be considered by some as being only a minor upgrade to his mid-1970's "Blast From Your Past" compilation.... but let's face it, Ringo's most commercially successful period of recording was in those years immediately following the break-up of The Beatles.

All of the tracks have been digitally remastered, and the excellent CD booklet contains Ringo's own comments about each of the tracks, along with a list of the musicians involved and photos of the original single covers.

The 'Collectors Edition' version of this album is well worth spending a little extra money on, as it includes a bonus DVD disc which contains rare music video's for several of the tracks.

In my opinion, "Photograph" is one of the very best songs any ex-Beatle has given us, and it is great to see Ringo receiving this solid acknowledgement of his often under-appreciated contribution to the post-Beatle legacy.

Ringo.... you keep making them, and I'll keep buying them!
Thank you for your music.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 May 2016
This is a compilation album - consisting of 20 tracks - from the solo career of Ringo Starr. This collection presents the 'hits' Ringo had in the early to mid 1970's (including such top ten singles as "It Don't Come Easy", "Back Off Boogaloo", "Photograph", and "You're Sixteen") as well as numerous songs from studio albums.

Ringo was the first of the 'Fab Four' to release a post-Beatles album ("Sentimental Journey") and, during the initial years following the break-up of the band, he achieved worldwide commercial success. Often he would work alongside his ex-band mates - who would co-write with (or write for) Ringo ... and it's during these moments that we get glimpses of what the Beatles might have been like during the 1970's (had they remained together). The best example of this is Starr's 1973 album "Ringo" (on which he worked with John Lennon, Paul McCartney and George Harrison ... as well as Marc Bolan, Billy Preston, Klaus Voormann, Nicky Hopkins, and Harry Nilsson). Fortunately there's material from that album on this compilation CD.

The material found here is a selection of songs that span from the 1970's to the 2000's. It's unfortunate that so few songs from the 1980's and 1990's are included (as he did record 5 studio albums during these decades). Also, it would have been nice had Ringo's singer-songwriting contributions to the Beatles been included ... it might have been a fantastic double album!

Nonetheless, here are 20 great songs by a legend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'Richard Starkey(Ringo Starr) born in 1940 was the final piece in the jigsaw that formed the FAB-FOUR joining
John, Paul and George in 1962
He was in truth the heartbeat of the group with his drumming, his vocals though rarely used were the lead on
songs such as 'Yellow Submarine' 'With a Little Help' and of course 'Act Naturally' he also penned one or
two album songs for the group such as 'Octopus's Garden' and 'Don't Pass me By'
After the group split in 1970 'Ringo' forged a recording career as a solo artist achieving four or five Top 30 entries,
in the early Seventies with songs like - 'It Don't Come Easy' (Chart '4' 1971) 'Back Off Boogaloo' (Chart '2' 1972)
'Photograph' (Chart '8' 1973) and 'You're Sixteen' (Chart '4' 1974)
Though not really impacting in the singles chart after 'You're Sixteen' he continued recording having some measure
of success with Album releases.
Play List -
01. Photograph
02. It Don't Come Easy
03. You're Sixteen You're Beautiful (And You're Mine)
04. Back Off Boogaloo
05. I'm The Greatest
06. Oh My My
07. Only You (And You Alone)
08. Beaucoups Of Blues (1995 Digital Remaster)
09. Early 1970
10. Snookeroo
11. No No Song
12. Goodnight Vienna (It's All Down To) (Single Version)
13. Hey Baby
14. A Dose Of Rock 'N' Roll
15. Weight Of The World
16. King Of Broken Hearts
17. Never Without You
18. Act Naturally
19. Wrack My Brain
20. Fading In And Fading Out
If like myself you followed the journey taken by 'The Beatles' with their music, owning CD's beyond that time released
by each of the four is, as it should be, natural progression.......
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Ringo Starr, eh? The last time he was in the charts was back in 1992, and then only for a week. His previous nine albums all failed to even hear the starters gun. In fact it's been 33 years since 'Goodnight Vienna' charted but this 'best of' compilation deserves to put that to right.

Including a little help from his friends John, Paul, George, Stephen Stills, Elton John and Eric Clapton (although, sadly, not all at the same time), 'Photograph: The Very Best of Ringo Starr' is on the shelves now and its worth getting. The first four of this 20 track collection are sing-a-long pop at its best. Add in 'Hey Baby', 'Only You' and 'Act Naturally' and you'll be duetting on half the songs whilst in the car.

Although there's nothing from his Christmas CD included here, which is a shame, the stand out songs of the remainder are 'Early 1970', 'Beaucoups of Blues' and the Lennon penned, 'I'm The Greatest' and 'Good Night Vienna'. Not only that, the remastering has made the early songs crystal clear: this one is light years ahead of the miserly 10 track 'Blast from Your Past' collection.

The second disc here is a DVD of five promo films made in the 70s and one from 1989. The picture quality isn't that great but there won't be many hands showing when it comes to having seen any of these. Oh, there's also a brief TV advert from 1974 promoting Ringo's 'Goodnight Vienna' LP, complete with John Lennon voiceover.

There may well be those whom ask "Ringo who?" Just tell them he used to be in group that made a few records and also happened to be one of the four most famous people on the planet.

Buy it!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
I have managed to download the music, but I cannot find the digital booklet which it indicates goes with it. Could you please tell me how I go about getting it.
Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2008
Ringo is the greatest understatement drummer in Rock (please don't label him "pop"). All through the Beatles tracks you hear his soft, complex, understated drumming. OK, you did not appreciate he could sing. Maybe you loved Paul or George or John. Maybe you believed the tripe that John derided his skill as a drummer or maybe you thought he was a "passenger" in the Beatles; if so listen to this and also read who is on the tracks. George and John are here in spades, others too. They played on his albums, George produced them and he played on theirs,. (NB George, whose greatest other band is the Travelling Wilburys - George, Bob Dylan, Roy Orbison, Tom Petty, Jeff Lynne, if you don't know check them out - also did some stuff with Ringo and Tom Petty which you will find on a Tom Petty DVD). But best here is Ringo himself. Actually, you KNOW these songs, they are in your head, you have heard them over and over...you just did not know they were Ringo Starr solo songs. My favourite is "Back off Boogaloo, written to honour his friend the great Marc Bolan.

Go on. Admit it. His Knighthood is long overdue. Write the UK Prime Minister today. Sir Ringo arise.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2007
This is the second ever 'Best of' compilation from Ringo. The first (Blast From Your Past) had just 10 songs and ran for about thirty minutes. This new collection doubles that and brings us up to date.

All the early singles are here of course, plus the excellent b side 'Early 1970'.There are four tracks from the fabulous 'Ringo' album, and four from the not quite so fabulous 'Goodnight Vienna', including what was arguably its best track, the Elton John penned 'Snookeroo'. (Inexplicably excluded from the earlier package.) Newer tracks are included from the albums 'Ringo's Rotogravure',Vertical Man','Time Takes Time'. 'Stop & Smell the Roses','Ringo Rama'and 'Choose Love'.This includes his comeback single 'Weight of the World which, although never a big hit, was played heavily on the radio and deserved to fare better. The highlight of the album to me, is the track 'Never Without You, Ringo's tribute to former bandmate George Harrison, and featuring a guitar solo from Eric Clapton. This track was new to me, but had I ever heard it I'd have bought the album just for this one! The inclusion of Ringo's duet with Buck Owens on 'Act Naturally'is a nice touch, and a reminder of where it all started.

The album is not quite a full career overview- there is nothing from his first 'Sentimental Journey' album, or several of the later ones, but the description 'Best of' is in this instance probably accurate. The booklet is informative, with Ringo's own recollections on each song. If, like me, you bought his first few albums then lost interest, this album is an excellent opportunity to revisit those old gems and to sample what came later.
22 Comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)