Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Necessary Evil
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 18 September 2007
It comes as no surprise that the latest outing by Deborah Harry is a sonic assault on the listener - having been a fan of both DH and Blondie since 1975 (small kid back then!), I've grown up to realise that DH never releases an immediately accessible album when it comes to solo work. Her single releases are always radio friendly but act as no clue to the main work of the album.

The latest is the most complex and diverse collection of songs so far in her solo catalogue. However, all is not lost - give it time and you will find that the album starts to make sense and ..... even sounds cohesive if you can manage to leave your finger off the skip button on second listen!

Forget the classic 80's pop of the opener "Two Times Blue" the all familiar "Blondie" pop sound starts and finishes here - it's a great track and deserves its rightful place as the first act, however, it all goes true DH thereafter with an amazing range of musical styles fusing together as you travel an intelligent sonic soundscape which crosses all genres, it abuses your ears;('School for Scandal', 'Necessary Evil') has you relaxing;('If I Had You', 'What is Love', 'Needless to Say') makes you feel uncomfortable;('You're Too Hot', 'Charm Redux'), makes you want to dance; ('Deep End', 'Whiteout' and the fantastic experimental tribal funk of 'Jen Jen') and then back to chilling with the lyrically ironic 'Paradise'.

This is not a pop, punk, rock or alt album - it's a 100% Deborah Harry album and it's well worth the time and effort, musics leading lady never fails to challenge her own boundaries and styles and in so doing, brings the listener a truly unique experience unmatched by any of the competition, past, future and present!

Welcome back Deborah Harry - it's been too long.

Main reasons to buy: Jen Jen, Deep End, Whiteout & Needless to Say - 100% Fantastic

Summary: Buy, Perservere and most of all, Enjoy!
11 Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2017
CD ok.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 2007
When i first played this album I couldn't really remember any of the tracks except Two Times Blue, which I'd heard already on Debbie's myspace page but after a few listens, the tracks start to jump out.
Lead single Two Times Blue is a great pop song which deserves a single release and radio play. It sounds a bit like the Blondie UK number 1 hit Maria, which is no bad thing.
Other top tracks are the melodic If I Had You, the quirky Love With a Vengeance, a spikey You're Too Hot a punky Whiteout and a romantic Needless to Say. I love Deborah's vocal gymnastics at the start of You're Too Hot. Her voice has matured a little, in the same way that Joni Mitchell's has, though she still sounds fantastic and you can't mistake her for anyone else. I'm happy that Deborah Harry is still making music and I do really like this album. It sounds very 'current' and makes the most of new technology which is good to hear, as the production on an album like Debravation sounds quite dated to me now. Buy it and keep it in your player for a while, it's a grower...in a good way
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 October 2007
She's 62, it's fourteen years since her last solo album and Blondie are doing great business on the revival circuit. So the question is, is there any real need for a new Deborah Harry solo record in 2007?

Maybe not, but if she uses the opportunity to come up with something as willfully odd and undeniably brilliant as You're Too Hot then I'll forgive her anything. I swear to god, if Beyonce did this song it would be at number one for weeks. It sparkles with a wit and invention that is increasingly missing from the pop charts these days.

Of course it goes without saying that a whole album of this is too much to ask for but there are enough sparks to make this a worthwhile purchase for any existing fan. Dirty & Deep is the best song Madonna has never done, Paradise slows things down a touch to great effect and the title track is another winner.

To be fair there is a fair share of stuff I won't really listen to again, but you can't have everything can you? Patchy it may be, but at it's best it reminds you just how vital Deborah Harry has been...and still is.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2011
As others already said, this CD is one which takes a few listens to appreciate. Quite a lot of art is like that and some of the best doesn't communicate immediately. Not every track is brilliant but I particularly liked, 'Two Times Blue;, 'Deep End', 'School for Scandal' to start with.

I find listening to it a lot of fun, interesting & different -- well worth a purchase for that alone. A derivative world is a boring world & I would much rather support artists that come up with something original and interesting, even if it does not massage the average person.

Play it loud in your car and drive people nuts :-)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2009
deborah harrys fifth solo headline outing is that rare thing, a rock record with a sense and sound all of its own. bristling with real underground new york panache, but alienting enough in its oddball sonic structure and heart stopping production, necessary evil is what pop albums should all be about; music, art, individuality and fire. a quirky addition to a catalogue from a truly fascinating artist.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2010
Though it takes a few listens to get into, it doesn't take long to realize that Deborah Harry's 2007 release, `Necessary Evil', is the best pop thing she has recorded since 1989's solo `Def Dumb and Blonde'. Every bit as eclectic as that, 1993's `Debravation' and the two albums the reformed Blondie has recorded ( `No Exit' and `The Curse of Blondie'),it is basically a 14 track set, produced by Super Buddha (Scissor Sisters, Rufus Wainwright), with three bonus tracks (two produced by Chris Stein and one by Bill Ware from the Jazz Passengers) wisely left to the end of the track list.

The main 14 track set starts off with the infectious adult dance track and single, `Too Times Blue', with the somewhat sappy `If I Had You' two tracks later. These are the most "mainstream" moments on the record, with the latter sounding uncomfortably like something you might expect someone like Avril Levigne to record. Track four, `Deep End', is the undisputed show stopper of the album, replete with water metaphors. With its hard new wave musical and vocal overtones and sweet chorus, it delves into the courage of going with new love and banishing the fear of being wounded.

Other major highlights include the equally new-wave influenced title track with its sassy spoken-word verses and wry chorus, the avante-garde funk of `Love With A Vengeance', and the screeching art bar repetition of `You're Too Hot'. The addictive Lower East Side dance duet (with Miss Guy from the Toilet Boys) of `Charm Alarm' is also excellent, as is the soft and beautiful `What is Love' and the ice cool threat of `Heat of the Moment'.

Lower points - because there is nothing "bad" here - are `Dirty and Deep', which sounds like Harry trying to re-capture Prince's risqué early 80s period (do we really want to hear this woman sing the line, "Lick it like you love it"?) and the overly sentimental `Needless to Say'.

The three additional tracks are all good, but do not sound like they are from the rest of the collection.

Harry's voice is strong, a little jazz-infused, and huskier than the silvery timbre she had back in the days of `Def, Dumb and Blonde'. On `Necessary Evil', it is evident that she accepts her age, embraces her eras and knows well the genres she has worked in. They are all represented here and she never attempts to sound young or relevant, which simply serves to elevate this album and transcend modern pop trends. She has said that this is simply a collection of things she had written, with no particular direction in mind, but that never detracts from the quality of the song-writing or the performances in these recordings. The result is an absolute MUST for DH aficionados or anyone interested in something that is high quality and out of the ordinary.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2007
Fourteen years since her last solo outing, Necessary Evil can't arrive soon enough. The first single from the album, "Two Times Blue", is a gorgeous slice of pop of the kind that only Ms Harry could produce and is accompanied by an equally gorgeous video available on her web site. Other tracks which can be heard from the album include "What is Love" available on the "True Colors" CD from this summer's tour and "If I had you" which can be found on Debbie's MySpace page. From what I've heard so far it appears that Debbie hasn't gone for the easy option of producing a "safe" album but has adopted an eclectic approach to this record. It's fantastic that she continues to make music, push boundaries and doesn't allow convention to dictate her way. Here's hoping the album is the hit that it deserves to be. Go Debs!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2017
Whats not to love
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2013
Brilliant album with rich sound and some beautiful tracks as well as some meaningful ones! Beautiful harmonies which is to be expected from the consummate artiste that she is. Only 1 track I don't like which is not sung by her but by a group she supports, just not my cup of tea at all!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)