Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 18 January 2014
Excellent buy quite simply this DVD has been very carefully put together and summarises perfectly the history of Stax and some of the great performers that graced the time.
The live performances on the Stax Volt Revue tour are classic soul at its best Booker T & the MGS with the Markeys sooooo tight!
If classic soul is your thing, purchasing this DVD is a no brainer, just buy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2009
Words cannot describe how excellent this double DVD is. An absolute MUST for any lover of 60's soul. Featuring the Stax / Volt tour of Norway in 1967 with amazing footage of Arthur Conley, Sam & Dave, Otis Redding and the fabulous Booker T and the MGs. This archive film is of the most perfect quality. The film is crisp and fresh and the sound quality is so clear it is hard to believe it was filmed over 40 years ago. The Stax documentary is riveting and heartbreaking, featuring truly wonderful film of Otis Redding and such loving tributes to him. An absolutely exceptional DVD that I cannot recommend highly enough.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
This double DVD set is a must if you love proper Soul Music. Todays celebrities who purport to be Soul singers just cant cut it in my opinion. Beyonce - yeah right! Her substance rather than style just cannot be compared to these wonderful stars like Sam and Dave, The Mar Keys, Otis Redding and the fabulously talented Booker T and the MGs. I am mostly raving about the wonderful Norweigan TV show - I cant believe that this is the only concert footage left from this tour. If only they had visited Japan we might have something in colour. I am mainly talking about the concert which is worth the price of the DVD alone - the documentary is also interesting but really sad. How come the Stax owners failed to read the small print on their contract with Atlantic Records? You have got to buy this and show it to your friends and family. Fa fa fa fa fa fa fa fa forever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2016
Essential item for a real soul fan's collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2015
My husband received the stax book at Christmas, saw the dvd and had to have it. He loves it and highly recommends it to music lovers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
My hubby is a huge stax fan so bought this for a Christmas present and he loved it -watches it regularly
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
Excellent double DVD. The Stax Story on one DVD and a great live concert from Norway 1967 on the other. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
I never saw any of the artists on this dvd 'live' - this has gone some way to giving me a flavour of a great time on soul music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2009
A wonderful documentary about the rise and fall of the Stax label, the southern Soul giant.
The additional disc is the Stax tour of Norway from the '60s.
Indispensible for soul fans and lovers of good music in general.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
I was 17 in 1967, I loved it then and love it now. All this background stuff is really interesting, (even though it burst a few bubbles).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)