Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
35
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 September 2007
This is a remarkable new turning point for Stacey Kent.

For the past 10 years, she has been mainly singing numbers form the great American Songbooks. However, on this CD, she sings lesser known beautiful songs (such as 'Landslide'), 3 French songs ('Ces petits riens', 'Samba saravah' et 'La saison des Pluies' - my French friend told me that her French is very very very good) and 3 numbers from the songbook ('Hard hearted Hannah', 'Never let me go' and 'What a wonderful world') and even 4 originals (Jim/Ishiguro) for the first time in her career. She did sing Bacharach, Paul Simon and Carole Kind in her another wonderful album "The Boy Next Door", but this CD 'Breakfast on the Morning Tram' has a fresher approach.

When I first listened to the CD, I felt she sounded so airy and free. I am sure she enjoyed the challenge, but I guess the holy ghosts from the past haunted her when she was singing the old tracks - I am sure Ella (who I adore from the bottom of my heart!), Sara or Billie crossed her mind, and she needed to present her new interpretations of the classics. She, without a single failure, managed to give a fresh life to every single song she has sung so far. But by introducing newer songs, I guess she managed to set her free even more. Listen to `Landslide`, she sounds so natural and more of herself. I adore the way she sings this beautiful song without any pretension whatsoever.

Put this CD on when you notice the first sign of the autumn in the air. Put a gardi on and go to the garden, and listen to the CD in the sun. I am sure you will also agree that this CD is warm, wishful and sophisticated.
0Comment| 69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is one of those CDs that can easily sit in the drawer for ages un-listened to, but recently when I saw it and played it after a nine year break I could not understand why I've not listened to it more often.

So I've finally put it on my ear-player and have been rediscovering just how very good Stacy Kent is. The music is easy and flows well, her voice is just right without being intrusive. The band is pretty good too. This CD is not a ground shattering revelation of the music world, but the variety of styles all carried off with effortless ease is definitely good to listen to on the bus/tube or in the car or in the quiet of the evening when curled up with a good book and TV switched off.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2009
Heard Stacey Kent perform several of the numbers on this CD at London's Cadogan Hall in April. Loved the concert and immediately ordered the disc. It features mostly original material which she sings superbly. Furthermore, her backing group is also excellent. A CD which I highly recommend to all lovers of vocal jazz who are looking for a diversion from the usual standards.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
An interesting departure from Stacey Kent's usual standards. Featuring some great new material.

A slight diversion in material choice for Stacey Kent featuring some great new (newer) songs. I wonder with each album if she can keep getting better but she does. Very hard to stop playing this wonderful disc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2008
Stacey Kent's highly polished albums of standards are extremely listenable if at times over-glossed tributes to the genius of the Great American Songbook. I have always had a few reservations about this particular musician, but on this new album I have to say I am completely won over. The unique feature of this project is, of course, the addition of four very evocative and melodic original songs by saxophonist/hubby Jim Tomlinson and lyrics by Kazuo Ishiguro. These songs are quite literally tailor-made for Kent's brand of reticent romanticism, and her singing on these numbers has a special personal quality. Sometimes her albums of standards have the feeling of a production line (though, admittedly, a very expert production line); these new songs prompt her to express something fresh. I particularly enjoyed "I Wish I Could Go Travelling Again".

The other cuts on the album are equally pleasurable, and again it's nice to see her tackling something a little off the beaten track: the delightful samba from "A Man and a Woman" is a real highpoint, and I am always pleased to hear a lovely reading of the beautiful Bergman/Mendes "So Many Stars". Stevie Nick's "Landslide" also makes a strong impression, for all it seems to venture into Norah Jones territory.

Overall, this CD is a treat from start to finish, a highly musical and intelligent collection of excellent songs. At Amazon's price of under a fiver, you can't really say no.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
Stacey Kent has an evocative voice. She insists you remember her and it's worth it. This is a great CD, especially because she is singing some newer, different material. Up till now she has been more interested in covers, but Breakfast on the morning tram (great title) is a departure for her. Worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2009
The Ishiguro songs are the best modern 'intelligent' songs I have heard for a long time and her cover of 'Landslide' strips it to its bones to reveal the beautiful melody which, as ever, her perfect voice does great justice to. And her French isn't bad either......
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2012
First heard a track from this CD (Breakfast on the morning tram - The Ice Hotel) and was taken by it, so bought the CD. Reminds me much of Madeline Peyroux in voice and type of songs she sings and that both sing in some of their pieces in French. Very pleased with the purchase and intent to listen to more of this artist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
Just love this CD.
It's difficult to say that it is Stacey Kent at her best. So far I have not heard anything of hers that is less than Best.

If you like Stacey, you must add this to your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2009
Is Stacey a true jazz lady full with an amazing voice that is stunningly beautiful to listen to? Yes.
Is her band a group of highly accomplished musicians who make wonderful music? Most definitely yes.
Do they need to find some decent material to work with? Oh hell yes!

With lyrics like "eat some waffles, forget your troubles" that made a concert audience snigger behind their hands, somebody has made a grave error of judgment turning this into comedy, not a class act. Sadly to ensure Ms Kent's future career, Mr Tomlinson needs to stick to making music which he does excellently, but be banned from writing her lyrics.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.67

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)